We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dear Mr Rodrigues,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel RF Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel RF Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel RF Astoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/. Enrique Talg, 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
501 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Dear Mr Rodrigues,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having just spent two nights at your hotel, I would like to offer you some feedback, which I hope you will find constructive.

1. Unlike last year, you now charge for washing up liquid and a sponge. If I had know this, I would have brought these with me.

2. The road just behind the hotel is currently being updated and the roadworks are extremely noisy. Early wake-up calls are no longer necessary, as the workers start operating earth-moving machines and pneumatic drills at 8:00 am. However, in view of the low price paid, we accept this. Perhaps the workers will start even earlier when the weather gets hotter. I note that you have no A/C in the hotel.

3. As you know, your mattresses are relatively thin and hard. Some people like a hard mattress, it is true. However, a plastic mattress cover directly under the bottom sheet, which protects the mattress from incontinent people, encourages perspiration and renders a good night´s sleep almost impossible. You could cover the plastic with a thick cotton mattress protector, so that your guests´s perspiration at night can be absorbed. If you do not do this, I will be compelled to remove the plastic sheet and remake the bed next time.

4. It would appear your old televisions need about ten minutes to warm up. "BBC World" is the only channel in English and when I switched on the TV, the picture and sound were appalling, but later both improved. You could consider upgrading the signal and the televisions. However, I am aware that you are reluctant to invest in the hotel.

5. Your female staff, two receptionists and the breakfast attendant are very helpful and friendly. Congratulations!

6. Some reviewers have complained about the breakfast. We found it adequate considering the price paid.

We look forward to staying at the Astoria next year!

Your sincerely,

Mr and Mrs IgelEye

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs IgelEye:

Thank you so much for your feedback and for sure we take it on care. Of course we are going to do as much as we can to improve our service. It is a pleasure for us have you as clients next year.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Astoria for a week in Jan. 2013 and it was a very pleasant experience.
Never in Spain have we had so quiet a room and so comfortable beds. Everything very tidy and
well organized. The staff was very helpful, from the reception to the room cleaning girls. The pool and deckchairs clean and wellkept. The other guests wellbehaved and silent. The only thing we missed was a terrace, therefore we have to deduct one point from top rating.
Not very far from Pl.del Charco with its restaurants and bars and quite close to the pools at
Martianez still very quiet at night exept weekends when some shouting was heard from the street. We would certainly like to come back.

Sture and Kerstin Olsson, Gothenburg, Sweden.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StureO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Olsson:

Thank you so much for your positive comments and for have choosen us to enjoy your holidays. We are so happy that you like our staff and we hope see you again in our Hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel was clean and very good located. The poolarea was fair with sun from 10 AM to 4 PM. Only negative was the waterpressure in the shower - so low that is was impossible to wash the hair but there was always warm water.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SolnaRolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you spent a good holidays with us.

We will check the water pressure in the showers. We have not received any complain about it before.

We hope to welcoming you next time. Do not hesitate to contact us if you need it.

Best Regards from Puerto de La Cruz,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastola
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We actually got the room from Astoria side for some reason. And we didn't realise it in three days. Our room number was 212 in Astoria and the location was very nice for a family because our window opened right to the pool. Our child was able to sleep daynaps in our room and we were able to be at the pool same time, because the window was open. We didn't have balcon and that is why we asked if we couldh change room and that is how we found out the misunderstanding between Bambi and Astoria. But we didn't change the room. But it would have been possible. Location is perfect for family, you don't hear noices from the street and everything is so near. The hotel is very clean and people are nice. Our family recommends this hotel!

