We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect vacation place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel RF Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel RF Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel RF Astoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/. Enrique Talg, 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“A perfect vacation place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Astoria for a week in Jan. 2013 and it was a very pleasant experience.
Never in Spain have we had so quiet a room and so comfortable beds. Everything very tidy and
well organized. The staff was very helpful, from the reception to the room cleaning girls. The pool and deckchairs clean and wellkept. The other guests wellbehaved and silent. The only thing we missed was a terrace, therefore we have to deduct one point from top rating.
Not very far from Pl.del Charco with its restaurants and bars and quite close to the pools at
Martianez still very quiet at night exept weekends when some shouting was heard from the street. We would certainly like to come back.

Sture and Kerstin Olsson, Gothenburg, Sweden.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Olsson:

Thank you so much for your positive comments and for have choosen us to enjoy your holidays. We are so happy that you like our staff and we hope see you again in our Hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    71
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
86
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solna
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel was clean and very good located. The poolarea was fair with sun from 10 AM to 4 PM. Only negative was the waterpressure in the shower - so low that is was impossible to wash the hair but there was always warm water.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you spent a good holidays with us.

We will check the water pressure in the showers. We have not received any complain about it before.

We hope to welcoming you next time. Do not hesitate to contact us if you need it.

Best Regards from Puerto de La Cruz,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastola
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We actually got the room from Astoria side for some reason. And we didn't realise it in three days. Our room number was 212 in Astoria and the location was very nice for a family because our window opened right to the pool. Our child was able to sleep daynaps in our room and we were able to be at the pool same time, because the window was open. We didn't have balcon and that is why we asked if we couldh change room and that is how we found out the misunderstanding between Bambi and Astoria. But we didn't change the room. But it would have been possible. Location is perfect for family, you don't hear noices from the street and everything is so near. The hotel is very clean and people are nice. Our family recommends this hotel!

Vaikka varaus oli tehty Bambiin, saimme jostain syystä huoneen Astoriaan. Asia selvisi vasta 3 pv kuluttua, kun kysyimme mahdollisuutta vaihtaa huonetta, koska meillä ei ollut parveketta. Huoneen olisi saanut vaihtaa, mutta emme sitä lopulta vaihtaneet, koska huoneemme 212 sijaitsi niin että ikkuna avautui sepposen selälleen suoraan uima-altaalle, mikä mahdollisti sen että vanhemmat saattoivat olla päikkärienkin ajan altaalla, kun kuulimme koko ajan lapsen ja saatoimme kurkkia ikkunasta. Hotelli on siisti ja hlökunta mukavaa. Suosittelemme!!!

Room Tip: Room 212 in Astoria is good for families who love sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very glad to know that you and your family have spent a very good holidays in our hotel and that you liked the room where you were accommodated.

It is very nice to read such a nice comment. You will help our future guests for choosing us for their holidays. Thank you very much for recommending us.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back. Do not hesitate to contact us if you want to get the same room, a perfect one for your family.

Best Regards from all the Staff,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bet Arye, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed ther for 5 Carnaval days. Location is great and pherheps the reason for not improoving their service. We paid for parking and its great, But... They didnt operate the elevator from the parking so we had to carry them thruogh the stairs. When we checked out the lady at the reception felt sorry for us and operate it. They are very aconomic, The electricity operate if you press abutton ( you always do it in the dark). The rooms are big,and they change the bad and the towels only every 2 days. They didn't put a new soap in the bath. ( WE had a tiny little soap from the day we came. If you think that we had to ask for it, We didn't feel like complaining all the time. If the promise you WiFi' don't be sure that it is true. The Intenet in the office didnt work constantly. At the reception was one young woman that really helped us. I dont remember her name but she was great. The breakfast was poor in a very "cold" atmosphere space.
WE enjoyed the location and the price. My review Is to low the hotel rate. Istayed in this hotel because of the high rate you gave it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
good morning, we thank you for your comments regarding our hotel as we are used to evaluate positively and constructively our service.

Tell you that our hotel is one of the few places in the area consisting of parking than they consider vital to our customers.

We will take note of your suggestion regarding towels to try to correct this practice and to offer them every day.

Also tell we always staff available at reception very qualified to answer all your questions and queries such as heating and you said a maintenance team who will be happy to assist you.

Thank you very much for your comentrios and if you wish, we'll see you again at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

starting from parking problems ...paid parking but too conjested ..
breakfast service poorest ..one un trained girl to service whole hotel..rooms more than hundred living ....tosters broken ...same breakfast every day ..
nor heater to warm the room niether
aircondtion when its too warm the room
...poorest televisión Very Poor zero valuación old fashioned having 10channels working most spainish old ..
no wifi in rooms ..
40euros per person perday too much for what you get ...
like an hostel ....

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Good morning sir, very sorry your experience at our hotel.

quieremos thank you very much your comments because they help us and mark the right direction to improve our service to the end customer.

Our Partner comment that employees tend to perform hard choice tests to try to offer the best service in the hotel, we also have a maintenance team available 24 hours / 365 days a year to solve any problem, just the client must request your complaint, in this case the air conditioning, to our reception and so we always try to solve every problem in the shortest time possible.

In another vein, we have a multidisciplinary team working kitchen to serve the greatest variety and the freshest products possible. We regret their opinions and maybe if you want, we can welcome you back with better care and better service, we are happy to receive you. Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good location, large rooms but thin walls and slamming doors. Service could be a bit better. You even have to collect a hairdryer from the reception. Beds could be more comfortable. Breakfast ok.Maybe I can stay there once again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
good morning, thank you very much for your kind comments.

The time devoted to state some points on which the hotel could improve is meant for us to make a good report and thereby improve your next visit as you mention.

We hope very soon to the hotel, have a good day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yavne, Israel
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two weeks with another couple of friends during the carnival.
The hotel is excellently located, minutes of walk from all the "action", the old city center, the promenade along the sea and most of the tourist attractions.
One major advantage: the hotel has got parking which is very important if you have a car . The parking costs but at least one does not have to look for a parking place which seemed really very scarce around.
The staff was very helpful and nice, tried and helped in whatever they could.
The hotel is in a very good shape, it looks as if it had benn renovated not too long ago.
The rooms were big and comfortable with a kitchenette included. The bathroom is nice and spacy as well.
However there is no air conditioning in the rooms ! We did not need it because the weather was relatively moderate, but I do not know what would have happened if we got a few hot days. There is a ceiling fan but it is small, noisy , high up and not really efficient.
Cleaning includes rearranging the beds and cleaning the bathroom; the kitchenette is off limits, they do not clean it at all!
Towells are changed three times a week only.
We had breakfast included. It was the same menu each and every day: eggs, two kind of salamis, some cheese. Some days there was tomato. Bread, butter, jam. Perhaps it sounds OK, but it really was not. This is one field where they could do much better.
Another thing the hotel could improve on is giving some basic services like internet in the rooms: they only had it in the lobby (and for a charge).
Actually they charge for anything they can, even for weighing the suitcases on a scale in the lobby. It leaves a bad taste.
So all in all: I give this hotel an average rate.

Room Tip: Beware: no air conditioning! On the other hand they have parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments.

First we want to thank all the points that we discussed and that will help us get better every day in the different aspects of the hotel and increase quality.

Very sorry for your bad experience with the breakfast menu, always try to offer a wide variety and type of food for preisamente not "boring" to our customers, we will take note of it.

In another vein, all rooms have air conditioning, usually the weather throughout the year is quite stable in Puerto de la Cruz which means there is no feature of installation other hotels with more extreme temperatures.

We will take very good note of your comment about internet and suitcases, to convey to the address that points to improve and so we can better serve you the next time you visit if you wish.

Thank you very much for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel RF Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF Astoria

Address: C/. Enrique Talg, 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel RF Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Astoria Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel RF Astoria Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel RF Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.