We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Florida

Save Saved
You added Apartamentos Florida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos Florida
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Calafate 3, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dissapointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Well, You really get what you pay for with Aptos Florida. We spent a week there thinking that we would get a good value as we went during low season, the whole hotel needs a lot of TLC as it looked not well maintained, the location is an excellent selling point as it is right in a very quite area, close to the beach and Loro Park and Bus Station, we were quite surprised when they told us that the room is cleaned every other day with no shampoo and soap provided and in the entire week they did not change the bed linen as it is done once a week :-O, the pool was ok, small, cold water as apparently not many hotels over there offer climatised pools, unless they are the expensive ones, we stay on the second floor in a room facing the sea and the hotel next door (called Teneguia I think), we were lucky as if you are in lower floors or above the bar in the other side, it would have been a bit difficult to get any sleep as the windows are not sound proof, but I do not think you get many of them in Spain anyway, the room was spacious with a very useful kitchenette, no kettle provided, so it took longer to make any hot drinks needed first thing in the morning specially, our room (210) had a rusty bath, which was not a very pleasant thing to see every time you have to go into, the corridor outside the room had a hanging off switch to turn the lights on, hope nobody gets hurst! Overall we consider the hotel a place to stay if you do not might old sheets, towels change every 2 days, not double beds availables only single ones and staff who you have to say hello to them every time you come down as they barely look at you when you come off the lifts. Guys! in a very competitive market as yours, you have to keep the guests coming not only once, do not forget that there are other destinations in the same range of flight from the UK. We would think about it if we wanted to book this place again in the future, we would rather pay more for a better one for sure, bad mistake this time.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor facing the sea, we followed recomendations from Trip Advisor to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Apartamentos Florida, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We appreciate you took the time to write this review, we apologize if the hotel did not fulfill your needs, your suggestions about maintenance works will be forwarded to the correspondent department. Your feedback helps us improve our service and we will be glad to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rauma, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Basic hotel with all necessarities. Location near Playa Jardin and city center.
All rooms does not have balconies so try to ask one. Preferred the western side with sun and sea view. Small pool on the roof, not heated.
Corner rooms were spacious room for 2.
Bathroom OK, hotwater wasn't very hot..
Kitchenette very basic, no micro nor coffee maker. Supermarket next door.
Basic TV with local channels only. Wifi available in lobby.
Door locks with keycards!
Cleaned every second day, bed linens changed twice during our 10 day visit.
No disturbing noises from the bar as some have complained. Hey, they are locals and this is Spain. They talk loudly :)

Would stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Apartamentos Florida, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Paul, we thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel a good value for money and just what you needed. Your feedback about the hot water will be forwarded to the responsible department and taken care of. We hope we can welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton abbot
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It was very good value for the money! We stayed Apartmentos Florida for 8 nights.
It is not very tall building and it makes it less holiday compound type, which we really liked.
The room is very spacious for 2, and we had a room over looking some plants, garden side on the corner, with some sea and mountain view!
We really enjoyed the stay at Apartmentos Florida.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Apartamentos Florida, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your positive words for our Apartments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our facilities. It would be great to welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Helpful staff and clean, spacious room with comfortable beds. Furniture is basic and the kitchenette has a random assortment of utensils and no microwave. Location very handy for the sea front, main bus stops and some of the best restaurants (around Calle Al Lomo, pedestrianised streets between the atartments and Plasa del Charco). The location is reasonably quiet, except for the ground floor bar, I was on the 4th floor on the opposite side of the building, so this wasn't a problem. The surrounding high rise buildings vary from quite presentable to rather run down. There is no allocated parking. Although the surrounding streets are busy, I always managed to find somewhere to park on my first circuit around the nearby streets. The small boys playing in the adjacent plaza in the early evening didn't create too much noise. Good views from the roof terrace, weather too cold to try the pool! Weather generally cloudy on this side of island, but when the sun does come out you come to appreciate the cloud. Good access from Puerto de la Cruz to Teide but if you want to visit the southern resorts its quite a drive, either vis the motorway round 2/3rds of the island, or via twisty mountain roads.

Room Tip: Room 406 had a nice balcony with a sea view (just) and was well away from the noisy bar. Access eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

under apart. 103 and 104 of apartamentos florida,there is a noisy bar with noisy television and noisy local people,they also smoke and speak loud under the windows of apart. 103y 104. anyway at the week-ends there is always footbal at television and the bar stays till after midnight open.
ask a room with a balconny,they are in the other side of the bar. ask 3th of 4th floor

Room Tip: apart florida has 4 floors and 4 sides. apart 03,04 are above a noisy bar and NO balconny, ask 3th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Puerto de la Cruz is a pleasant resort, mostly German and Spanish visitors, not rowdy, hence suitable for those who want a quieter holiday, or in our case to take advantage of the excellent walking on the island. The north side is greener than the more touristy south west. Plenty of well marked trails with stunning views.

