We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Aguilas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Las Aguilas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Aguilas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Doctor Barajas, 19, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Nice hotel, large and clean rooms. Staff is very friendly. Pools are clean and with nice view. Food in restaurant delicious. The kitchen is not equipped.
Wifi connection in the lobby is free of charge, but too slow and sometimes not working at all. I missed there a fitness room. The shuttle bus could go more often.

Room Tip: I recommend higher floor - you will get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your evaluation and your recommendation on Tripadvisor – we are pleased to hear that you had a nice and relaxing stay with us.

Thank you, too, for your comments with regard to the wifi connection, fitness room and the shuttle bus. We have taken note of your points of suggestion and will consider them for improving our service.

Kindest regards,
your Hotel lasÁguilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    253
    107
    30
    22
See reviews for
199
258
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

It's an ok hotel, nothing special. The staff are very pleasant although the reception can be a little abrupt. We are into our third day of a seven day break so I will update at the end. For the first time in a long time we decided to go all inclusive and this has been good with food and drink available at just about all times.

My main criticisms would be the very poor quality WiFi that frustrates , and that's the free one in the lobby. Room WiFi costs and can only be used on one device and is even worse quality than the lobby.

Also, the room comes with a safe but to use it you have to pay.
These are services that you expect a hotel to provide as a matter of course and not as an extra that you pay for.

The tv in the room is very small, unlike the room itself which is quite spacious, and I am surprised that they still sell tv's with tubes. I'm pretty sure that a four star hotel would provide bigger , better, more modern.

Walking out of the hotel is rather limited. The impression we got when booking was that the hotel was set on a hill away from the hustle and bustle, with access to interesting walks. In fact, you are much better off taking the car.

So, at present I feel three stars would be the maximum I'd give...But I'll update at the end of the holiday.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our service and catering provided. We would also like to thank you for your evaluation with regard to the Wifi, safe and TV – we have taken note of your points of suggestion and will forward them to the respective departments.

It is right that the hotel is located on the top of the hill and therefore it is not possible to go hiking directly next to the hotel. Yet, a nice pathway behind the hotel leads towards the city centre, passing Puerto’s main park ‘Taoro Parque’ – we hope that you, too, have taken advantage of walking down this route to discover the hotel’s neighbourhood. We do, however, recommend hiring a car in order to have access to broader and more ample walks.

We still hope that you had a relaxing time in Puerto de la Cruz and would be pleased to welcome you back once again.

Best regards,
your Hotel las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel does not meet a 4 stars to my view:
- no free wifi in the room had to go down in the lobby
- the food was not good, bad quality
- small tv in bedroom with limited channels
- pool was supposed to be heated but we found out that they stop after the 1st may but it was still a bit chilly this year so was clearly required
Positive side: staff was helpful, with a car it is well placed to visit the north

so overall ok to stay although it shoud not be rated at 4 stars - deserve a 3 stars

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time and evaluating our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that your stay has not met your expectations of a 4 star hotel. At the same time we would like to thank you for your comments and suggestions as they help us to reflect our guests’ point of view and to continuously improve our service.

In spite of the points mentioned, we still hope that you had a relaxing holiday and send kind regards from Puerto de la Cruz,
your Hotel las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014


LOCATION -
On approach to the hotel, you'll see it's located on it's very own mini mountain that looks like a camels hump! You'll sweat enough water to feed the whole of Africa after climbing this everytime you go out for a walk down to the town, which is rare due to it being far too hilly.

FOOD - For us staying all inclusive, come day 4, eating in the restaurant was starting to get tedious. Saying this, the food was nice despite the varst amount of salt in the cooked food. The chefs pour it on in front of you while frying meat and fish. For vegetarians watch out. Some of the veggies dishes contain hidden meat. Usually ham! As I discovered. This maybe is a common thing. Also non of the bars served chocolate milk shake. Totally disappointed.

