We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace to your Saves list
Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Acevino, 10, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

my husband, our 15 month year old , and i stayed at this hotel from the 12th to the 15th of November 2012. originally we thought we were supposed to stay at the blue sea interpalace but we were told our room was at canarife which is part of the hotel group. the rooms were huge, airy and very clean. pleanty of hot water and a powerful shower. we went all inclusive and the servvice was great. the staff were very friendly and professional and were always smiling at us. the food was absolutely delicious, and the variety was great. we never had the same meal twice. breakfast was also varied and you could have continental or full english. alcohola was plenty and your could have as many coktails as you can hold. tbh i dont see why some people leave negative reviews, our stay was so great next time we are dragging our friends and their kids along. i would recommend this hotel 100%.

Room Tip: we got a room in the 4th floor and the view was fantastic.wwe faced the mountain to our right and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    54
    47
    23
    15
See reviews for
56
71
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

When we come to hotel we had to wait for room, but that was ok. We stayed in canarife hotel, but on our booking was Bonanza hotel when i told them they said. No is canarife they got no rooms free in Bonanza. When we come to room was ok clean. the entertaiment was almost everyday same. The Food was good, good desserts and a lots of fruits. The drinks i did not like. Also you have to help yourself with all the drinks as there is no customer service.Not what you want as all inclusive. I stayed with my mum and sister so for us was ok, but dont think i will go there with my husband. Far to way from beach, The hotel runs buses for free but last one is like 6pm. Close to hotel is lots of shop and restaurant really cheap.

Room Tip: You must go to see loro park is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llwyn-y-pia, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel for a week in Oct 2012. We had read some negative reviews before we went. We had a wonderful stay and were left wondering if those critics were perpetual miserable gits!!! Our room was spacious, clean and tidy. The view from the verandah was terrific - mountains to the right and the sea to the left. The staff were professional and courteous and the hotel was very smart. We had a choice of two outside swimming pools, one quiet and one more lively and family orientated. The food was diverse - it was delicious and there was choice for all tastes. Whether you liked chicken and chips, paella, salad, fresh fruit, creamy desserts, meat, seafood or vegetarian there was much, much, much. We went half board and breakfast, supper was virtually enough for the day. There was a regular bus to and from the commercial centre, which was about a mile away. A trip to nearby Lorca Park was a delight. We also went to the lunar landscape of the teide national park and a boat trip to los gigantes - which was fun. we never went to tenerife before. We were impressed with the island, the prettiness... porta de la cruz and the canarife palce. Go!!! Enjoy, Chris from south Wales x

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea and the mountain. Terrific!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I went on holiday in July with my family and had a lovely lovely holiday. We read some bad reviews before we left, however when we got there the bad reviews didn't match up to this hotel. I have never stayed in a hotel which was as clean as this one. it was absolutely sparkling, that is how clean it was. The food got a bit repetitive after a while but the meat they cook fresh infront of you is definitely worth a try. The thing I missed was english milk in a yorkshire tea. The pool was clean and I liked how you could just go and help yourself to drinks at anytime. However I did miss the idea of being served like you get in other all inclusive hotels. Also, the holiday reps were amazing. there were different activities for everyone to partake in. This helped break down the day a bit. There is a fight for sunbeds in the morning, we had to go down by 8 to guarantee one. If you were looking at going to an attraction, definitely go to loro parque. It was absolutely fantastic! you can buy tickets (same price as people trying to sell them you on the streets) at reception and then they tell you the way to go to go and get the train. In all a fantastic family holiday, one that we will remember for a long time!

