We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Resort by Blue Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Puerto Resort by Blue Sea to your Saves list
Puerto Resort by Blue Sea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Acevino, 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Canarife Palace)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel offers great value for money. Went all inclusive, food was lovely something for everyone, drinks were pour your own! room was perfect and cleaned every day. plenty to do in the surrounding area. staff were extremely polite, the only downside was even the reception staff had very limited english! apart from that a definite recommend! siam park is a definite must visit even though its an hour by bus! :)

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor! close to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    136
    127
    95
    46
See reviews for
158
177
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Sold as a 5 Star resort hotel, certain aspects may meet that grade, I will not comment on those aspects as they should be taken as a given with the 5 Star rating.
The negative experiences I found were:
SUNBEDS:- were always reserved by persons using towels in the middle of the night, even though signs clearly indicated sunbeds cannot be reserved. No one enforced this rule.
POOLSIDE AREA:- Dirty with Beer stains and debris from the previous nights entertainment, as well a Pigeon dirty frequently and randomly deposited all over the tiles. [--] happens however the area should be swilled down every day to take this muck and stains away, we were there for a week, did ot see the area cleaned once. Needless to say the Pigeon dirt could pose a health hazard.
Linking the above two is the fact that staff would not be able to clean some areas due to towels covering sunbeds.
EVENING ENTERTAINMENT: The entertainment itself was at best average, however each night proved to be a fight to the death to get a table and chairs, usually resulting in large numbers of customers dragging sunbeds from the pool area to use as seats. First night there I asked a member of staff for chairs and got the universal Spanish response "No Possible", I went to reception and explained the problem to Carlos, there were non immediatley available, but he would arrange for some technicians to provide some more. Each following night was exactly the same, I visited the dayshift Duty Manager "Helena", I explained the problem, there were already aware of the situation as other customers had compained. Helena explained that there had been a problem with some tables having glass tops having to be removed, however there were glass topped tables being used at that time, she went on to explain that replacement Tables and chairs have been bought but awaiting delivery onto the island. Not really a plausable explaination given the size of the island and its main economy being tourism. To Add insult to injury one of the complexs bars was closed, "Bar Taboro", guess what it was full of stacked tables and chairs of the same design as used in the entertainment area......
To add insult to injury, having had to fight for a seat I then saw a small group of elderly persons enter the area to view the entertainment, however no seats available, old aged persons and persons with disablities should not have to endure sitting on sunbeds. I made this point to the duty manager Helena who accepted this was not a satisfactory situation.
STAFF:- all but two were sullen. One particular member of bar staff [--] worked his patch, he would stand and chat with his collegues for 15 minutes, then slowly walk around wipe tables for 15 minutes, stand and chat with other collegues for 15 minutes, then disappear out the back for 15 minutes. We were there seven nights and never had our table cleaned.
It is apparrent there is no supervison or management intrested in the customer
FOOD, I found was good, others disagree.
ROOM: I found to be good however the Air Conditioning was only active from 2:00pm to 02:00am each day, sleeping on a night was difficult.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

CHECK YOUI HAVE TRANSFERS FROM AIRPORT IF BOOKED A PRICEBUSTER!!!!! Overall Very good holiday and Hotel, 3 too choose from, iterpalace has best room views and pool area, food is better at Bonaza palce but that my choice all was good to eat. Not 5* gV Good 3* knocking on 4.

Tips: Go to salt pools at weekend as gets bust with spanish at weekends, salt pools open at 10am arrive at 9:30 to save ques, 4.50 euro for the day is great value.

Entertainment is not so good at night but worth watching for a laugh they do try which is good, and if you don't like there is some great local bars up the road.

DO NOT be put off with the snooty other reviews they up their own arses and must expect Hilton style every time! get a life you geeks! this Hotel is Good

Room Tip: Interpalace level 3 or above will give you a great sea view must be an even number though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My partner and I always search for a bargain when we go abroad and we paid for one week at the beginning of September a total of just under £800 for everything. Although this is reasonable we have certainly got more for our money in the past. However, I would say this is still one of the best holidays we've had and we go on a lot of holidays including Carribean, France, Turkey, Cyprus, Bulgaria and many more.

The resort it's self is lovely and so is the majority of the rest of the island. We hired a car and travelled about; I would recommend the yellow sands of San Andres Beach near Santa Cruz, Mount Teide and the oldy worldy charm of La Laguna as some of the best places we visited. Some really nice mediteranean restaurants around in the old town of Puerta de la Cruz if you go to the right places. I recommend 'La Marea' (for seafood) and 'Stones' (grill and cocktails). There is also a really nice massive swimming pool along the prominade which was good. The weather was 30 degrees plus everyday, no rain, and clouds only up by the mountains so not an issue.

