We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Garoe fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Garoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Garoe to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Garoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doctor Celestino Gonzalez Padron 3 | Puerto de la Cruz- Tenerife, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
wigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Riu Garoe fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Riu Garoe in the La Paz district of Puerto De La Cruz in the North of Tenerife. This is not our first visit to this marvellous relaxing Hotel and we were delighted to see the new décor in the public areas. Many of the staff are the same as the ones 8 years ago making for a homely feel. Plenty choice at breakfast and dinner. Plenty activities - mini golf, tennis not forgetting the lovely pool where we had no problem getting a sun longer. Cocktails happy hour starts 1730. Choice of dinner times, we chose 2015 hours. My only disappointment was that the table we were given for our 7 evening meals was very close to the two next to us and although we had some lovely neighbours I felt a little uncomfortable with this closeness. Not all tables are so close and I really should have asked for a different table. Would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you so much for the excellent and constructive comments about Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly and helpful staff and also for the good comments about our large amount of choice at the buffet. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers great vacations with us.
Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    98
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
76
220
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed early June.
with a return night flight we contacted the hotel to keep the room on but received an e-mail saying it was not possible, checked mid holiday and got same response but that was Ok as it appeared most departing guests had not been able to keep their rooms on ( you know the ones, all dressed up when it 20+ degrees).
On the day of departure we sat around the pool until 17:00 ish and then asked at reception which room we could use for a shower. They sent us to the indoor pool locker rooms and supplied us with beach towel! not nice white ones.

For the evening meal you are allocated a table on the first night and this is yours for the holiday.
I did not like the 2 sittings for the evening meal, they serve all guests during the evening so why not let them choose when they want to dine. I think the times of the 2 sittings were 18:00 and 20:00.
The food was plentiful, well presented and well cooked but I never had what I would call a complete meal for example one night I wanted a simple tomato, onion and pepper salad and I was unable to do this because like most nights the salads on offer where the coleslaw type, mayo on everything.
I wanted an omelette for breakfast and the poor cook was trying to do fried eggs, bacon , sausage and boil eggs. The same of an evening trying to cook fresh meat and fist and then dash over to the roast meat counter to carve the roast joint, hence queues at both her stations.

Requested a room with afternoon / evening sun, the room was in a corner and I did not see the sun on the balcony once.

It's not all bad, liked the location it is about 7 min walk to Botanical gardens, spotlessly clean, very nice staff, night reception guy was very helpful. Happy hour is 17:30 to 18:30 and entertainment about 20:00. Very nice pool and gardens. The hotel was quiet and peaceful.

Yes I would go again but only B+B if that was possible, PDLC has too many good places to eat for me to be restricted to a set meal time and food I was not happy with.

Keith

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for the constructive comments about the hotel Riu Garoé

I would like to tell you that the Riu Garoé hotel have a great staff and also works with great skill, if we make any mistake we always try to correct it immediately.

Thank you also for the positive comments. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers a good time with us.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

A warm hug on behalf of all staff

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from holiday at the riu Garoe staying 9/6 - 20/6/2013 for 11 nights and have had the most relaxing holiday ever. Being in our late 40,s both working full time we where both due a long awaited break and chose the Garoe after reading reviews on this site well let me tell you they are true we could not fault the hotel the food or the excellent staff, we are riu class members and have stayed with riu as far away as the Caribbean and I have to say Candido and his team do a great job well done to you all we will be seeing you again. PS thanks to Marcos who made my wife's cocktails most nights she enjoyed them all . Kind Regards Gary and Joanne. From England.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent Comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly staff, good service and excellent rooms. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers the best of us. We are satisfied to know that you had a wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

A warm hug on behalf of all staff

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just back stopped between 9th & 16th June 2013.
Location: great location with great views, shuttle bus takes you into town or can walk down hill. We had sea view room, wow.
Hotel: so clean, never saw any mess, better than expected rooms great, swimming pool gardens really great, plenty of sun beds. very relaxing.
Staff: could not fault them, all friendly and helpful
Food/drink: food is great plenty of choice and each day different themes.happy hour 1730-1830 really nice cocktails. (Prices from €6) mini bar in room. Found drink prices really cheap in town bottle of cava €1.60 a bottle, litre of beer €1. Plenty of shops/restaurants in area.
Town: Molly malones great night out, loads of local shops selling variety of stuff. Loro parque (parrotpark) well worth a visit, killer whale and dolphin shows cross between sea world Florida and bush gardens. (€33 per person).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly and helpful staff. Thanks also for the good comments about our large amount of choice at the buffet. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own.
We are glad to know that you had a wonderfull and relaxing holydays in our hotel.
Thanks for recommending the hotel Riu Garoé and please let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited this hotel for a week in May after lots of careful research & based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews. It is located in the north of the island about 1hr 15mins drive from the airport. We rented a car from Autoreisen (fantastic service & price).

On the first day of our stay it was cloudy, we were worried having heard about the weather in the north that it would continue to be cloudy however we shouldn't have worried as every day after it was hot, bright blue & sunny skies! The hotel itself has recently been refurbished, it is clean, modern & has great facilities. Our room was fantastic, on the top floor with its own balcony and sun-lounger overlooking the pool. I am pleased to have been overlooking the pool as the balcony got the sun all day.

The pool area was so peaceful, it was fantastic. There was a small pool bar offering tasty food and drinks, I did think it would have been nice for a pool bar service to be present (we had to go up to the bar to order) like they have in the Riu Tres Islas Fuerteventura. Happy hour 5:30 - 6:30 Xavier and his wonderful Mojitos went down nicely followed by some table tennis and mini golf.

