We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The comfort of a 3-stars for the price of a hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maga Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maga Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maga Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Iriarte, 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Liege, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The comfort of a 3-stars for the price of a hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ideally situated on a square with a garden in the pedonal centre, this small hotel is nice quiet. . The room was well furbished with spotless bathroom, and a small terrace where we could enjoy the sun.watching the Teide (we were at the top floor). We spent 35 euros for a double room, breakfast included. According to my researches, this hotel is the cheapest in town and certainly the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
16
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I don't think i have ever given a "1" rating on TripAdvisor before... that's how awful the food here was. In fact, it wasn't just the food.... the service, the atmosphere, the price.... all awful.

This wasn't just the worst meal I had in Tenerife, it was probably the worst meal I have ever eaten anywhere. To add insult to injury, it was also the most expensive meal we had on our trip!

Despite having no other customers (apart from a group of Germans watching the football) the waitress seemed to be in a mad rush for everything. This included not listening to our order and trying to guess what we wanted instead of letting us finish what we were trying to ask for.

To be honest, I am not sure why we chose to eat at Maga.... it looks unappealing, the menu is unappealing and there were no other real customers... however, we were tired, hungry and it was "right there".

Our "Selection Of Grilled Meat" eventually arrived (along with a plate of soggy chips which we hadn't ordered). For €26 we expected a lot better than a piece of bacon, a sausage, a tough old overcooked steak, a piece of pork that tasted of fish and a slice of chicken. Not only hugely overpriced, but not very nice either.

However, the biggest stunner was the salad. How can you go wrong with a salad? Maga can. It was covered in oil and salt. So much salt, it was inedible.

I honestly can't think of a good thing to say about this place. Easily the worst place I have ever reviewed for TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Have holidayed here many time in Puerto and decided to try somewher different to eat and saw the Maga restaurant. Menu was good and food okay, but the papa arrugadas did not come with mojo, which is usually served. Price was OK. But what did let this place down was the very sullen and bored waiter who made it clear that we were an intrusion. Shame because this could be such a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Location of the hotel is very good. There is a free big car parking place near the harbour area. Everything is a bit worn, but it didn´t bother us. We had a double bed, which was only 135 cm wide and 180 cm long. It was too small and very uncomfortable. We missed refrigerator and extra blankets. Earplugs are recommended because of the lack of the soundproofing. Breakfast was basic, coffee was good and there was also a free wifi in the public area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Although this place is listed as a hotel it is not. I stayed on a Bed and Breakfast basis. Breakfast consisted of 2 white crusty buns with butter, jam , a slice of cheese and a slice of ham. No choice as to what youn had. It was just brought to you. The only choice there was is the drink. Tea or coffee. Staff friendly and rooms clean. However I did not have a balcony and there was no tv or radio in the room. This hotel has no outside area to sit in and no pool area either. Also if your out late at night you have to ring the bell to get the night porter/ security fella to let you in. The 'hotel' has a restaurant attached which is frequented by the local police and at the weekend there is a lot of noise from people until at least 5am. Would I stay here again..NO. I have stayed in better bed and breakfast places here in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Győr
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

This was the cheapest hotel we have stayed at during our trip in Tenerife: 40 EUR total/night for two persons. The price was usually approximately 15 EUR higher at other hotels (2-3*) on the island so we thought not to expect too much. And we were right. We got the value what we paid for. A big room with 3 beds + bathroom which was a bit stinky but we left the windows of it open and closed the bathroom doors, so it was ok :) The room was clean, not so modern, but with normal furnitures. We even got breakfast here - I wish we didn't -,well it was very poor, no choice (one type of cheese, with some fishy ham, jam, butter and coffee which tasted like boiled soil with sugar), some cleaning lady served it between sweeping and washing the stairs and the floor. Anyway the hotel has a very good location, it is located next to a tiny piazza, there are a lots of restaurants and shops nearby. If you want to save some money during your trip I recommend you to go there, but don't eat breakfast :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maga Hotel

Address: Iriarte, 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maga Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Maga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maga Hotel Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.