We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Garoe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Garoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Riu Garoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doctor Celestino Gonzalez Padron 3 | Puerto de la Cruz- Tenerife, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value, great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We've just returned from the Garoe where we have had a a fantstic holiday.The hotel is spotless due to the cleaners who work very hard but are never intrusive and you don't even notice them.
We arrived late at night due to a 6 hour delay at Gatwick courtesy of Thomas Cook Airlines and as previous reviewers stated,we were left with a meal in our room of cold meats,salad and rolls.
The TV has English channels which we didn't realise until around the 2/3 day so punch in 055 for BBC1,056 BBC 2,057 for ITV,058 Channel 5,no channel 4 and the 059 through to 062 I think for some additional English channels which I can't remember what they were.Nice to watch Corrie whilst away.Tea and coffee making facilities were left in our room which I don't know if all the guests get this or just the English.The tea and coffee were kept replenished by our maid Srta Teresa who kept the room to a very high standard and she was very helpful,a credit to her company.The balcony has a drying horse (for want of a better name) which is handy for washing drying a few bits and pieces although the weather can be changeable when we were there anyway.We had a hire car (From Cicar,good service as well) and we'd left some washing out when the heavens opened.My wife thought we would return to dripping wet clothes but Teresa had brought it in.
The food is plentiful and varied but we found it a tad monotonous to be eating there for the whole 2 weeks so we ate out a few times which broke it up a little.I had a half carafe of house wine every time we did eat there,good value at 6 euros a time.
Happy hour is 17-30 to 18-30 where you get 2 drinks for the price of one.The bar prices are reasonable,it was nice to stay in a good hotel and not pay through the nose for drinks.The following is a few random prices,large beer 3-60,gin 4-40,tonic 2-15,Drambuie 5,Baileys 5,glass of red wine 2.Some of those may sound a little expensive but they aren't,the bottle is brought to your table and poured into the glass at the table (you get a good measure),I found it entertaining trying to influence the waitresses to give a little more.I had a couple of Drambuies one night which should have been no problem but I knew about it the next morning.
Internet access is available on the second floor (first floor really,could never understand how anyone can call the ground floor the first floor but the Spanish aren't the only ones),1 euro for 15 minutes.
Reception?If you need anything,go see one of the 2 blondish girls and they'll sort it for you.From booking a taxi to finding a restaurant location,again nice people,a credit to their company,nothing too much trouble for them.
For tax free shopping don't miss El Corte Ingles in Santa Cruz,its on Avenida Tres de Mayo,the girls on reception found me the address on the internet.About 8 floors of department store,go to customer services on the 6th floor with driving licence or passprot for an additional 10% discount card.
Ha,the germans.The place is full of them so if you can't handle em,don't go here.I personally don't mind them as I do like to keep myself to myself when away,one of the reasons I chose the hotel in the first place.
Pool? beds always available when we visited.
Star rating?It isn't a 5 star hotel as someone previously said,it is a top quality 4 star hotel.Please try and understand the word quality as it isn't about something being a better standard than another it's about giving the customer what he wants and this hotel delivered for me.

Room Tip: Email Nina at reception prior to departure.We wanted a pool view which we just about got.Some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent description on Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly and helpful staff. Thanks also for the good comments about our cleaning service and lovely room. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. Thank you for express in your last comments that the Hotel Riu Garoé is a four star hotel excellence which satisfy the guests with a good service and always trying to fulfil all wishes

We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit let us know to offer you a beautiful room.

A warm hug on behalf of all staff

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    86
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
62
186
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for peace and quiet and at the same time looking for a central location.

We walked into Puerto nearly every evening and when we too tired to walk back again (plenty of steps) we took a taxi which only costs €5,-.

The hotel has received a make-over. The reception area, lounge and pool and terraces have been tastefully redone. There are also new pool loungers and umbrellas.

We did not book half board and it is also not really worth it because you have such a large choice of restaurants within walking distance and it is also not more expensive. We did not like the idea of choosing between 2 meal times and we are also not the buffet eaters. Nonetheless we did eat at the buffet one evening. Nothing spectacular like most good buffets there is a large choice of salads, vegetables, meat, fish, desserts, etc.

Rooms are lovely and large and all rooms have balconies. Just the beds are a bit too hard. Unfortunately our room was at the beginning of the 1st floor and this was pretty noisy as everyone going to the restaurant and reception pass here and of couse when people check out (especially in the middle of the night) the rolling of the suitcases can nerve. On top of that our balcony faced the deliveries side and you get woken up when the laundry or other goods get delivered early in the morning.

The whole complex is extremely clean and tidy which makes it very appealing. Not sticky tables or chairs.

Super manager who knows how to solve problems! On our first day, the terrace for breakfast was closed (although nice and warm weather). Most guests really got upset and the waiters were very unfriendly. We and a number of guests complained and the next day the terrace was open again, waiters were friendly and as an apology we received a bottle of bubbly on our room! Really lovely gesture.

Different entertainment every evening which we found very refreshing to most hotels.

This is the type of hotel that makes you feel comfortable the moment you arrive even although it is a bit big. And, surprisingly no matter what time you go to the pool there are always enough loungers available.

Room Tip: Choose a room on an upper level and avoid pool view rooms as you have no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel in his recent stay.

As director of this hotel I feel very satisfied about by your fabulous comments regarding our hotel. Thank you very much for being perceived our organization and have received great interest to satisfy our customers. Comments like good food, spotlessly clean or exceptional staff, we are very pleased to continue working on the same quality line.

