We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“APARTHOTEL ASTORIA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel RF Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel RF Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel RF Astoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/. Enrique Talg, 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Ilford, Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“APARTHOTEL ASTORIA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We have stayed at the aparthotel Astoria several times and everything about it is extremely good.
The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful.
The beds are comfortable and the rooms are kept very clean.
The terrace has sun beds around the ssimming pool
and this is very nice as it is quiet and a sun trap.
The Astoria is in a very good position.
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Sandra,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. We are very happy to know that you and your husband have enjoyed your holidays.

It was very nice to talk to you. Thank you for your kindness.

If you are planning to come back, do not hesitate to contact us and we will help you with your reservation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Greetings from all the staff.


Samuel Rodriguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    64
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
77
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Astoria for one week from 28th February.

Pros:
- Great location in the town centre
- Very useful kitchenette
- Large room
- Friendly staff
- Thick curtains to keep out the strong sunlight in the morning

Cons:
- Lots of hairs on the floor, indeed new ones seemed to appear every day!
- The fancy "sterilised and presented in a clinical bag" drinking glasses in the bathroom are in fact simply washed out, as evidenced by the finger print and hair in one of ours!
- Old television with a remote control that didn't work
- The bar and lounges were closed for the duration of our stay
- Despite having a proper bathtub, the hot water tank in the room doesn't have enough hot water for a full bath. You could try boiling water on the stove, but the bath plug doesn't fit properly and the water seeps out as fast as boiling water can be poured in!

Tips:
- Book a car park space! We didn't and ended up with a ten minute walk each morning. This is not a moan, however, as it was entirely my own fault for not booking one.
- Take ear plugs, as the general hustle and bustle of the town starts early.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Tim,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at our hotel. It is the only way to understand your point of view and for sure it will help us to improve our service and quality standards.
We always want to provide our clients with the best service and always want to know if we have not met their expectations. Your comments and impressions have been addressed to the responsible persons in order to analyse them.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and have the opportunity to meet your expectations.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Entrance to the hotel is via Hotel Bambi, as both hotels have the same owner. Our biggest problem was finding the place in the one-way system of downtown PdlC! The roads are not clearly signed, so if you´re only armed with a street map, good luck!!! The gate to the car park is not signed either, so I parked in the underground car park belonging to the building next door. Getting out again proved tricky, as the young receptionist had to get the remote control to open the gate again. She was very charming and helpful - what a laugh!!! The rooms are nice and spacious and have a kitchenette for self-caterers. WiFi costs extra. There´s a pool with sunbeds. The main negative point for me was the hard mattress, but we only stayed for two nights. The independently run BAMBI restaurant is also recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Astoria. We are happy to know that you like our hotel, and that you have spent two good days with us.
Your experience is very important for us, because it is the only way to know if we are working in a good direction. We always try to give you our best service because we would like to welcoming you next time.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to come back in the future.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed a week in Hotel Astoria mid-January and were very happy with our accomodation. the location was great - close to restaurants and shops. We would recommend this hotel if you are having a holiday in Puerto de la Cruz.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel. It is very nice to read so kind things. We are glad to know that you recommend our hotel to our future guests.

We would like to welcoming you in the future. If you are able to come to Tenerife once again, do not hesitate to contact us again.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I visited Puerto de la Cruz in January, 2012. Originally booked a studio in the Bambi apartments with a low cost winter holiday in mind, we were offered a 3 Euro per day upgrade to the Astoria which we took, and enjoyed a one bedroom apartment instead.

I would say it was worth the 3 Euros as the apartment was roomy, large bedroom, living room/kitchenette, though the absence of a toaster was a pain. We also had to boil our water in a microwave which slowed things down a bit. The French balcony overlooked the shopping street below which was significantly better than the room we were offered in the Bambi, though the view was still very limited.

Overall the hotel was very quiet, gloomy really, with a nice looking bar that was permanently closed. Hotel staff friendly enough and very willing if not always able. Location in Puerto was very central but not noisy.

Initially I thought Puerto de la Cruz was a really attractive town with plenty of shops and bars etc. The Lido is really atractive, right on the seafront, and at 5 Euros per day seemed okay though we didn't actually go in. I have to say my initial impression weakened as the days went by, as there was precious little in the town to get your attention. We like to do a lot of walking, but the promenade walk was pretty short, and it was impossible to walk into the countryside without getting the bus or driving.

In terms of walking in Puerto de la Cruz, you can get a bus up to the Oratava valley very cheaply and there is some nice walking up there. However after the first couple of times, the bus ride becomes tiring (about 1hr some mornings) and the walking gets a bit samey as well. It is possible to get a bus up to Teidi but we couldn't face it.

We used a walking group ran by a French couple called Pas a Pas - they have a website. I would recommend giving them a go if you prefer the services of a guide. Nadine took us on a beautiful walk in northern Tenerife which finished with a nice tapas lunch in a pretty location. Overall it was a nice walk, but it was spoiled to some extent by the bus journeys - I think we spent more time on the bus than we did walking.

My impression of doing a walking holiday from Tenerife is that there is quite a variety of good walks but you really need a hire car. Using their brilliant bus service is possible but its really very tiring and I wouldn't recommend it. Mind you, if you want some walking in the Winter sun, where else can you go?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments about your recent stay at Hotel Astoria.
Our purpose is to make your stay with us an unforgettable holidays.

We are proud to know that you had a good experience and we believe your opinion will encourage other travelers to visit our Hotel and our City, Puerto de La Cruz.

We hope to welcoming you in a near future.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Clean, not too big, nice and near the centrum, old town and sea! Very good, I´ll come back..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Helena,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad to know that you like our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The good: very central location, two minutes from the harbour and Old Town,helpful, pleasant staff and 24-hr reception;clean, freshly painted room with French windows and small balcony;small greengrocer and large supermarket nearby; excellent cafes within walking distance. Try the beach cafe at one end of the promenade for fresh,grilled sardines, or a new chic cafe overlooking the harbour, by the ramparts at the other end for sangria and fish croquettas.Avoid eating on the promenade, unless you like Elvis impersonators and "international" food.
The bad: the junior suite, not that cheap for 5 nights, had only one bedroom. We had booked for 4 people, so two camp beds were provided in the lounge/diner. Not much privacy for two couples though. No iron, or hairdryer ( on request only, and to be returned)in the apartment, no armchairs or reading lights in the lounge.
The not-so-pretty: the whole of the avenida, near the hotel, is a building-site at present. The sound of drills can be heard from 8am onwards. We were not made aware of this when booking( not directky with the hotel). This is a temporary situation, but you have to choose a different route down to the promenade for now.
On the whole, a positive experience, and we would return.

Room Tip: The tiled floors and doors make the apartment noisy from neighbours coming and going, especially lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Arnold,
Thank you very much for your comment about your experience in our hotel. We see that you have spent a good holidays with us, but you think that there are some details that we should improve. That helps us to know your point of view, becasue we work hard for giving the best service to our guests.
The Council of Puerto de La Cruz is renovating one of the street that it is not directly to our hotel, and we know that now it is a little bit unconfortable for our clients, but it is temporary. They will finish soon and we will have a good conection to everything.
We are glad to know that you would come back, and we it would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,
Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel RF Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF Astoria

Address: C/. Enrique Talg, 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel RF Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Astoria Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel RF Astoria Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel RF Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.