Personally we thought the hotel was disapointing. We don't expect much from our accomodation as we only use it as a base and like to get out and explore. However the things I wasn't happy with are as follows:

1. Air-con automatically turns off at 2am so it's too hot at night (25 deg.). I offered to pay for the full night but this wasn't possible. I asked for a fan and was given a fan HEATER!
2. Food is poor and particularly the breakfast is terrible. Everything is the cheapest you can buy and under cooked. We ended up buying our own salami and avocado and using the hotels bread, tomatos, cucumber etc. The lunch and evening meals are better but not much. If you have the attitude that eating is not particularly a pleasure but just fills a hole I'm sure you'll be happy. I do love my food, cooking at home and look forward to every meal. For me its one of the most important aspects of a holiday. We ate out sometimes and when we did it was lovely but couldn't afford to do this all the time hence why we chose all inclusive. The food has been much better at every other all-inclusive I've stayed at, all of which were either 3 or 4 star and cost less than this holiday at destinations further away.
3. Towels only changed once in the week.
4. All-inclusive drinks selection poor and you have to serve yourself (not 24hr like most i've stayed at). You serve yourself from a shabby marquee while staff members are stood around behind a really nice bar with nothing to do because any alcohol they serve must be paid for (here there is a large selection of branded drinks).
5. Entertainment diabolical. It's always bad on holidays but Blue Sea Resort takes it to another level.
6. Not enough seating and sunbeds considering the size of the hotel complex.
7. Some staff are misserable.

In summary, the hotel and rooms are basic but clean. However, I wouldn't recommmend staying here as you can do better for your money. I slept poorly due to the heat at night and thought the food could be better. The hotel complex offered nothing that made us want to chill out and relax in the complex. Good if you like to be surrounded by large concrete blocks of apartments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK NE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We expected 5* and got 3*

Like all the hotels we go to I checked on here - and there were mixed reviews - unfortunately the poor ones are the most accurate

If your holiday company tells you it's a 5* tell them to take a running jump.
Lowcost Holidays say it is 5* - the Interpalace only rates itself as a 4*
I would rate the three (Bonanza and Canaria) as a poor 3*
Do not fall for 5* North Tenerife allocated on arrival - you will end up here.

Good points
Quiet area
You can get a room with a fantastic sea view in the Interpalace
The food choice at dinner is good
Rooms spacious
Pool towels can be used for a 10euro deposit - save baggage weight

Bad points
Breakfast in the Interpalace was always cold - despite 3 complaints to the manager
Pool area at the Interpalace is small
Pool area at the Canaria does not get much sun
Pool area at the Bonanza is disgustingly filthy - fag ends, spilt drinks, plastic cups, plates, napkins, it was only washed and brushed once in the 10 days that we were there - after 4 complaints and a pile of rubbish was picked up and dumped at reception, it was then also brushed occasionally
There is not enough space or sunbeds - if you don't get a towel out before 8 - no sunbed, if a towel is left for more than 2 hours the lifeguard will remove it
There are not enough tables and chairs for outside on an evening - so people move the sunbeds and sit 2 or 3 on them - thus a lot are broken
Room only cleaned 4 times in the 10 days and sheets not changed
Aircon will only work after you complain
Lots of Spanish families use it for weekend breaks - and the kids are very loud
You can book the jacuzzi - but the jets are broken
You can book the sauna - but it's small and will be packed with unruly children - despite not to be used by under 14 year olds
Hotel bars all closed - only the pool bars open - and it's help yourself, so be prepared for poor hygiene
Snacks and coffee were available from 10:30 at the pool bars - but the staff did not check or clean the machines beforehand so invariably they were out of service and only fixed when people complained

Anyone who thinks these hotels are good must have lower standards than our group and most of the people we spoke to at the hotel

Room Tip: only the rooms in the Interpalace have a good seview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was great value holiday. The resort consists of three hotels and we were in The Inter Palace but you have access to all three. The Inter Palace serve great food in a great selection. Drink is on a serve yourself basis with once again a great selection. Amenities and facilities were excellent and there was a fine mix of nationalities with a friendly atmosphere. Staff were plentiful if a bit offhand but the not everyone is multi-lingual. A great value holiday.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter. Many ground floor rooms are on the access to the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

me and my partner stopped at this hotel the canarife palace for 2 weeks we had not been on holiday for 8 years and were really looking forward to it. We did book it last minute and did not pay ahuge amount for it but the reason was totallly clear when we arrive. The rooms are small and dated holes in the bedclothes they were only changed a couple of times during our whole stay and the food was awful cold, bland and didn´t look very nice.
It was alot of choice of food but everthing looked the same.
Entertainment was mostly in spanish we spent more money than we expected just to get out of the hotel.
i would not recommened this hotel to anyone save your money and go somewhere else

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Puerto Resort by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Resort by Blue Sea

Address: C/ Acevino, 8, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotasa Puerto Resort Bonanza Canarife Palace)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puerto Resort by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Resort is located on the island of Tenerife, the largest of the Canaries. Visitors can enjoy the beautiful black sand beaches like Playa Garden or the fabulous selection of parks, museums and historical monuments. It is essential to visit the leisure complex Martianez Lagos, created by the artist Cesar Manrique in Puerto de la Cruz during any stay. The Hotel is located in a residential neighborhood near the beach. This location is perfect for enjoying all the activities of the island and the subtropical gardens that surround the resort are a great way to relax after a day of hiking or beach sports. The rooms are designed and equipped to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All rooms have a separate bathroom, air conditioning, balcony or terrace and a safe. There is also a mini bar (extra charge). With regards to services, the Blue Sea Puerto Resort also has an outdoor swimming pool, pool bar, health club and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Puerto Resort by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Puerto De La Cruz
Hotasa Puerto De La Cruz
Puerto Resort By Blue Sea Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Resort by Blue Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.