We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Garoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Riu Garoe to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Garoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doctor Celestino Gonzalez Padron 3 | Puerto de la Cruz- Tenerife, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a beautiful classy hotel. The staff are polite, friendly and very hard working. The food is good and there is a wide selection at the buffets. Tables are allocated in the dining room on the first day for the whole of your stay which I thought was a bit unfair as it would have been nice to sit at the window or outside occasionally.The double/twin room was clean and modern but smaller than we had expected. It was well equipped with TV, mini bar, bath robes etc. I found the beds uncomfortable as they were too firm. This and the noise in the corridor early morning affected my sleep. We tried to change rooms but were told that the hotel was full. We were offered another room in a days time but it was in the same corridor. Otherwise the hotel was very quiet (no music in the hotel or pool area in the day) and I feel the evening entertainment, like 'the 3 tenors' and Canarian folk singers was aimed at the older generations.There was a mix of ages and most of the guests were German. The pools indoor and out were lovely and clean and there were plenty of sun beds. The location of the hotel is out of the main town of Puerto de la Cruz but the hotel provides a free bus during the day and taxis are relatively cheap. Overall I would say that it is a good hotel but a few adjustments could make it an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: It depends if you want sun on the balcony. Our balcony overlooked the garden and had sun late aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our friendly and polite staff, beautiful classy hotel, clean and modern rooms and good and wide selection at the buffet, these are great comments which help us to continue working at the same quality line. We make everything possible to make comfortable beds.
I would like to say thank to spend your holidays with us, and let us know in advance to offer you a beautiful room in your next visit.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    109
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
83
263
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludgershall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Please note, if you fly late from Gatwick, your last nights food is not included and you will be charged 20 Euros per person leaving you also with a bad taste!

My girlfriend and I decided to holiday in Tenerife this year. After a lot of studying on the internet, we finally chose this hotel and booked one week in May through Thomson on a half board basis. We flew in from Gatwick, a late flight which was then followed by a 1.5 hour coach transfer to the hotel. Arrival at hotel early hours of the following morning. On the return leg, once again we had a late flight. Pick up from the hotel was arranged for 9.30pm which meant we could get dinner before leaving for the airport. After we'd eaten and were leaving the dining area we were taken aside and informed that our meals would be 20 Euros each. We pointed out that we had paid for half board but it seems that although we didn't get to eat the first night thriough late arrival, we did actually pay for it! Unfortunately, there is nothing in the Hotel welcome pack literature about this extra charge. Thomson never mentioned this to us when booking the holiday. No Thomson rep at the Hotel for the English to talk to so no help there, but there is one onsite for the Germans. If we'd known there was to be a charge for our final meals we would have most certainly gone into the town and eaten down by the seafront.

All in all, the Hotel is nicely laid out. Food is acceptable and the staff are trained to the highest standard. Loro Parque is nearby and is well worth the visit for the amazing dolphin and killer whale shows.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments about you stay in Riu Garoé Hotel.

I apologise the delay in answering your comments, I was on holidays.

Due to a misunderstanding has been erroneously billed the dinner.
I pray to contact with the hotel directly at the following address:direccion@hotelgaroe.com, to tell us your account number to transfer 40 €.
Please accept my apologies.

Thanks for you visit and please let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room and to have special attention with you.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This has to be the best standard hotel in Puerto de la Cruz.We arrived fairly late in the evening after a long journey and first impressions make all the difference.Ours was this hotel has some style.
We were greeted with a cool drink and checked in promptly with our luggage taken to our room immediately. The flowers which i ordered for my wife for our wedding anniversary were in the room and looked fabulous.As we arrived after evening meal the even laid on a supper of cheese and parma ham with crusty bread.Nice touch.

The room was huge and overlooked the sea.Beautifully tiled,big bed and good sized bathroom.
Well maintained,Big television,fridge and lots of storage room.

The hotel had a lovely airy feeling with tiled floors leading everywhere which kept the hotel cool.Reception area,bar,pool and gardens were impecable.We have never seen such cleanliness.
The staff were curteous and polite all the time no matter if it was at the bar or in the dining room.
Food was of a good standard,even though some of the choices were aimed at the German clientel.No matter there was always something to experiment with.
As the weather wasn't great whilst we were there.Mostly cloudy,breezy with rain in the air for our 10 night stay would have liked to see the indoor pool open.Thomson never advised us it would be closed.Its the first time ever we have never used a pool whilst on holiday.
This is the only negative i would have on our stay there and the management are doing a superb job on maintaining high standards.
We have been to Puerto many times and still love visiting the Loro Parque which gets better and better,the Botanical Gardens,Alberto's Bar and walking the entire length of the sea front.Its a little disappointing so much of the town looks a little tired and run down.I hope this is down to the recession which has hit Spain hard and not a taste of things to come.
Overall a fantastic hotel which i would recommend to anyone.Can't blame the hotel for the poor weather.Thats in gods hands!!.

Room Tip: Pool or mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our courteous and polite staff, impeccable hotel, good standard food or the best standard hotel in Puerto de La Cruz. These are great comments which help us growing and providing our customers great vacations.
We are satisfied to know that you have spent a wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.
Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Sincerely,

Cándido L. Figueroa

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have returned one week ago from the hotel and our experience was positive in every way. Lovely spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable bedroom overlooking what I called the Sunken Garden, a lovely space. Lovely grounds not big but never feeling crowded and a beautiful pool though a little too cold for me to get into though actually not bad once in the water. Plenty of sunbeds and cushions to be had no matter the time of day you arrived at the pool and always an attendant on hand to help. Also plenty of little corners to find a quiet spot to sit and a lovely library which was always very comfortable and quiet after dinner.

