We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest, open, step by step review, worth a read or skim of it all if you have time :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Aguilas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Aguilas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Las Aguilas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Doctor Barajas, 19, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An honest, open, step by step review, worth a read or skim of it all if you have time :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner have just come back from a stay here at the end of April and overall we did enjoy our stay but there were a few niggles.

Weather -
Positive: the weather was absolutely flawless! Bright clear skies, gorgeous slight breeze and nice heat (around 28-30 Celsius)
Hint: don't be scared by the sea mist that rolls in over the sea and mountains as you will find this most mornings and it won't affect the clear skies :)

Room -
Positive: upon arrival we were overwhelmed by our room (perhaps we just haven't stayed in many hotels?) it was a great size, double balcony, huge bed (be it two together you couldn't really tell), kitchenette, sofa, table and chairs, plenty mirrors, spa bath and shower - the lot! We were sea view which id recommend as its fairly quiet and a lovely view watching the sun rise. Yes the rooms are a little thin walled but the hotel is so quiet youre bound to hear next doors loo flush. Visit out of season and you'll have no worries.

Negative: as we looked around the room we realised a few things not perfect. The air con in the front room was broken, as was the bin and the lid of the bday. We told staff at reception about these immediately so we weren't charged but they didn't really understand what I was saying (will get to that later) also, after thinking wow, a spa bath! After our first use we didn't use it much after. The spa function brought out dirt in the bubbles and they'd pop to reveal a murky brown goo - not quite right! Oh and don't push any part of you up against the main jacuzzi nozzle in there, a big round silver pod with holes, it burnt my partners back!

Staff/check in -
Positive: upon arrival we held our breath as one of the men at reception took our confirmation, stared blankly at it then asked if we had more? (Which we didn't) and went silent on his pc for a good 10 minutes. The breath holding was broken when another gentleman that spoke a little more English broke the silence and confirmed everything was ok it's just we needed to pay on arrival (which I was aware of). Thank god! Also, alot of the hotel cleaning and maintenance staff were friendly, saying Ola and buenos Dias as they passed us in the hallway. And we did get help from two members of staff at reception who were kind enough to point us in the direction of loro parque and give full details - don't be afraid to ask!
Negative: firstly, they don't speak alot of English at the front desk so I'd try learn a few little Spanish sentences that may help you with any questions! Secondly, not a staff issue but check in issue, try and book a hotel with a site that ensures you pay before you leave as I incurred a charge for using my card abroad (which they didn't mention but I assumed may happen) and they tried to keep it on file to bill me for drinks when I persisted to pay in cash at bars they finally gave in.

Food/food staff -
Positive: the food, in our opinion, was great! An array of choices and a total of four tables to grab these tasties from. The hot table was where all the freshly cooked meats and mains were and on our visit we had gorgeous grilled pork steaks, grilled chicken, teriyaki pork steaks and more. There were plenty veg too including grilled peppers, oven roasted tomatoes, garlic & paprika cabbage and more. There was a huge fish selection that looked lovely and fresh but unfortunately we're not big seafood eaters! At dinner the other tables were pudding (ice cream, fruit and mini desserts), salad bar style table with cheeses and cold meats, soup too and a bread table. Breakfast was good, full English and also meatballs and beef patties some morning on the hot table with mixed veg and some fish. There was fruit on the middle table and cereal, cold meats and cheeses and breads on the other tables. All good :)
Negative: we went half board. At the time I thought this a wise decision as we were going to be out in the day and a previous review demoted AI as they were just directed to a table of house wine. We may have paid the extra to AI upon booking on reflection. There were no signs above the water machine that stated AI and it was a standard office type water bottle machine so my partner and I had grabbed a glass of that at the dinner table as we had drinks in the room and didn't want to order all the time. One evening, a VERY rude waitress alerted herself to this, stormed over in a rush and fluster and gushed; "half board or all inclusive!?" And repeated herself loudly when we looked at her. We replied half board and she exclaimed "no water!" Pointing at our glasses. My partner tried to explain we had previously done this with no one saying we couldn't but she wasnt listening and we didn't want to be charged so my partner said to take them away. To which she took the glasses and poured them down the sink. We were embarrassed, it was loud and rude and I didn't know where to look, everyone around us went quiet. So, a hint, half board means no drink of any kind not even water, ok?