Room Tip: The rooms are quieter away from the pool view as this is where the entertainment is at night and whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Canarife Palace is one of 3 hotels on a quiet road about a mile from the city centre. Myself and 3 other friends stayed here for a week 11-18 August to celebrate a friend's 50th birthday. The Canarife Palace was allocated to us on arrival, we were the last to check-in that day and after visiting the 2 other hotels during our stay, this is the best of the 3 hotels. The others being the Bonanza Hotel next door and the Interpalace across the road. These 2 held the entertainment every night. Rooms in the Canarife are very spacious with plenty of wardrobe space, fridge, large bathroom and large balcony. Reading other reports that say we were up a mountain were quite ridiculous. Puerto De La Cruz is close to the mountains anyway and even though the last 2 days of our holiday were overcast, to go here in the winter months hoping to get a golden tan maybe a bit of a gamble. We had 5 out of 7 days wall-to-wall sunshine from 11am-8pm and it was very hot, mid 30's. We all went half-board and the choice at breakfast and dinner were ample, at least something for everyone. Obviously you are in Spain so the taste of the products are not going to be exactly the same as you're named brands back home. Fridge in room wasn't that cool and the TV only showed foreign channels and the odd news channel. MTV would have been nice as background but nevertheless we always had our ipod docking station to fall back on and a radio built into the bedside aswell. Room was cleaned and towels changed every other day. Air-con was free but not that effective. Room safe was 3 euros a day. After breakfast on the first day we decided to get our sunbeds for the day but found out that there were none available, apparently there are only about 100 sunbeds for about 400 guests in the Canarfie and Bonanza, ridiculous. If you want a sunbed for the day, then from day 3 of our holiday, myself and another member of our party would set our alarm to reserve 4 beds at 7am, then go back to bed until breakfast before occupying them later. Everybody was doing it and these were British guests not German and no action was taken. You just had to. We were half board and they charged us just 2 euros for unlimited beer, wine and soft drinks for everning meal which was good. The all inclusive people wore blue armbands and the children yellow armbands, so I can't see how children could help themselves to booze as the staff were very vigilant. Restaurant staff and maids were very pleasant and so were the receptionists. Evening meals consisted of a choice of 2 soups, superb salad bar, fish bar, plenty of main courses, fresh fruits and desserts and you could eat as much as you like. It was a bit boring though by day 5, a week is enough here I think. You could also buy snacks at the hotel lunchtime for 3 euros each but we normally took a walk around the main street, a number of coffee bars would do you toasted sandwiches, hot dogs, etc. There is also a Suma supermarket at the end of the road and various other mini shops scattered around. No exchange facility in the hotel which I find very strange, nearest bank 10 mins walk away is BBV which charge you a hefty 25 euros to change travellers cheques. The city centre was half an hour walk away downhill and/or steps, you'll find the way you prefer. Get a taxi up, only 3.15 euros, 4 euros with a tip (that's only £3.20). About 5 euros after midnight. Plenty of shops, cafe bars and restaurants in the centre. Beach is awful, all black sand. Fund Grube Duty free shop is a shopper's paradise, 2 of them there. Cafe De Paris on the seafront is a must for coffee and cake in the day and cocktails at night. We only did one trip and that was to Loro Parque. At 33 euros thats more expensive than London Zoo but it was even better than London Zoo. Fantastic day out. We got a taxi again as there was 4 of us and with a tip was only 10 euros each way. Food and drink in the park very reasonable, in fact drinks in Puerto De La Cruz itself were all very reasonable, paying just 2 euros for a pint, 3 euros for a spirit and mixer and cocktails from only 4 euros aswell. If you want to stay within walking distance of the hotel, then the 2 bars we found to be the most frienly were Apricot and Orquidea. Orquidea, next door but 2 to the Canarife Palace, turn right as you come out, also do stunning food. Steaks and ice-cream profiteroles are superb.The hotels cater for older couples and families. Hardly any youngsters staying there and the entertainment that they provide wouldn't suit them either. A mixture of your usual mini disco, bingo, organ player, etc. Music is outside but finishes at 12 midnight. All in all not a bad holiday, even in the city centre though, not much for youngsters who want music bars, they would be better off down South in Los Christianos or Playa De Las Americas where I would also like to try if I return to Tenerife in the future. Would not rule out a return to the Canarife Palace again though although one cannot guarantee that they would be at this hotel until their arrival but they need to get more sunbeds in, OPERATION SUN LOUNGER AT DAWN is not funny anymore when you're in your 40s and have paid nearly £500 for a week's holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front overlook the road, but very quiet at night anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Canarife palace for a week and the experience was below average. The hotel is dull old fashioned and looks worn out and tired and you can see this when you go around the hotel. Food was not good and we struggled to find food. All we could eat on some nights was chips the food was that terrible it looked like soggy overcooked food and tasted as bad as it looked. We went out 2 times as there was nothing for all of our group to eat and we went out 4 nights to get away from the dull entertainment which was boring and far to loud. There is not near enough sun beds or chairs for everyone in the hotels and some were forced to stay on their verander or go n the grass which was also rammed full. We had to get up at 6 am one day to ge sun beds we poly managed to get 3 the other 5 had to sit on chairs around the bar area (in the shade) as you couldn't talke the chairs away fom the bar area. We want to siam park a water park and we had to get a bus there and the hotel reception didn't give us the correct bus times as they were using the old timetable they were also very rude and just wanted to smoke in the office at the back of reception. Would never go back here awful experience DON'T GO YOU'LL REGRET IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

we arrived late in July to a cloudy sky this was not to change for 2 weeks.This was not the hotels fault .
This is a resort consisting of 3 hotels the canarife, bonanza and interpalace. upon arrival reception very slow and apathetic.Had to wait 2 hours for room cleaning but no problem. When got room it was tiny very disappointing.Went for food which was reasonable.
Went for evening drink in bar Tabaro in hotel Bonanza very friendly bar staff and excellent service.I had received a photocopy of bar hours from reception which stated it closed at 12 but we were kicked out at 23.00.This was ok .Fist week enjoyed this bar as my watering hole. Second week all bars except table by pool closed thus had to get drinks from table area whicch was like a cattle market and had to drink beer out of small plastic cups as all other bars closed WHAT A LOAD OF RUBBISH! Complained to an officious idiot in a waistcoat just to be dismissed..
What is annoying is that it could be such a nice place with a bit of thought.

Room Tip: do not book promo room or upgrade to standard immediately
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace

Address: C/ Acevino, 10, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto Hotel Canarife Palace
Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotasa Puerto Resort Canarife Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.