Please, your next visit let us know to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. We are staying half board and the food is the best we have had for half-board anywhere, its that good. The hotel is also spotlessly clean and the pool area very relaxing which makes a treat compared to other resorts in Tenerife where you here shouted, ´Kylie!´`or ´Jade!´ or ´Jordon!´every two minutes. In fact the hotel is 99% middle class German and they are a pleasure to be with and create a lovely relaxing atmosphere.

If you stay here do go into Puerto De La Cruz. Its lovely with a great sea front, shops and cafe´s. And use the lido for a change from the hotel pool.

Tips: Half board does not include drinks with your meal. Make the most of happy hour between 5.30 - 6.30. Wife and I are working our way through the cocktails before dinner! Try to get a room on floors 2&3, or on level 1 rooms over looking the pool.

The only negative I can find is that wifi is non existant even though I checked with the hotel before booking. They offer it in certain rooms but it doesant happen. In fact, we moved rooms to a room that had it, but were told there has been a problem for two weeks! In fact, in the reception area if you are lucky you can get it, but then it cuts out! You will share this experience with other guest who are equally frustrated! This is very disapointing! I´m writing this from a paid for land line on level 2.

The hotel is almost perfect. Get wifi sorted and you´ll get me back tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our perfect and lovely Hotel. Thanks also for the good comments about our large amount of choice at the buffet. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. For next time, if you want a softer mattress, simply comment on the reception and then we will do our best for you.

Let us Know about your next visit let us know to offer you a beautiful room.

A warm hug on behalf of all staff

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great hotel, fantastic staff, super location, wonderful food. The champagne breakfast on Sundays is lovely! A brilliant hotel for a relaxing break. Lots to do with free mini golf, tennis and a selection of games (even a bridge club!) Twenty minute walk into town (steep walk back up) but there is a free shuttle bus from the hotel door. Have now been twice and have just booked our third. We love it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the main corridor on the reception level can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our great hotel, fantastic staff, super location and wonderful food. Thanks also for the good comments about the activities that clients can practice in our Hotel. These are great comments which help us to continue to grow up. We are satisfied to know that you have spent a wonderful and relaxing holydays at our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Sincerely,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our third trip to the Garoe and we have really enjoyed every trip, to the extent that it has become the highlight of our holiday year and something we know we can rely on.
We weren't aware that the hotel had been completely renovated to the extent that it has, but were delighted to find that everything was done in a very professional and tasteful manner, as far as we are concerned the hotel is perfect, both the rooms, and the public areas.
There are a few new faces on the staff, as well as plenty of (I won't say old), but people we have known and seen previously. The service was excellent, the atmosphere happy, in fact nothing has changed at all with every-one looking to be helpful in every department.
Lastly the food. great choice, well cooked, and thoroughly enjoyable. If you can't find things you like here, you won't find it any-where.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for your third visit and many thanks also for the positive comments about our excellent service, good food and lovely atmosphere. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own.
We are satisfied to know that you have spent a wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel. Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester U.K
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Elaine and I arrived at nine in the evening and were immediately taken to the dining room for dinner.The wonderful reception staff led by Nina took care of all our needs.
We had stayed here before in January and understood that the Hotel was to close for 6 weeks
for refurbishment.The whole hotel which looked good before now looks fantastic. The reception area and the bar have been given a sparkling makeover and the place is stylish ,modern and above all welcoming.
The food in the dining room is something to look forward to and the service immaculate. At breakfast you are shown to your table and as soon as you have sat down you are greeted by
a welcoming smile and a pot of coffee.There is a huge selection and they cater for every taste.On Sunday you can start the day with a glass of champagne .The thing we both liked was you had a choice of early 6.30 or later 8.30 dinner and your table is reserved for the week.
No hunting around for somewhere to sit.
The pool area is wonderful with lots of new sunbeds and beach towels and robes available.
We have stayed at many Hotels around the world and recently came back from the Hotel Paradisus in Cuba which was Royal service.I can honestly say that as wonderful as it was The Hotel Rui Garoe was as good.
Finally I would like to say that what elevates this hotel above what I have detailed is the wonderful,professional service from the manager to the cleaning staff .
We have already booked again and just hope the weather is as beautiful as our last two visits.

Room Tip: Try and get a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly and helpful staff. I personally give your congratulations to the housekeeping department. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own.
We are satisfied to know that you have spent a wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.
Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Sincerely,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from Rue Garoe we had a wonderful holiday very relaxing hotel.Everything was first class food excellent staff very friendly bedrooms roomy very clean.Complementry tea coffee tray for English guests in bedroom very welcome.The gardens are beautiful.

Room Tip: We had room 17 which faces the sea looking north.There was no sun into the room all day keeping it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our excellent staff. Thanks also for the good comments about our first class food. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. For all customers, especially for the British who have a habit of taking tea in the evenings, we offer the service station facilities in the room.

Let us Know about your next visit let us know to offer you a beautiful room.

A warm hug on behalf of all staff

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Garoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Garoe

Also Known As:
Riu Garoe Hotel
Hotel Riu Garoe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz
Address: Doctor Celestino Gonzalez Padron 3 | Puerto de la Cruz- Tenerife, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Garoe 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the La Paz district in Puerto de la Cruz * 4-story building * 300 m from the Botanical Garden * 1 km from the beach and the "Lago Martianez" salt water pools * 1.5 km from the center of Puerto de la Cruz * Complimentary shuttle service to the center (weekdays and Saturdays until noon. Not available on public holidays) * 600 m from various shops * 110/28 km from the airports to the south/north * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Garoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Garoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.