We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden to your Saves list
diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb El Durazno s/n, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Playacanaria Spa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Redcar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Playacanaria for a week in June and found it to be a very nice hotel.
People are right in saying it is not 4*, more 3* but for the amount we paid this was reasonable.
The food was good and varied, the pool area was excellent and there were small areas for the kids to play in also. The all inclusive selection at the bar was fantastic for the price and included many branded spirits. The room was a bit of a disappointment and was very cramped, we were all in one double room (3 adults and one child). It was kept clean and tidy though so we can live with this. The hotel caters for a lot of Spanish families so the food and entertainment are geared towards them, again this is understandable but some may not like it.
The hotel is a little out of town but a taxi is less than 5 euros so no big deal.
We would recommend this hotel to families and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    211
    101
    49
    43
See reviews for
326
134
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

ACCESS
100 euro in taxi from south airport
5 Euro taxi from town centre up a step hill...not a problem to walk but steepness makes it not an enjoyable walk.
Courtesy bus hourly but not saturday afternoon or sunday.
FACILITIES
Well kept quiet pool with bar.
Pool not heated but jacuzzi in pool is.
Gym is practically non existent-a few scraps of negligble equipment. ...for real gym heat to bahia playa oppoiste playa jardin.
Tennis court available with rackets to hire
did not use indoor spa.
FOOD
Excellent omlettes/crepe every morning.
Half board dinner nice enough-crepe and dessert very good.
STAFF
Polite and helpful.
ROOM
Room will not be cleaned unless you hang the sign on door.
BEDS comfortable.
BATHROOM more like 2 3 star.
VIEW not good unless you pay for pool view.
Nice sun deck terrace to sit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday. We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Mª Carmen Díaz
Gerente Playacanaria Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is located up a hill and about 20 minute walk to the sea. Most of the staff around the the hotel are friendly except for on of the reception managers. He would be at home in faulty Towers! You have to pay extra for fridge in your room, for the safe ( !) and for the spa/ gym. The gym should not be advertised -it is a cupboard with 3 broken machines.
The pool area is excellent -large & open with a big blue pool.
The rooms are basic but clean.
We stayed half board and the food was ok. Quite a good selection.
The avaerage age of guest was 60-80yrs old.
This is a 3 star hotel and the price should reflect that but does not.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool have the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments. We will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Mª Carmen Díaz
Gerente Playacanaria Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed with our 4-month-old in Jan 13 and found it just ok-not the four stars you would expect in some other countries possibly. The positive side is the pool area, which is perfect and the staff (apart from a few useless men at the reception)are most helpful and kind. The room was very dated and basic. The need to pay extra for fridge to keep babymilk in was very annoying, as was the extra charge for the spa. Playa C proudly states that it has a gym, but this could not be further from the truth! I went in once to find what was a tiny room with 3 machines, which did not work at all. We stayed on halfboard basis and the food was ok-quite a bit to choose from, but not great quality food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in the Playacanaria when the snow arrived from 18th January 2013. The hotel is OK, a little dated. We were on B&B basis, the breakfasts were fabulous, lots of choice. The pool was lovely, especially when the sun shone. Bit disappointed that there were lots of extras that you had to pay for, eg the safe (which had a key) was 4 euros per day, the spa with indoor pool was 15 euros (less 25% for residents) per day. Even the fridge was extra. On the plus side the room was big, had a lovely balcony, although not a great view. I would class this a 3 star rather than 4 star. Also the hotel is at the top of the hill in Puerto de la Cruz, so be prepared for lots of hills. The area is very beautiful, and there are many great restaurants to eat out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the whole staff of the Hotel Spa Playacanria and myself, I would like to say first of all thank you for your comments. We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked, we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

I wuld like on the next time if you have questions during your stay contact me personally. We
will be pleased to help an assist you.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Mª Carmen Díaz
Gerente Playacanaria Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very good hotel and Puerto in my opinion is the best resort in Tenerife. Opt for pool facing room (faces mt. teide) if you like a decent view - we were charged 10 euros per day extra for this but worth it. Quiet, clean hotel with good food and v. helpful staff. Had a great 8 days here over christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Mª Carmen Díaz
Gerente Playacanaria Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I would like to say that I have been 8 days at this hotel with my family and we were so happy with the time that we've been here, everything was fine you have plenty options to eat and drink, food was fantastic, my girls enjoy a lot the swimming pool and the entertainment at nights, the thing maybe is to get entertainment for adults too, although we enjoyed the shows, the distance to the town center is not far but you have to take a car to go there, the beach I didn't like it in this area, the nice beaches you have to go to the south of the island is 1 hour far from the hotel, I will come back to this hotel if I come back to Tenerife, thanks to everyone of the staff in Playacanaria, all of them were very kind, helpful and I want to say thank you to all of them. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Playacanaria Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden

Address: Urb El Durazno s/n, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Playacanaria Spa Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacanaria Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Playacanaria
Diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage diverhotel Tenerife Spa&Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.