FOR KIDS -
If I had kids, I reckon they would of jumped off the balcony by day 2. Not a great deal to do and the kids play area looked as depressing as an episode of Eastenders, the swings didn't even have swings attached and the play ground was shut (at this time)!

ENTERTAINMENT - The evening entertainment was quite dire to be frank. One night a man playing naff songs on a keyboard and forgetting the words and miming. Reminded me of my first holiday to Spain in the 80's. Everyone in the evening bar looked like they needed to have fun.

THE ROOM - Ours was sea facing. Had an amazing view from the big balcony. The room had a dark lounge area which we never sat in, also with a kitchenette that had empty cupboards! The bathroom had a big Jacuzzi bathtub which was awesome. The bed wasn't the best, but managed to sleep thru some of the next rooms snoring - very thin walls. Could not fault the cleaning. Very clean as you'll smell, what with the over powering cleaning products used around the hotel.


THE HOTEL - The hotel grounds are very well kept and pool area. I would say the hotel is just about a 4 star mind. I have stayed in cheap 4 stars before, which golden-showered over this place! For some reason I thought paying all inclusive would mean NOT having to pay for everything, like the Tennis, the safe, beach towels, drinking water in room etc.

The hotel seemed quite German orientated, what with staff and guests. Not that that was a problem as I like Germans. The German staff were quite friendly, but not enough for you to want to go back for seconds.
There was something about the place, that, when there, I just didn't feel happy or comfortable, even when I knew I was on holiday and didn't have work the next day.
Possibly the decor and everyone's miserable face was the cause OR maybe it was the lack of......SUN......obviously the hotel isn't to blame for this, more the location.
Come 1pm the sun goes and the clouds are in. At this point you feel like you are back in England on a winters day. This happened all 7 days and since being there we heard it to be a common thing up north side of Island.
So banish thoughts of sitting next to the pool all day long.

SUMMARY - All in all we had a good stay. When I get home and my friends ask how my holiday was, I'll be lying in saying that is was brilliant. If you go and don't plan to hire a car, you probably won't see much sun!

I would recommend the hotel to a friend I didn't like. It would be a great place for a base to stop off for a few days up north, but any longer, then you may be wishing you had listened to the advice here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your description on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with regard to your stay in our hotel. Our entire staff is always doing the utmost so that our guests feel comfortable and have nice and pleasant days. It is a shame that we were not able to give you the feeling of a relaxing and convenient holiday. However, we do take criticism seriously and will forward your comments to the respective departments. Therefore, we would like to thank you for your honest and frank evaluation which helps us to reflect and improve our services offered.

Kind regards from Puerto de la Cruz,
your hotel las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Absolutely no WOW factor in this hotel.
There is zero atmosphere and the restaurant staff needs serious customer training including the restaurant manager or FOOD and BEVERAGE manger in his suit and tie. Staff should greet the guests first and not vice versa. Only Gerardo makes and effort to greet and offer a good service to the guests. Sunday breakfast was a disaster, lack of staff and no service. No management is ever available. The food quality and presentation is 3 star.
On Saturday night at the Volcano bar there was NO SERVICE. Looks like all the guests had to order themselves at the bar.
No free WIFI in the rooms. No porter service. Shuttle bus was 20min late.outside hotel entrance tables were full of empty glasses for 4hrs!!!!!
Bath towels are old and thin and not replaced daily. For a 4 star hotel rooms should have standard 37" flat screen tv's and not 15" old box ones.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room close to the elevator or to the room maids storeroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your entire satisfaction. At the same time, we have taken note of your evaluation and constructive criticism – our guests’ comments help us to continuously improve our services offered. However, please be assured that we do our utmost so that our guests have a nice and relaxing holiday. Therefore, if there is any query, such as e.g. that the towels were not changed in spite of them lying on the bathroom’s floor, we recommend to let us know at the reception desk immediately so that we may resolve it.

