We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/. Antonio Ruiz Alvarez, 7 | Urbanizacion Turquesa Playa, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Andorra
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Location - 10 mins walk to the town centre but had it beach and bars and restaurants close by. For us this was perfect. Less than 10 min walk to Loro park.

Rooms - very spacious and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Maybe a little old looking but everything worked correctly. We faced the apartments to the left of the hotel and it was very quiet with Sun in the morning.

Food - standard food that is served up in Spanish hotels. You won't go hungry but you won't leave thinking you had a great meal.

Bar - didn't use but seemed ok with entertainment every night.

Pool - very big pool with plenty of beds.

Overall a very good hotel and if you want a good comfortable stay in Puerto the. You won't go wrong.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    119
    103
    63
    40
See reviews for
124
171
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The only thing that reminds you of a 4 star hotel is the room size. All the rest needs urgent and wholly refurbishment. The awards displayed in the lobby, awarded by famous tourist agencies stopped at the year 2008. Probably in that year investment in the hotel comfort stopped. The TV set is at least ten years old, smallest possible screen, the blankets are ripped, the chromium on the taps in bathroom are long ago gone and plastic underneath displayed. Some tiles on the floors move under your steps and so on. People I discussed with and that were long time customers of this hotel told me with regret about the times when the food choice was wide and gourmet oriented. To say the truth, the rooms are daily cleaned and despite the age almost everything is in good working order and there is always something to pick up to eat, but this is not enough. The strongest point of this place is its position: 15 minutes walk to the Tenerife island major attraction: The Loro Parque. The people are coming miles by coach to visit it (and it's worth at least a visit during your stay). The second strong point is that the main bus station is just a few hundred meters away, linking you with the whole island, at very affordable prices.
I have only best words about staff that were always ready to help in any way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, Auvergne, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights in July 2012 and it was very nice.
The hotel is very clean, very good conditions, the food was just great and they have a big and very nice pool.
It has also a good position in Puerto de la Cruz, 5 minutes walk from the beach and 10 minutes walk from the center of the city.
Loro Park, the best attraction in the city is also at 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Never been to Tenerife before and well impressed with the airport & transfer...roads without potholes and new clean buses. We had been booked into an apartment which was tired and dated. It had a huge balcony which would be a sun trap and self sufficient with washing machine, cooker, coffee maker etc but as it was just my wife and I we didn't need the apartment. We enquired the following morning if we could change to the hotel the excellent reception staff duly obliged. We had a room on the 4th floor with a sea view. Didn't get the sun but the view was great and the room and furnishings comfortable. A plus point was a fridge which we used even though we were All Inclusive as we had packed a kettle as it's nice to have a cuppa first thing in the morning / late at night. Can't fault the maintenance people either. Both bedside lights were loose as people must've thought they were moveable and the balcony bulb had gone. All fixed as soon as reported.
Food / wine...yes it was self service buffet style but there was always something tasty and the red wine from the tap was far better than the bottled stuff and I've bought far worse at home. It was just a bit too noisy and busy. Entertainment leaves a lot to be desired though. Thankfully there wasn't anything for children so there weren't many (if you've got little ones why not go on a caravan holiday and have lots of fun and activity without the parents getting stressed?). There were three guys singing and playing instruments which was ok, but Bingo and animal acts are scraping the bottom of the barrel.
There's a cracking bar opposite - Bahia or something similar; friendly, good food and inexpensive. Even if you just have a beer they give a little dish of nuts.
Overall opinion, hotel complex good with nice pools and plenty of sun beds that weren't bagged by our European cousins. I think there were only about two other British couples and the majority of the guests were Spanish. Great, although the clientele was mainly late Saga age group (we qualify for Saga but felt quite young).
Resort - easy to walk to beaches although take care if you think of swimming in the sea as the coast here is more suited to surfers and we witnessed a sea rescue by the lifeguards.
Would we go again? Yes.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel gives sea views even though it is set back from the road with the drawback of not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having read the recent reviews, we were worried about what to expect. However, when we arrived, we found the hotel to be mostly more than satisfactory, certainly the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
Our room was large and very clean with a separate entrance ‘hall’ which also accommodated the wardrobe. The bathroom was fine, and there was a handy fridge in the main area which also had a long sideboard with flatscreen TV and separate table and chairs. We also had a very generous balcony.
We’d been to Puerto on an all inclusive basis in another hotel and were very disappointed with the food, so only booked bed & breakfast here, after all there are so many wonderful restaurants, why limit yourself to hotel food? Breakfast WAS the same every day but we could always find something to eat and once I’d spotted the pink grapefruits, I was well happy. One of the most disappointing things about breakfast was the coffee which you had to get from a self-service machine. The machine was like playing roulette, once I tried for cappuccino and got a weird hot chocolate, and the black coffee wasn’t that great either.
The main reason we liked the hotel so much was it’s in a very quiet area, so no roaring cars or barking dogs through the night. However, we did have one issue - the shower changed temperature every two-three seconds from ok to very hot to very cold, meaning you couldn’t have a decent wash. The beds were also the hardest we’d come across anywhere.
Guests were mainly pensioners, but that’s probably true of most hotels at this time of year. We’d rather have them than loads of kids!
Would we go back? - if they could sort out the shower temperature definitely.

Room Tip: We had room 509 which was at the back and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in the first week in April. The hotel and rooms are very dated and tired, in need of redecorating. The all-inclusive buffet is not very good quality and the variety is poor compared to similar holidays we've been on. I wouldn't recommend staying here, but if you do Patisserie Bruno, opposite the main entrance, does good coffee, cakes and fresh orange juice for when you get fed up with the buffet!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I went to Tenerife for the first time in February for a bit of winter sun. The weather was changeable but always warm and we were able to sit by the pool every day.There were always plenty of loungers and parasols available.
oour room was large and airy with an ample bathroom and a massive comfortable bed. The food was nice but very "samey" and if you went to breakfast on a busy day you had to join the "Saga Scrum" in a battle for the first fried egg. The beer was fine and you could get sparkling wine in the bar but not in the restaurant. There were snacks available free for all inclusive guests in the early evening but they did not really seem to understand the world "All"
There was supposed to be an animation team but the only activity we actually encountered was"Learn 100 words of Spanish" which seemed to consist of the numbers from 1-100 and which we only managed to join because we rather pushed in ,rather than being invited. On the day I was going to search for the French Boule the whole programme was cancelled. there was a disco in the evening which seemed to be a money making exercise for the staff and at which the only track we recognised was "Una Paloma Blanca!!"
This sounds negative but we had a lovely holiday. The reception staff were friendly if a little aloof and their English was not perfect.The woman who fried the eggs was wonderful. Our all inclusive pass expired at noon on our last day even though we had paid for a week and had not arrived until late evening on the previous Saturday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa

Address: C/. Antonio Ruiz Alvarez, 7 | Urbanizacion Turquesa Playa, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#20 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaimed Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz and located almost 100 metres from Playa Jardín, one of the last projects by Canarian artist César Manrique. The Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa offers a wide range of services which cover the needs of all our clients. Our Welcoming facilities, including our Wifi spot, will satisfy all kinds of clients, adults and children, since we have all the necessary qualities to make your stay with us comfortable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gema Turquesa Playa Hotel
Turquesa Playa Hotel
Gran Turquesa Playa Hotel
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.