Vaikka varaus oli tehty Bambiin, saimme jostain syystä huoneen Astoriaan. Asia selvisi vasta 3 pv kuluttua, kun kysyimme mahdollisuutta vaihtaa huonetta, koska meillä ei ollut parveketta. Huoneen olisi saanut vaihtaa, mutta emme sitä lopulta vaihtaneet, koska huoneemme 212 sijaitsi niin että ikkuna avautui sepposen selälleen suoraan uima-altaalle, mikä mahdollisti sen että vanhemmat saattoivat olla päikkärienkin ajan altaalla, kun kuulimme koko ajan lapsen ja saatoimme kurkkia ikkunasta. Hotelli on siisti ja hlökunta mukavaa. Suosittelemme!!!

Room Tip: Room 212 in Astoria is good for families who love sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reppakelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very glad to know that you and your family have spent a very good holidays in our hotel and that you liked the room where you were accommodated.

It is very nice to read such a nice comment. You will help our future guests for choosing us for their holidays. Thank you very much for recommending us.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back. Do not hesitate to contact us if you want to get the same room, a perfect one for your family.

Best Regards from all the Staff,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bet Arye, Israel
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed ther for 5 Carnaval days. Location is great and pherheps the reason for not improoving their service. We paid for parking and its great, But... They didnt operate the elevator from the parking so we had to carry them thruogh the stairs. When we checked out the lady at the reception felt sorry for us and operate it. They are very aconomic, The electricity operate if you press abutton ( you always do it in the dark). The rooms are big,and they change the bad and the towels only every 2 days. They didn't put a new soap in the bath. ( WE had a tiny little soap from the day we came. If you think that we had to ask for it, We didn't feel like complaining all the time. If the promise you WiFi' don't be sure that it is true. The Intenet in the office didnt work constantly. At the reception was one young woman that really helped us. I dont remember her name but she was great. The breakfast was poor in a very "cold" atmosphere space.
WE enjoyed the location and the price. My review Is to low the hotel rate. Istayed in this hotel because of the high rate you gave it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DinaYosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
good morning, we thank you for your comments regarding our hotel as we are used to evaluate positively and constructively our service.

Tell you that our hotel is one of the few places in the area consisting of parking than they consider vital to our customers.

We will take note of your suggestion regarding towels to try to correct this practice and to offer them every day.

Also tell we always staff available at reception very qualified to answer all your questions and queries such as heating and you said a maintenance team who will be happy to assist you.

Thank you very much for your comentrios and if you wish, we'll see you again at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

starting from parking problems ...paid parking but too conjested ..
breakfast service poorest ..one un trained girl to service whole hotel..rooms more than hundred living ....tosters broken ...same breakfast every day ..
nor heater to warm the room niether
aircondtion when its too warm the room
...poorest televisión Very Poor zero valuación old fashioned having 10channels working most spainish old ..
no wifi in rooms ..
40euros per person perday too much for what you get ...
like an hostel ....

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MirwaniMOTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Good morning sir, very sorry your experience at our hotel.

quieremos thank you very much your comments because they help us and mark the right direction to improve our service to the end customer.

Our Partner comment that employees tend to perform hard choice tests to try to offer the best service in the hotel, we also have a maintenance team available 24 hours / 365 days a year to solve any problem, just the client must request your complaint, in this case the air conditioning, to our reception and so we always try to solve every problem in the shortest time possible.

In another vein, we have a multidisciplinary team working kitchen to serve the greatest variety and the freshest products possible. We regret their opinions and maybe if you want, we can welcome you back with better care and better service, we are happy to receive you. Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good location, large rooms but thin walls and slamming doors. Service could be a bit better. You even have to collect a hairdryer from the reception. Beds could be more comfortable. Breakfast ok.Maybe I can stay there once again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Another_finn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
good morning, thank you very much for your kind comments.

The time devoted to state some points on which the hotel could improve is meant for us to make a good report and thereby improve your next visit as you mention.

We hope very soon to the hotel, have a good day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#15 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#14 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos RF Bambi
Apartamentos RF Bambi
#19 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RF Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF Astoria

Address: C/. Enrique Talg, 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel RF Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Astoria Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel RF Astoria Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing