We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel Exelant location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel RF Astoria

Save Saved
You added Hotel RF Astoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel RF Astoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/. Enrique Talg, 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Bet Arye, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average Hotel Exelant location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed ther for 5 Carnaval days. Location is great and pherheps the reason for not improoving their service. We paid for parking and its great, But... They didnt operate the elevator from the parking so we had to carry them thruogh the stairs. When we checked out the lady at the reception felt sorry for us and operate it. They are very aconomic, The electricity operate if you press abutton ( you always do it in the dark). The rooms are big,and they change the bad and the towels only every 2 days. They didn't put a new soap in the bath. ( WE had a tiny little soap from the day we came. If you think that we had to ask for it, We didn't feel like complaining all the time. If the promise you WiFi' don't be sure that it is true. The Intenet in the office didnt work constantly. At the reception was one young woman that really helped us. I dont remember her name but she was great. The breakfast was poor in a very "cold" atmosphere space.
WE enjoyed the location and the price. My review Is to low the hotel rate. Istayed in this hotel because of the high rate you gave it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
good morning, we thank you for your comments regarding our hotel as we are used to evaluate positively and constructively our service.

Tell you that our hotel is one of the few places in the area consisting of parking than they consider vital to our customers.

We will take note of your suggestion regarding towels to try to correct this practice and to offer them every day.

Also tell we always staff available at reception very qualified to answer all your questions and queries such as heating and you said a maintenance team who will be happy to assist you.

Thank you very much for your comentrios and if you wish, we'll see you again at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    56
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
68
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

starting from parking problems ...paid parking but too conjested ..
breakfast service poorest ..one un trained girl to service whole hotel..rooms more than hundred living ....tosters broken ...same breakfast every day ..
nor heater to warm the room niether
aircondtion when its too warm the room
...poorest televisión Very Poor zero valuación old fashioned having 10channels working most spainish old ..
no wifi in rooms ..
40euros per person perday too much for what you get ...
like an hostel ....

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Good morning sir, very sorry your experience at our hotel.

quieremos thank you very much your comments because they help us and mark the right direction to improve our service to the end customer.

Our Partner comment that employees tend to perform hard choice tests to try to offer the best service in the hotel, we also have a maintenance team available 24 hours / 365 days a year to solve any problem, just the client must request your complaint, in this case the air conditioning, to our reception and so we always try to solve every problem in the shortest time possible.

In another vein, we have a multidisciplinary team working kitchen to serve the greatest variety and the freshest products possible. We regret their opinions and maybe if you want, we can welcome you back with better care and better service, we are happy to receive you. Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good location, large rooms but thin walls and slamming doors. Service could be a bit better. You even have to collect a hairdryer from the reception. Beds could be more comfortable. Breakfast ok.Maybe I can stay there once again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
good morning, thank you very much for your kind comments.

The time devoted to state some points on which the hotel could improve is meant for us to make a good report and thereby improve your next visit as you mention.

We hope very soon to the hotel, have a good day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two weeks with another couple of friends during the carnival.
The hotel is excellently located, minutes of walk from all the "action", the old city center, the promenade along the sea and most of the tourist attractions.
One major advantage: the hotel has got parking which is very important if you have a car . The parking costs but at least one does not have to look for a parking place which seemed really very scarce around.
The staff was very helpful and nice, tried and helped in whatever they could.
The hotel is in a very good shape, it looks as if it had benn renovated not too long ago.
The rooms were big and comfortable with a kitchenette included. The bathroom is nice and spacy as well.
However there is no air conditioning in the rooms ! We did not need it because the weather was relatively moderate, but I do not know what would have happened if we got a few hot days. There is a ceiling fan but it is small, noisy , high up and not really efficient.
Cleaning includes rearranging the beds and cleaning the bathroom; the kitchenette is off limits, they do not clean it at all!
Towells are changed three times a week only.
We had breakfast included. It was the same menu each and every day: eggs, two kind of salamis, some cheese. Some days there was tomato. Bread, butter, jam. Perhaps it sounds OK, but it really was not. This is one field where they could do much better.
Another thing the hotel could improve on is giving some basic services like internet in the rooms: they only had it in the lobby (and for a charge).
Actually they charge for anything they can, even for weighing the suitcases on a scale in the lobby. It leaves a bad taste.
So all in all: I give this hotel an average rate.

Room Tip: Beware: no air conditioning! On the other hand they have parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments.

First we want to thank all the points that we discussed and that will help us get better every day in the different aspects of the hotel and increase quality.

Very sorry for your bad experience with the breakfast menu, always try to offer a wide variety and type of food for preisamente not "boring" to our customers, we will take note of it.

In another vein, all rooms have air conditioning, usually the weather throughout the year is quite stable in Puerto de la Cruz which means there is no feature of installation other hotels with more extreme temperatures.

We will take very good note of your comment about internet and suitcases, to convey to the address that points to improve and so we can better serve you the next time you visit if you wish.

Thank you very much for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Astoria is an aparthotel which is completely fine, although I disagree with most of the comments praising this place. It´s a fine hotel, very clean, with gentle staff and with a good location. That´s it. Which is fair enough, but not good enough to justify its position among Puerto de la Cruz´s hotels.

It´s very basic, with furniture which looks like taken from the 70´s (well, I could actually state it dates from the 70´s) and without certain amenities you would expect from a 3 stars hotel. If your budget is small, maybe you would appreciate. However, you can pay just a little more (approx €50 more in the total sum) and go to a better hotel in Puerto de la Cruz. Besides, the breakfast is quite poor compared to other Spanish 3 stars hotels.

Besides, currently there are roadworks next to the hotel, which will affect your sleep, but which is not mentioned in their website. And the sauna´s pictures may look quite good, but, unfortunately, the sauna does not actually work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Good morning, we thank those days wanted to stay in our facilities. We would also like to convey on behalf of the staff your kind words to them.

Very sorry for your bad experience with regard to breakfast, tell that every day we have chefs working desdeprimera morning with fresh, always trying to offer the widest possible range for them and offer the best service.

Small works you mention times strictly comply with legally established in Spain and we take care of it so to ensure our customers' complete rest, plus works that are already completed and arrangements were some very public streets just point and that have caused disruption in our hotel.

Thank you very much for your feedback, we scored all the points that you have outlined in your comment to submit a report to management and so next time if you wish, we can serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a good, town center hotel with large rooms and friendly, helpful staff. It's not a 'resort' hotel, so it has street rather than sea views, and the decor is a little dark. It does have a small pool but it is in a rather bleak area of bare paving ( a few pots of plants would help!). A rooftop sunbathing area is provided with some rather shabby loungers. So it's a good, convenient place to stay whilst exploring Puerto de la Cruz rather than a holiday hotel as such. If you want a balcony, a nicer pool and sea views you'll have to go uphill to the hotel section of town and put up with the steep walk home.

We really liked the central location - minutes from the sea front with its huge public swimming area, the shops and the old town. We also liked the simple, good value breakfast. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel shares a reception and other services with the Hotel Bambi. The rooms in the Astoria hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review here in Tripadvisor. For us is very important your opinion, because we pay special attention to all things that you recommend us to change, and our service will be greatly improved.
Other good thing of your review is that you can help our future guest for choosing Hotel RF Astoria for their stay in Puerto de la Cruz.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you would come back again. It would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us if you need it.

Best Regards from all the staff,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at this property for a week while visiting family on the island during January 2013.I found the reception staff to be very friendly and helpful.My apartment was spacious and spotless.The apartments are very central to lots of shops,bars and restaurants.The breakfast buffet was also good with a wide choice of items on the buffet.The young man Richard who worked in the breakfast room was very friendly.I would stay here again when visiting my family.The only complaint I can make is that it would have been nice to have a kettle in the apartment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Gary,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay in January in our hotel.
For us is very important your opinion, because we pay special attention to all things that you recommend us to change, and our service will be greatly improved.

We have made a note about the kettle, and we will study our possibilities for providing kettles.

For sure you will help our future guest for choosing Hotel RF Astoria for their stay in Puerto de la Cruz.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you would come back again. It would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us if you need it.

Best Regards from RF Astoria

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel RF Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF Astoria

Address: C/. Enrique Talg, 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF Astoria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel RF Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Astoria Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel RF Astoria Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel RF Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.