We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL AND LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel RF San Borondon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel RF San Borondon to your Saves list
Hotel RF San Borondon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Agustin Espinosa, 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Enfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL AND LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Hotel San Borondon June 2012. The hotel was great. We had cleaners in every day, cleaning the floors, toilet, bath and making the beds. No insects at all. We felt safe here. We went half board for this holiday and we found that we only enjoyed some parts. If we didnt fancy what was on the menu, we could take a 15 minute walk into town where we found a lovely Italian restaurant, which we went to about 3 times during our week stay. It was very hard to find someone to speak english in the area around the hotel. During our week we did not see the sun which was very disappointing we had to make do with site seeing as you couldnt use the pool as it was not heated and was freezing to even attempt it. The north side of fueturventura doesnt see the beautiful weather like the South does as we discovered on the way home when we saw a few people who were on our flight on the way there and also on the way home and they looked so brown. Definately try the south side as the south doesnt have the mountains and clouds like the north does. Overall it was a lovely first holiday for my boyfriend and i.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    88
    39
    10
    10
See reviews for
43
86
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mariehamn
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our second stay at San Borondon. A nice, budget hotel in a very quiet neighbourhood in Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife. The one-room apartment we booked through Solresor, was in the same wing as we stayed last year, but this time, unfortunately, we got room 65.
That room is opposite of the offices where the cleaning-staff have their morning pow-wow and the Canarian-pine doors offer little in the way of sound-proofing. Hence, we were awoken at sevenish each morning, by loud conversation and occasionally the smell of tobacco-smoke. Apart from that, the apartment was nice and clean with a lovely patio, overlooking a garden, that had seen better days.
Since last year, the Hotel has been invaded by stray cats and their meowing (it was that time of year) sometimes kept us awake at night. One morning, a cat had gotten lucky and caught a pidgeon, judging by the feathery remnants by the pool.
Hotel has WiFi, but not free. Last year when we asked it was 50€/week which is overpriced. Try the free WiFi in the Martianez shopping centre or outside McDonalds.

Room Tip: Avoid room 65
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi! Very good morning. Thank you so much for visiting us again year after year!

We are very pleased that a general have very good impressions of our hotel and we appreciate your feedback.

We regret not being able to meet in those days stayed, precisely because such objections we have staff available at the front desk 24 hours a day that will be happy to assist you with any requests and recommendations.

In order to improve the quality of service will make a report with the points you have outlined and transmit it to the address.

Thanks for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chur
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had specifically asked for a quiet room. However, I was given a depressing old and dark room right next to the kitchen. I was woken each morning at 5.00 am and could not sleep before 10.30pm because of the noise through walls that had no soundproofing at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Good morning, we are very sorry that he could not rest as you would like.

In general all of our hotel rooms are designed to give maximum comfort and welfare of customers, and try not to make noise about activities with them to ensure that rest.

We thank the comments as they will help us to improve our ways of noise about the rooms and so next time we can offer you a better break.

Thanks for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was a great location in the town with only a 5 minute walk to a great choice of restaurants in the old town and main square. The beach Playa de Gardin and public swimming pool is only 5 mins away too. The hotel itself was a little bit shabby but the rooms were clean and spacious. they were cleaned every day and soap, toilet paper, towels and a hair drier provided. A TV was provided free of charge but all channells were in German or Spanish except BBC World News. The pool area was good with a salt water pool but was closed for two days for refilling. Overall it was well priced and comfortable and a good location.
However be very aware that they have a misleading catagorisitation of rooms. We booked a SELF CATERING DOUBLE ROOM as we wanted kitchen facilities. When we arrived we were allocated a double room only with no cooking facilities whatsoever. If you book self catering the hotel classes this as ROOM ONLY meaning you have not booked to eat in their restaurant. If you want cooking facilities you need to book a STUDIO. I notice that other people have the same problem with this.
The hotel manageress was most helpful and let us upgrade to a studio for an extra supplement and luckily there was just one studio available. But she also agreed that the discription was misleading and confusing. Any holidays we have booked over the last 16 years in any European country as SELF CATERING mean there are cooking facilities in the room. PLEASE San Borondon sort out how you describe your rooms.
Annette

Room Tip: If you want self catering ensure you book a studio NOT double room self catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Annette,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay at our Hotel. Your review is important for our future guests, but it is even more important for us, because we can know which things should we improve. In this way, day a day, we will provide you with the best possible service. We are happy that you like our hotel and the sourroundings too.

We made ​​known to the responsible person who describe the rooms for revising the room descriptions.

Normally, if you want to get a room with a kitchen, you have to book a Studio room. It is well specified if you read all the descriptions.