Pool - all positive, an amazing pool (main pool)! Cleaned every morning and life guarded most of the day for the little ones. We didn't venture to the other pools as we were almost the only ones there most days and it was lovely! Recommend this time of year for good weather but not many people :)

Further comments - Loro parque is a must see and if you get the first free shuttle from the hotel 9:30 then get off, turn left, walk all the way up the street, turn left at the end and walk straight until Mcdonalds is on your left the pickup by the free loro parque train is right there! Both times (there and back) the train was waiting and we got straight on no problem! We wanted to come back a little early and the taxis are around 5-6 euros back to the hotel, easy! Go all inclusive if you're flitting between the two, that's for sure. Learn a little Spanish to help you along and also sea view rooms are much quieter. There were police patrolling as soon as midnight was approaching which we assumed was just a security measure for noise pollution and our safety which was fairly reassuring. Overall a lovely hotel and good time to visit! Would've been even quieter if a university wasnt visiting at the time, so much space to ourselves! Also, look carefully to the left out the back of the building and there is a Lidl! We didn't see this and walked a long way to the large shopping mall for food and drink, a great place to see though and a BK there if you fancy fast food but we just wanted groceries.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    241
    96
    21
    23
See reviews for
173
194
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cremieu, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed here at the end of March 2013, All Inclusive, for 7 nights. We initially thought people may have been slightly harsh in previous reviews, but can see where they're coming from now.

Although the hotel is impressive from a distance, it's beginning to show its age upon closer inspection. First impressions were good, but deteriorated throughout our stay. The food is OK, but more work/school canteen, than four star cuisine. The staff seemed rushed and uninterested, especially the bar tender in the main bar - although we were AI we gave him a few tips, which still didn't raise a smile so we stopped.

My partner politely asked the reception staff whether or not they had an iron, an abrupt "no" was the answer (the receptionists own colleagues giggled uncomfortably at the sheer brevity and rudeness of the response). I was just sad that they'd embarrassed my partner in that way, as he's invariably polite and doesn't like confrontation, it felt very uncomfortable so we didn't bother them again.

The rooms are clean, yet lacking in any (4*) comfort. The bed was bearable, but certainly not comfy (two single beds pushed together, and not a double). Rooms are also noisy! You can hear other people flushing their toilet, walking around, etc. (all floors are tiled, therefore, you can hear everything from above, especially the scraping of chairs across tiles, which is particularly annoying). Towels are worn (as someone has already mentioned), my partner was slightly upset when we were only left two hand towels one day (it could have been a mere oversight).

We wouldn't stay at this hotel again, and would probably go for something closer to the town and beach.

However, Puerto de la Cruz is a lovely place to visit; great food, atmosphere and people in the main square/plaza. Loro Parque is not to be missed!

Room Tip: Get a top floor room if you can, to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just got back last night from a 5 day break at las Aguilas.It has lovely big clean rooms, fantastic views, well kept grounds and a free shuttle service into Puerto del la Cruz. I also experienced the attitude problem from reception which to our surprise does not have a bureau exchange. The food was terrible, luke warm at best, catered towards the German's. Lots of fish, undercooked or over and cold. Lovely bread though. The idea was there but it was very poor.The chefs could not cook the fried eggs still raw, mouldy fruit, brocolli for breakfast!We have travelled all round the world and the food was a major disappointment as it is a big part of the holiday especially the evening. The tv had 20 channels, films but all in German only 3 English speaking and that was 3 news channels.This hotel has the potential to be great but the food lets it down bigtime. We would not go back. Really it needs to be advertised as a mainly German hotel. Such a shame as it could be wonderful as the setting is perfect and the building itself clean and impressive. Evening entainment very 1980's but amusing, man on keyboard singing Elvis songs. When I read that other people that stayed there and used the microwave to heat up the food I found that strange as also you dont know if has already been heated up resulting in upset tummy. If you want a relaxing holiday, with beautiful views and grounds, spotless and you dont mind luke warm food with lots of goat, veal and German sausages then this is for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in hotel last July, nice large rooms, good choice of food and generally good service provided. Nice big pool and good overall facilities. Top of an hill with good views and free bus into Puerto del la Cruz. Only issue was poor service by some reception staff with attitude problem towards some guests. Overall would stay again.

