We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 2 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Globales Acuario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Globales Acuario to your Saves list
Globales Acuario
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Parque las Flores 35 | Puerto de la Cruz, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Tyne & Wear
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good 2 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Staff were very helpfull, hotel was basic but clean, food ok, nice and quiet, myself my husband both in 40s with a 6 year old, we enjoyed our stay, was a cheap last minute get away, first time in tenerife but loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    47
    22
    42
See reviews for
31
75
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I thought nipy70 was over exaggerating, so went with an open mind. My God, what a disaster, where shall i start !!! The poor fish in the reception were frozen in jelly, if there was an RSPCF i would report them for cruelty. WOW !! The room was so small and damp and cold, the fish would have been better off in there instead of the tank. Hot shower? mmm..... had to run the shower for 6 minutes to obtain hottish water, whilst using up half of the Tenerife reservoir supply on a daily basis. 25 Euros for a safety deposit box is over the top as i dont think any one would have entered the room anyway. Breakfast, what a delight.... we got lucky on the 6th day and managed to find a warm breakfast....which was just about edible. Waiting staff, lacked courtesy,and a smile, would have been nice if they cleared the table as well. They have a lift that manages to shake the hotel foundations every time it moved, and the doors banged ensuring a rubbish nights sleep.
Condensation was freely available on the windows in the room, in fact there was more water on them than there was coming out of the tap on our final day. Coffee machine was luke warm hence the creamer was congealed and floated on the top, bit like the fish really.
Warm water was supplied for the tea machine, however had a rather yellow tint to it, same as toilet water.
Two plus points - the large gent on reception was very helpful and the cleaners cleaned the room on a daily basis, if only the rest of the staff could up there game it would help.
Finally, this hotel is worthy of a 1 star rating as two is rather generous and must have been assigned by a family member of the owner. We were situated on the fifth floor and at one point suicide was considered. Please go there at your peril...........

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARTLEPOOL UK
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have travelled around the world and am no way a hotel snob but this hotel was bad . The firs room we got was the smallest room i have ever been in ... We got moved the next day to a room with patio doors.. let more light in but the entire hotel needs to be closed and updated.Broken tiles on the ceiling, handles on the furniture doors stuck on with glue. The rooms are cleaned every day and thats one thing i say was good about this hotel.

Food is bad.. the same thing for breakfast everyday scrambled eggs boiled eggs fried eggs bacon ( well its the cheapest streaky bits of fat no meat on it ) german sausage same three cereals oh hang on there was fruit. Apples or bannans , i pciked the bad ones out and left them on the work top only to see the waiter put them back in

No one told us the hotel was up on a hill. Yes we managed to walk it every day but for some it would be impossible... \why add the extra expense of taxis when you could book a better hotel in a better location for a little bit more .



As i say im no snob i have stayed in some amazing hotels and some poor ones , you get what u pay for. We paid £330 for 6 days half board.... ive been ripped off

so in a nutshell ,,, dated small rooms bad bad food bad location. u been warned

Room Tip: only one room its on the 6th floor if u have to stay here get this one ,, stay away from room 506
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We requested ground floor room allocated room on fifth floor! Ok whilst lift was working but when it broke down we were confined to our room.Food was terrible,went half board but got fed up with frozen veg and chips,also sweet consisted of ice cream or cold rice pudding or instant whip.Room was small but clean,had to let tap run for 3/4 to 1 hour before we had hot water(such a waste of water)had maintenance man in twice to sort it to no avail.Maid was realy good,clean towels every day,mopped floors etc and cheerful.We walked to Puerto le Cruz downhill took us 2 hours as husband has bad knee,taxi back 3 euros.Asked hotel to phone for taxi on another day and it cost us 5.75 euros,most people aske cafe to phone for them.Cafe was very friendly and their food was good.Thomas Cook rep useless and quite rude when we stated the water situation and no entertainment and poor food,"you can upgrade to our 5 star in town where you will get entertainment, what do you expect from 2 star hotel!" Not suitable for less able bodied guests or for families as no facilities for children.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Hotel was clean, maid service every day. I stayed here for a week with my 15 year old daughter. The room was small the balcony was tiny. The whole week we stayed there we heard everyone complaining about their rooms. I would say the hotel is more for older people!! We were bed and breakfast so had to go into town every night for dinner. There s a local cafe and 2 shops at the back and side of the hotel. pool was very cold!! The holiday was pleasant and we met some lovely people. Overall I would say if you wanted a really, really quiet holiday and are over the age of seventy and dont want to venture anywhere, this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

booked on a budget and we got 'what we paid for! tiny rooms and balcony however great shower - it nearly blew us away. we were half board, breakfast was actualy good! excellent selection from a fry up to fruit however dinner was the pits, very limited selection but was not bad tasting and edible. all the staff were very helpful.

its about 1.5 mile from the beech and main town and its all the way downhill probably at 20% and more in some places, very steep in sections. not good for a pram, kids elderly etc. a taxi is around 4 euro which is well worth it. take caution at zebra crossings too.

a small supermarket is to the rear out the back door, just the usual in there. also a bar which was ok, more locals than tourists but also alot of young yins loitering around the area.

the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything. there was a domestic on the last night and it was like they were in the same room as us - bring ear plugs or have an extra couple of pints before bed!

Room Tip: all rooms are bad. bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Back of Beyond
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend for four nights and was surprised at how busy the hotel was for early February. The hotel is a fair walk from town which suits us fine but would be a no-no for anyone who's not used to it. The Canaries are all hilly!

Our room was rather small but clean and the beds were really comfortable. It's an older hotel so it looks a touch dated but for the price you really couldn't complain.

We arrived late on our first night and my girlfriend had had a terrible time on our journey over from Gran Canaria on the ferry, so we decided to eat at the hotel. For 9€ the buffet is slightly below par for the area. A walk into town can see you with a three course meal of a much better standard for around 10€ if you opt for one of the various menu del dia's (some including a drink) on offer in the restaurants in and around the main town.

Breakfast was nice with a good selection but bad coffee and the food was not hot enough.

Overall a pleasant stay definitely representing good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Globales Acuario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Acuario

Address: Calle Parque las Flores 35 | Puerto de la Cruz, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Globales Acuario 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Acuario Hotel is located in one of the most peaceful spots of Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, just 1.5Km from the beach of Playa del Centro and 2km from the famous lake, Lago Martinez. The hotel enjoys impressive views towards Teide and across the sea. The Globales Acuario in Puerto de la Cruz offers great value as it has facilities for a comfortable stay making it the perfect destination for a relaxing holiday with your family. This hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the most charming areas of the island of Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Globales Acuario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acuario Hotel
Acuario Tenerife
Globales Acuario Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globales Acuario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.