Hotel is a bit tired, but clean, linen good quality and changed regularly, desk staff helpful. Our room did not have a balcony, a bit disappointing. Though not too much of a problem in November it would have been warm enough to sit out. We did have a view of the sea. The location is great, handy for the bus station (for getting to start of walks), supermarkets, beach with gardens, town centre. Quiet at night. Excellent bakery open 6.30 to midnight every day 50 yards away(turn right out of the bar, just past the children's playground). Given the price was definitely at the low end, we got good value for what we paid.

Would definitely go to Puerto Cruz again, especially for a winter break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is clean! Rooms are clean!! Clean sheets & towels every other day! Room cleaned every other day! No air conditioning. Tv works but all spanish except sky news. No sea views, if at front of hotel yourll see supermarket (small, but from hotel road turn right 2streets up-bigger better supermarket), yourll see gardens & trees& other hotel balconys. At back of hotel is car park & more hotels! If at front, supermarket shutters wake u up at 7.45am. 8am. 11.30pm & midnight if in bed! Chain saws are out early monday mornings chopping down trees!! Very loud!!! We went self catering, kitchenette was okay, 2 hobs, a working fridge with mini frezzer inside. Plates, Cutlery, Frying Pan, Pots included. Was ok to cook breakfast in morning. We tried breakfast in hotel resturant once, was very basic, toast, cereal, ham& cheese. No english breakfast. There is a roof top pool but was "not working" from day we got there!! Everytime i asked  when will it be fixed it was always "tomorrow"! We were offered to use the hotel round corner, or the florida plaza hotel pool (as same company) but when we checked them out they were VERY small & kids had already taken over! But Lago Martinez on the front in the town was VERY nice & for only €3.50 each for the day was lovely :) its like purified sea water tho so very salty! The beach is only 5mins round corner, beautiful beach! Can watch sunset there every night if not too cloudy. As u leave hotel main door turn left (dont walk down steps) walk round to back of hotel car park & down steps, turn right (walk to main road) turn left again, walk straight to top of road, turn right over 2crossings, down slope & theres the beach :) sea nice to swim in, very pebbley in sea tho. Waves can get quite big but there is a life guard at all times! From hotel walk straight & yourll hit the town square, lots of resturants, lots of lucky lucky men selling everything. From square turn left & yourl see peddle beach/mini marina & again resturants & shops. Walk straight up hill & yourll pass street entertainers, shops&resturants & yourll come to (top of the cliff) nice views of sea & lago matinez. Walk straight down yourll come to more street entertainment, mc donalds (more expensive than uk but does big macs & chicken nuggets & cheese burgers & chips) , black ladies braiding hair, lucky lucky men selling watches/hats/bags/jewerlly etc, picaso men drawing etc. If u want a Rolex watch they say 100€uro!!!! but DONOT pay more than 40€uro for automatic!!! :) my fiance got 1 for 40€uro & its nice :)..... Lago Matinez has entertainment in evening, all free aswell, lots of spanish dancing on streets, polica patrol if needed, you know when around as lucky lucky men vanish lol!!! Loro Paque is a must do, but if your staying at apartmento florida, dont walk to town & catch the train, walk as its only 15min walk (past beach-behind hotel), get there at 8.30am tho because from 9.30 its very busy!!!! 1st show is sea lions at 9.45 :) yourl get all info from either hotel or any ticket sales offices around town!! The twin ticket for loro paque & siam park (water park in the south) are same price everywhere!!! 55€uro pp for both parks so works out quite well!! The bus ticket for siam park is 13.50€uro each (as its down south) & is about hour & half! But worth it!! (must book day before go) If u can hire a car, i would advise to drive & get there at 8.30am to get a decent spot & miss the busy ques!!! .... Was a nice holiday all in all! Weather was not great (as very cloudy in the north in Puerto De La Cruz), but when sun came out it was very hot!!! Hotel rooms also have no kettle/no toaster.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Florida

Address: Calle Calafate 3, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Florida 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 15 meters of the shoping center and at 800 meters of the beach. Free tv, kettle or coffe machine. The rooms have cooking, refrigerator, 1 room with two beds. CCTV 24h. The shopping center have plenty of restaurants, pubs, and disco's (open all night) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Apartamentos Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Florida Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Florida Apartamentos Hotel Bookings
Apartamentos Florida Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.