We still hope that you enjoyed your time on Tenerife and send our best regards,
your Hotel las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. We found the hotel very professional with friendly staff from maids to reception staff who were always willing to help us . The hotel was very clean and the maid service good.Beautiful surrounding gardens and wonderful views. It was nice to be slightly away from the centre of PDLC but was only a short bus journey away from the town which is provided by the hotel at set times.Taxis will take you into town at any other time for 5 euros.The food on the whole was good .Great breakfasts and good choice of food for evening meals . May be the lunches served at the beach bar could have been better we have stayed at similar hotels that have barbecues and more choices of baguettes and salads at lunch times. The pools were fantastic and the sun beds very comfortable. Our children of 11 and 13 would have liked more entertainment for their ages .They suggested five aside football and water polo type games in the water. On the whole we loved the hotel and will stay again to explore PDLC and Tenerife more hopefully next year.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful apartment with with two bedrooms and bathrooms . Facing the mountain which we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Recepción at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and writing an evaluation regarding your holidays spent in our hotel Las Águilas on Tripadvisor.com.

We are very pleased to hear that your stay has met your expectations – especially in view of our personnel - and that you had a relaxing time.

Your feedback helps us to constantly improve our service. Therefore, we also thank you very much for your comments with respect to the variety of food offered at our snack bar as well as the entertainment for children, which we will forward directly to our chef and entertainment team respectively.

Hope to welcome you back in Puerto de la Cruz soon again!

Kindest regards,
your Hotel las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay. Wonderful hotel with fabulous all round views. Glad we had the car as was a bit of a way from the town...shuttle bus available if required. We walked down twice took just on an hour. Lovely walk though, through a nice park you would miss from the road. The staff were very friendly and hard working, everyone from the pools & garden staff to the housekeeping, bar & restaurant staff. All inclusive was good value as food and drink were fine. Entertainment was varied, depending on your taste some good, some not so. Animation kept the children busy, even though we had no need for it they all seem to enjoy the activities. Bedroom was a great size with super bathroom, only problem the sun did not hit our balcony at any time day or night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
ear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor and are pleased that you are recommending our hotel to other guests.

We are very happy to hear that you had a convenient stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed the facilities and services provided.

As the hotel is situated on the top of the hill, the rooms either face the mountain Teide and the sun, or the sea and therefore unfortunately the sun does not reach the rooms during the winter months. We still hope that you could enjoy the sun when being at the pool, beach or during your excursions

We hope to welcome you back soon in Puerto de la Cruz and are sending our best regards,
your hotel Las Águilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Aguilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Aguilas

Address: C/ Doctor Barajas, 19, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Aguilas 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel Las Aguilas is located at the top of a mountain, surrounded by gardens of 10,000 sqm, with a spectacular view over Puerto de la Cruz and the Orotava Valley. It is just 3 km away from the city centre and from the beaches of Puerto de la Cruz and thanks to its easy accessibility this hotel is the perfect location for your holidays or your business trip. All of the suites dispose of one bedroom, one separate living room, a bathroom with Jacuzzi and a spacious balcony or terrace with wonderful views over the sea or towards the mountain Teide. Furthermore, all suites provide air conditioning, telephone, hairdryer, satellite TV, large beds, rental safe and refrigerator. Refresh yourself in the two swimming pools for adults (one of them heated in winter) and one for children, surrounded by ample gardens and areas with sunbeds. Try the variety of snacks and small dishes a la carte at our Snack Bar next to the pool and relax with the panoramic sea view. In our restaurant Amaltea you may enjoy the buffet with live cooking and theme nights and spend some time on its terrace with the amazing view over the Orotava Valley. The Vulcano Show Bar provides a large variety of drinks and international cocktails as well as an evening programme with shows and live music. During the day we invite you to participate in our activities for adults as well as for children (mini club for children between 4 and 12 years). You may reach the city centre of Puerto de la Cruz several times a day with our free bus service. WiFi is available in all rooms, the use of WiFi in the hotel lobby is free of charge. In 2005, the hotel was completely reformed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Las Aguilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Aguilas Hotel
Las Aguilas Tenerife
Las Aguilas Suites
Hotel Las Aguilas Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Aguilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.