Room Tip: Request pool side rooms to ensure good sea views aswell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Other reviews will describe the views from this hotel as fantastic and they are. The hotel itself is a solid 4 star hotel and there are pros and cons for staying there. We stayed in a "jacuzzi suite", which consists of a separate sitting/kitchenette area with a fridge and hot plate - great if you are a family and not on all inclusive as the settee converts to a bed. There is a bedroom with two mid sized beds pushed together and a large bathroom with the jacuzzi/shower, toilet etc.

The food is better than average and you will always find something from the extensive range of salads, soup, grills and sweets etc, Of all the AI deals we have been on this is definitely one of the best. One of the cons about the food is that it is not always as hot as I would have liked but there is a microwave oven in the dinning room to reheat food if wanted. Drinks are self service during meals and include wine, beer and soft drinks. There are coffee machines in various locations and they produce a good cup of coffee.

You can get beach towels by paying a refundable deposit. The hotel runs a shuttle bus to/from Puerto de la Cruz and this is really useful as it is quite a long walk, which includes some serious hills on the way back. Puerto de la Cruz, itself is fairly disabled friendly with good ramps and lowered curbs for wheelchairs.

We had a mountain view room but found the noise from the road to be too disruptive and paid 5 euros per day pp to switch to a sea view which was much quieter. Wifi is available at a cost as is a safe in the room.

The hotel staff are great and work really hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Rooms are kept spotless, restaurant staff are friendly and efficient and the front desk are very helpful We arrived late on our first day due to shuttle company failure and the hotel, although not their responsibility, gave us lunch on our final day as we had missed it on our first - great service. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view if you are sensitive to traffic noise. I think it doubtful that you would be allo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Las Aguilas hotel for 10 days in March and overall we thought it was great! It’s a good place for couples to go on a romantic holiday as it’s a quiet, relaxed atmosphere, most of the guests are also couples and most are middle aged, me and my boyfriend are both in our 20’s but this didn’t bother us at all because we were not disturbed once during our stay! All of the staff (except for one!) were very helpful and friendly and we were even given a glass of champagne when we asked for help at the reception. We paid extra to get a room with a sea view and the view from our balcony was beautiful! Another bonus was that most of the rooms didn’t have wifi access apart from the rooms with a sea view, and the wifi only costs $5 for 24 hours which you can use over your whole stay. There was also a free coach into the town centre several times a day which was great and if you don’t want to wait for the coach you can get a cab into town for between 5-7 euros, but make sure you get your money out to pay before the cab stops because some drivers leave their metre running while you get your money to pay and then expect you to pay for the time it took! The building and grounds were beautiful and everything was always clean, the room was very nice and consisted of a large living area/kitchen, with an adjoining bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom was great! Very big with a large corner bath with Jacuzzi jets which I enjoyed relaxing in every day. The hotel had two pools, when we went the weather was nice but not fantastic and because the hotel is near mountains it’s quite cloudy so it was very cold when going in the pools I wish they had been heated! The large pool is beautiful with a waterfall but it was only open for the second part of our trip unfortunately. The food was not quite to my taste as most of the guests are German but for what we paid it was good! My boyfriend loved it but he will eat anything! The restaurant is nice but make sure you bring a pair of trousers and shirt if you’re a man because they don’t like you to wear shorts and t-shirts! The entertainment was hit and miss, some nights it was great and some nights it wasn’t but on those night we went into town. Over-all we had an amazing time and we were very impressed by the hotel. The only bad points about our trip was that the food was suited to a german palette, also we read on some websites that there was a gym, which there wasn’t, we were hoping to get some spa treatments done but it was fairly expensive and the treatment rooms didn’t look great. Also we wish the pools were heated! We would love to stay at this hotel again but we would probably go to the south side next time as it is hotter. Also a word of warning, we booked with Alpharooms because they were the cheapest and booked our transfer with them but on the way home they took us to the wrong airport! We almost missed out flight and had to pay £80 euros to get to the other airport in another taxi, it was very stressful but we believe we are going to be reimbursed.

