We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colditz Castle” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamante Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diamante Suites to your Saves list
Hotel Diamante Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Turquesa Playa 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 83 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Colchester, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Colditz Castle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early November 2013. The Hotel is very smart, clean and the staff are generally quite friendly. The hotel is situated up a very steep hill, so if you're a Mountain Goat this place is for you. I suffer from spinal problems so I had to get Taxis back which to be fair are quite cheap at €3.50 from town. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant as such and prefers the canteen buffet arrangement, which we don't like much. If you like Germans then this place for you, the evening entertainment is sung mostly in German, the breakfast hall is best if you dine at 7am as from 7:45am the invasion starts and before you know it your being pushed & shoved around by Ze Germans. Would we stay there again? No, we will stay nearer to the town which has an abundance of fine restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    75
    53
    20
    17
See reviews for
47
124
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We travelled in mid october booked a late deal online and for the price we paid you could not really complain. The Hotel is a bit dated but kept very clean. The Food is very good (fresh) especially the tomatoes. If you are all inclusive you get a free meal in one of the themed restaurants which is well worth it. Good service and good food. The bar staff were amazing especially Victor he was very friendly and catered to our every need. Esteban also worth a mention but all bar and restaurant staff seemed to work very hard. Reception could do with cheering up a bit. A short walk from the beach and main town. The beach is definately worth it. The hill is fairly steep though but you do need to do some exercise on holiday..... come on. Its also only 15 minute walk from Loro Parque which is a DEFINATE overall a holiday is what you make of it and this was just fan dabby dosy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I notice the Brits were all concerned about the tea and coffee making facilities. From what I gather you get these if you are all inclusive but not on other tarriffs . Also, the Spanish seem to think you should get wine with your half board tarriff but you don't; however, as a Brit I was very impressed with the 6 euro per bottle house wine. The Wi Fi was reliable and there was entertainment every night, if you wanted it. We didn't want entertainment but we weren't distrubed by it either which was good. It is a schlep from the airport but we knew that anyway and found that the 343 bus got you to Peurto Cruz and then 345 to the hotel. Get a bono bus card and it is 9 euros instead of 13 euros from the airport. Overall, I found the hotel very good. Lovely spacious room with separate sitting room and fridge. Friendly staff. Good food including a carvery at night and a grill chef to do you fresh fried eggs, omlettes and pancakes in the morning. If I have to give a criticism it is that the entertainment does include live animal shows and I personally do not feel comfortable with the exploitation of animals for human entertainment.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor as you will get more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the friendly staff. Rooms are adequate, food terrible, and the hotel itself on top of a very steep hill, so unless you are very fit be prepared to taxi it everywhere or stay somewhere else. The reception area is nice, but there is no WIFI here even although they say there is, it keeps on breaking down. I go to Puerto 3 times a year, but will never be back here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying in this hotel for work.

It's a fairly basic 4 star. I don't know how Spain issue 4 star ratings but quite easily it seems!

Some of the staff are very friendly.

Their largest down side is its advertised as 'air coditioned' which is a slight exaggeration.

Yes there are air conditioning vents, is the air cool? That's remains to be seen even after the maintenance man comes up!

The hotel for some bizarre reason turn the air con off at 0100am - 0700am. So when you need it most to sleep at night, its turned off! We were staying during 30 degree heats and they didn't offer to turn it back on during these times, even though my wife was 7 months pregnant!

It's an oddly set out hotel, and I never quite felt at home! Also very intermittent wifi, which is
Key in our job!

I'd say not bad but need to improve lots!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Brasov, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We where there for 6 nights . Food was ok , sweets where lacking sometimes but the rest was good. Rooms where clean and spacious. The only thing was the long walk to the restaurant which was on lvl 6 and we where lvl 2 but it compensated with the fact that the beach was 200m closer to us if we exited on lvl 1 directly into the street. Personal was ok and it is good that childrens are not allowed in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week in March 2013. The hotel has both positive and negative sides. Speaking about the advantages, I should say that it is spotless clean. The room I had was a suite with a balcony. It was quite comfortable, cosy and quiet. There was an electric radiator ( which I used a couple of times on arrival because I found the rooms a bit cold), a fridge, a juice maker, a microwave oven, a lot of cups and cutlery. I was a bit astonished not to find a kettle and tea/coffee, but it was not a big problem as I bought tea and coffee in the supermarket not far from the hotel and warmed the water in the microwave oven. A TV set in myroom was rather old and didn't have any English or Russian channels. There was also a safe in the room but it wasn't free of charge. Tourists have to pay 3 euros per day plus 15 euros deposit, which is given back to them when they check out.The price for a week is with a discount - it's 15 euros plus 15 euros deposit.
The hotel is located about 20 minutes from the city centre on foot. Loro Park and Playa Jardin are within walking distance ( about 10 minutes). The hotel is situated on a rather steep hill and consists of several connected blocks. My room was 211 and it took me about 10 minutes to get to the reception or the restaurant.I found it a bit irritating as I had to change the lifts twice,go past the swimming pool and along rather long corridors). I think it's much better to stay in the main block.
Dinner is served at the restaurant in 2 turns. The first turn is from 18.30 till 19.30 and the second is from 20.30 to 21.30. I stayed on a half -board basis. The food was good, but the choice could have been wider.I found the choice of dishes at dinner rather limited in comparison with other Spanish 4* hotels. At the end of the stay I felt I was on a special diet - boiled vegetables and a bit of meat or a slice of fish. :-(
There is a free bus service from the hotel to the centre of the city. It runs every hour from morning till early evening except the siesta time.
On the whole, the hotel is good value for money. Most tourists at the time of my staying at the hotel were elderly couples mainly from Germany and France.So young people may feel a bit bored there, but the place is ideal if they want to spend most of their time exploring the island.
I'd like to come back to Puerto de la Cruz but perhaps I'll try a more centrally located hotel next time with more entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diamante Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamante Suites

Address: Urbanizacion Turquesa Playa 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diamante Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diamante Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diamante Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Diamante Suites Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diamante Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.