We would like to welcoming you in the future. If you want to come back, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

1 week in San Borondon arrived in December 2012 excellent location good food,a staff was very friendly help me organize some thinks.Well located sun beds so no wind was blowing at us.Down sides my room had no fridge and kettle,gym no lights,and German guest everywhere.Nice hotel,but i try different next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Simona,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay at our Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us. We always try to provide our guest with the best possible service.

If you want a room with kitchen, equipped with fridge and kettle, you have to book a Studio room. Only this room type can offer it. In the gym there is light, but you have to switch it on.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future, and give us the opportunity for getting your fully expectations. Do not hesitate to contact us, if you need it.

Kind Regards from Hotel San Borondón

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I bet they have given themselves two extra stars!

We stayed here first week of October 2012
First the positive things: the hotel looks nice from the outside, sort of old colonial style, the pool area is nice. The staff is friendly and the location is fine as well: close to the main square and one of the few beaches at the island. It is reasonably clean.

There are several things that makes this hotel absolute not one to recommend:
Main reason are the terrible beds and matrasses. If you like to sleep on bag filles with bricks, then go for it! They are old, very old! You feel the springs in your back and with every turn you wake up because of the noise. I slept much better on the sun beds at Waterpark La Martianez (go there!!!!) besides the matrasses also the pillows and bed linnen are in bad shape. It is all old, worm down and thin, very thin.
The towels must have been once nice thick fluffy ones, but this is lóóóng ago! We only got once clean ones during a week stay! Tenerife is a sun destination, so what do people need: towels!!!! They do not seem to get this. The ones we got smelled horrible after one day. Glad we brought some beach towels ourselves. 

If you have to go there, book it without breakfast! This is of no star quality! Old bread, no juice (sort of lemonade instead) and the cheapest of the cheapest cheese and ham to put on your sandwich. Did not dare to try the eggs. Coffee not fresh, only instant. You can also have your dinner there.... we checked it out one night, don't do it! Tenerife has got plenty of nice restaurants where you can eat and get great value for money! We also had our breakfast outside the hotel in one of the many places offering breakfast (with real coffee!). Much healthier and appealing!

The swimming pool was nice, but closed for two days: Monday and Tuesday (every week) they empty it and fill it up with fresh sea water. No idea why this takes so long.

We stayed at the back in a one room studio. We only needed a fridge, so it was fine for us, but if you are planning to cook yourself you will get disappointed. There is hardly equipment to do so.
Then last but not least: the noise! It looks like a nice quiet neighborhood, but it is not! The Spanish neighbors like to party! Two times till 7:00 am, loud singing, cars coming and going, shouting, screaming etc. There is no airco, so sleeping with the windows closed is not an option. It kept us awake the entire night (at least it gave me time to write this review). By the way, you have to go to McDonald's to upload it, since there is no wifi in the rooms.

So go to Tenerife, climb the vulcano Teide, visit Santa Cruz, work on your tan at La Martianez but avoid Hotel San Borondon!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel.

We would like to apologize if we could not met your expectatives. We are not happy reading this hard review. We could understand that you do not like some things of our hotel, but we do not agree with you in a lot of things.

The hotel has 107 rooms. If you do not find good in yours, you can ask for another one, in a different part of the hotel, avoiding noise or ... other things that you do not like. You should think that we are located in the city center of Puerto de La Cruz. It is normal the hear people, cars and so on in the sourroundings. It is specified everywhere that we do not have air conditioning. We provide towels for the room, but not for the swimmingpool or beach.

Refering to the food, a high percentage of guests enjoy our meals, and we never have not had such a bad opinion like yours.

Our swimminpool has sea water, and we changed it once a week, on wednesday. We inform all of our guests when they arrive.

Well, we just want to explain some things. Even if you did not like it, if you need to stay in our hotel in the future, we will be happy to accommodate you, and get the chance to met your expectatives.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

1 week in San Borondon in September. Perfect location and enough good food - only two good things. Staff NO English at all, rude and unhelpful. Tiered looking rooms. Spa and gym - turned out to be a huge disappointment ( no lights in the gym, poor facility). It wasn't very bad hotel, but never come back here.

Room Tip: didn't choose a room with view sea, cause you will see other hotels windows and very far sea cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. You help us to understand your point of view and to know the things that we should improve.

We apologize if you do not met your expectatives.

Our purpose is to make you feel us if you where at home, but we do not got it with you. Day a day, we are working hard for improving our service.

We hope you have spent a good holidays. We think so.

If you need to stay in our hotel in the future, do not hesitate to contact us. We will provide you with the best service.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel RF San Borondon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF San Borondon

Address: Calle Agustin Espinosa, 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF San Borondon 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel RF San Borondon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel RF San Borondon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.