Room Tip: Would definately recommend a sea view room, the view is beautiful and you can usually get wifi acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from a week long relaxing break at Las Aguilas. Overall a good choice.

A very clean hotel, the housekeeping where very good we stayed in 322.

Great Location for a quiet relaxing break, although high on the hill the hotel has a free shuttle service bus that runs through the day up to 6.30 in the evening and it does only cost 6 euro in a taxi should you stay after that.
Food was in the whole very good including some good fish dishes, although it was a bit repetative in some areas. It can not be easy planning 3 meals a day for the many different nationalities that where at the hotel and other than one poor lunch time offering i did not struggle to find something good during my stay.
There were a number of good staff who all work very hard at this hotel Rayco on the bar, Jonnay on reception was very helpful and Ede in the restaurant was a star who always gave exceptional service.

The only down side for me was the evening entertainment was not great, although the mini disco was very good and he looked after the children very well.

The other thing i booked all inclusive and you do get the feeling at times that you are not as important as those guest who are not on all In? Example first night in restaurant never been there before a member of staff comes up to speak to us then notices the blue stip around my wrist (denoting all In) Staff walks off pointing to a wine table where i am supposed to help myself, why could i have not been served like the other guests who were paying for their drinks as they went. Surley i had paid a premium before i got there and deserved the same service?

That said it did not spoil my holiday and just got used to it.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view it cost me 10 euros per night but for us it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Las Aguilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Aguilas

Address: C/ Doctor Barajas, 19, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Aguilas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel Las Aguilas is located at the top of a mountain, surrounded by gardens of 10,000 sqm, with a spectacular view over Puerto de la Cruz and the Orotava Valley. It is just 3 km away from the city centre and from the beaches of Puerto de la Cruz and thanks to its easy accessibility this hotel is the perfect location for your holidays or your business trip. All of the suites dispose of one bedroom, one separate living room, a bathroom with Jacuzzi and a spacious balcony or terrace with wonderful views over the sea or towards the mountain Teide. Furthermore, all suites provide air conditioning, telephone, hairdryer, satellite TV, large beds, rental safe and refrigerator. Refresh yourself in the two swimming pools for adults (one of them heated in winter) and one for children, surrounded by ample gardens and areas with sunbeds. Try the variety of snacks and small dishes a la carte at our Snack Bar next to the pool and relax with the panoramic sea view. In our restaurant Amaltea you may enjoy the buffet with live cooking and theme nights and spend some time on its terrace with the amazing view over the Orotava Valley. The Vulcano Show Bar provides a large variety of drinks and international cocktails as well as an evening programme with shows and live music. During the day we invite you to participate in our activities for adults as well as for children (mini club for children between 4 and 12 years). You may reach the city centre of Puerto de la Cruz several times a day with our free bus service. WiFi is available in all rooms, the use of WiFi in the hotel lobby is free of charge. In 2005, the hotel was completely reformed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Las Aguilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Aguilas Hotel
Las Aguilas Tenerife
Las Aguilas Suites
Hotel Las Aguilas Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Aguilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.