Now the food - well, it was really special and just about the best we have experienced in a four star hotel and always a pleasure to look forward to when going down to the dining room and the staff were very hardworking and helpful at breakfast and dinner and I did notice management checking in the dining room and the food all the time.

All of the staff were friendly and seemed happy at their work and the reception staff with whom you obviously have the most contact could not have been more helpful in any way they could and they were always prepared to go above and beyond the call. The free bus to town was a great help and always ran on time.

Don't be put off by someone saying the area in which the hotel was situated was not nice, this just is not the case at all and much nicer than probably anywhere you might choose to stay in the south.(True there is a bit of a rubbish tip near but you barely notice it and is no problem and outwith the hotel's control). Botanical gardens are a few minutes walk and well worth a visit and although Puerto Del La Cruz is pretty average a town, take the bus to Santa Cruz and visit the beautiful concert hall and the Palmetum and El Corte Engles store, though the shopping is not all that great for the capital of the island. La Oratavo is another place to visit by bus or even taxi and is really nice for a wander through and more like a place for the islanders and not so much the tourist and the views are lovely.

True that guests were mostly the Germans, not a lot of Brits, but never saw any problems and everyone was civil, polite helpful and friendly, I always felt that all of the guests got on well and the ages I would say were reasonably well mixed perhaps leaning to the older guests but not in any way they you really noticed, there were a few families and even some babies and plenty of middle aged couples, I think it is the place to go if you want a more upmarket holiday without it costing the earth. Thank you Riu Garoe and all of your staff for making our 2 weeks enjoyable and a pleasant experience

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent Comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our very hardworking, friendly and helpful staff, special food and lovely, clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

A warm hug on behalf of all staff

Cándido L. Figueroa

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hotel needs to be in Madeira not Tenerife with the down market image that the island has.

Location- You have to travel 90 mins from airport - very tiring. Puerto de la Cruz is a dump, like Blackpool. The building opposite what looks like an awful disrepair re-possessed hotel complex (Google Earth), an eyesore as is the adjoining land to Garoe-seen better managed landfill in UK!! So to get peace & quite the hotel locates itself in this run down area.

Pros- A first class hotel with very visable management doing the rounds. Clientele is 90%% German who don't do queuing, you end up doing the Boston Two Step with a Herman or a Greta whilst perusing the buffet area. Target market are discerning >50/60 year olds who know how to behave themselves. I would say leaning to the middle class guest. The hotel realises that Brits are not looked after whatsoever by Thomson reps and consequently organise welcome stuff themselves which they're not obliged to do. This alone shows the calibre of professionalism you get from the management team at Garoe and of course the hotel staff. I agree with all the other comments on quality of care made by others and say that both guests and staff make the holiday at Garoe a peacfull and pleasant

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent Comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our first class hotel with very visible management and professional team management. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We are from New York City USA and thought this would be an unusual trip. It was! There are very few Americans that come here. It is a long trip to get here but worth it. This hotel is one of the reasons to be in the North (We also stayed in the South). It is a beautiful very Spanish hotel. The manager accopmodated us in a beautiful room overlooking the pool. The manager should be complimented for what he has done here. The food (only breakfast) was quite good.
If you want to explore the North of the island you really need a car. We did travel into town but it took some work to park. There are restaurants near the hotel and delicious ones in town. Lots to see.
My fellow Americans need to see this place. It is a little piece of Spain on a fabulous island.
I wish I was there now.

Room Tip: Pool views were great (and quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments about our beautiful and Spanish Hotel. These are great comments which help us to continue working at the same quality line.
It is pleasure for us to know that guests who travel from EE.UU love our fabulous island and our little hotel.

Let us know in advance to offer you a beautiful room in your next visit

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

ROOMS are perfect with extras such as Bath robes, kettle/hot drinks, fresh flowers and English TV if you want it, BBC1, ITV1 etc. Rooms are perfectly maintained and cleaned in an as new condition.

RESTAURANT Although the hotel recommends smart dress for dinner, it is a relaxed policy (no shorts), most guests opt for smart casual. Allocated tables for evenings so no waiting for a table. Food is superb and great local wine. Absolutely nothing to fault. Very fresh buffet with plenty of "cook to order" fish and meat. Decent Vegetarian selection. Breakfast buffet is vast and superb, excellent coffee, but avoid fruit juices they are sadly tasteless.

GUEST AREAS are very well maintained with a good sheltered (warm) pool, plenty of sunbeds and quiet garden areas to relax. Nice terrace bar, reading room and lobby to sit and people watch.

Overall very good value and a good choice if you like to retire by midnight, get up early to explore the island or chill by the pool all day. If you want to party all night with late bars and sleep until midday stay elsewhere, but if you want to relax enjoy great food, good wine and return home feeling chilled stay here. Most guests are at breakfast by 08:15 so expect some banging of doors and chatting in the hallways. Mildly annoying if you want to sleep later!

Room Tip: Ask for top (3rd) floor over looking the front of the hotel these will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent Comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our well maintained and cleaned rooms and superb food and great local wines. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Garoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Garoe

Address: Doctor Celestino Gonzalez Padron 3 | Puerto de la Cruz- Tenerife, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Garoe 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the La Paz district in Puerto de la Cruz * 4-story building * 300 m from the Botanical Garden * 1 km from the beach and the "Lago Martianez" salt water pools * 1.5 Km from the center of Puerto de la Cruz * Complimentary shuttle service to the center (weekdays and Saturdays until noon. Not available on public holidays) * 600 m from various shops * 110/28 km from the airports to the south/north * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Garoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Garoe Hotel
Hotel Riu Garoe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Garoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.