Dinner was fantastic, plentiful and great quality. The food varied each night, with fresh pasta and choice of sauces, pizza, salad bar, fresh meat cooking station, paella, chicken supreme etc. Also lots of desserts, make your own ice cream sundaes too!

It was my first half board experience and Riu Garoe definitely set the standard. If you didn't manage to finish your wine then they would look after it until the following night and have it on chill ready for you.

Breakfast was also lovely, with Cava on Sundays very nice! The sausages could have been nicer however I think they were catering for the Germans. Good location with a small shop just up the road and a couple of supermarkets approx 15mins walk.

The entertainment we felt was the only downside, however at times it was comical! Pablo and his one man band was terrible! It made the abba tribute band appear fairly entertaining in comparison. Cocktail prices were approx 6-7 euros and similar for a gin and tonic although very strong measures!

The mini bar was pretty reasonably prices 80 cents for a water, just under 2 euros for a beer and approx 3.50 for a cava. Although we bought from the local supermarket and the hotel didnt mind us using the fridge for our own drinks. There were tea and coffee facilities although we couldnt make tea as only coffee cream was provided yuk with tea!

Puerto De La Cruz is a fairly nice area, we drove down into the town a couple of times, there are plenty of restaurants and bars however the hotel was so lovely we felt no need to eat out (which is a first for me!).

We visited Siam Water Park on one of the days about 1hr 20mins drive, well worth the journey and a great day out.

All in all a fantastic stay, great value and we will definitely be back which is a first as I have never stayed in a hotel abroad more than once!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool get the sun all day. Whilst the views across the sea are nice the rooms will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our attractive Hotel. Thanks also for the good comments about our good and large amount of choice at the buffet. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers the best of us. Thank you so much.

If you are thinking to come back let us know in advance to offer you a beautiful room in your next visit,

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just returned from this lovely well managed hotel. The staff are great especially the bar staff. The food is of an extremely high standard and we were very impressed at the variety in the evenings. The room was very good with views of the sea and mountains. Have been to puerto de la cruz many times this was my first visit to the garoe. The weather for the first time was very cloudy so we walked all over and ate at 14 different restaurants at lunch time, but felt the garoe food was better in the evenings. Thank you for our stay at your lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly staff. Thanks also for the good comments about our great food. Comments like extremely high standard food, very impressed variety or lovely hotel, help us that customers like you choose the Garoé hotel for their holidays.

Thank you.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaydon-on-Tyne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in Puerto a few times. We love this part of the island because it is greener and quieter than the southern resorts. We have stayed in other hotels but I have to say that this is the best. Yes it is on the outskirts of the resort in the La Paz district and walking to and from the town is via a lot of steps or a steep hill. Having said that, the hotel does provide a courtesy bus to take you down and back and to be honest we enjoyed slowly meandering down and back. And there are nice walks around the hotel. It gave us a chance to walk off the wonderful food. And the food is excellent! When we have stayed half board self service before at other hotels, the food has become repetitive after a few days. Not so at the Garoe! There was always a variety of well cooked food, often cooked in front of you. If you are health conscious there is a wonderful selection of salads, fresh fruits and vegetables and fish. The breakfasts have everything you would expect and more. The hotel is built in a Moorish design with some rooms around an enclosed courtyard which kept it very cool. The gardens are beautiful and well kept and the pool area is peaceful, clean and very spacious. We had no trouble getting a sunbed when we were there. The public rooms are beautifully decorated and very spacious. There are little areas like the small terraces where you can sit and gaze out over the sea. Our room was on the 3rd floor 321 and looked over the pool with a view out to Teide. It had a very private little balcony which caught the sun in the late afternoon. The rooms are modern, clean with good bathrooms. They even supply us Brits with tea and coffee making facilities! The flat screen t.v. gets British channels too. Until now the hotel guests have been mainly German, but the Director is very keen to attract more British and is going out of his way to make the hotel more attractive to us. The best thing about the hotel is the staff. Every one of them is a credit to the hotel. The cleaners, gardeners, pool attendants, waiters and reception staff, all courteous and helpful. The bar staff are wonderful. Do take advantage of Happy Hour 5.30 to 6.30. Two drinks for the price of one. Thank you to Xavier for his wonderful cocktails, "made with love"! To Angeles and Maria who helped to make our stay so special. We did have some cloudy cool days during our stay but having a lovely hotel to come back to helped to overcome any disappointment. Hi to the British and German friends we made there. Hope to see you again at the Garoe. We shall certainly be back!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent description on Riu Garoé Hotel.

I will personally give thanks to Javier, Ángeles y María, for their good work.
Thanks also for the positive comments about our beautiful gardens, peaceful and clean pool area, very spacious and clean rooms and for our excellent service in the restaurants and bars. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays at our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.


Yours Sincerely,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Garoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Garoe

Address: Doctor Celestino Gonzalez Padron 3 | Puerto de la Cruz- Tenerife, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Garoe 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the La Paz district in Puerto de la Cruz * 4-story building * 300 m from the Botanical Garden * 1 km from the beach and the "Lago Martianez" salt water pools * 1.5 Km from the center of Puerto de la Cruz * Complimentary shuttle service to the center (weekdays and Saturdays until noon. Not available on public holidays) * 600 m from various shops * 110/28 km from the airports to the south/north * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Garoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Garoe Hotel
Hotel Riu Garoe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Garoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.