We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Casablanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Casablanca to your Saves list
Apartamentos Casablanca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Calzada Martianez 4, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic two weeks and can't believe how different our experience was compared to some of the other recent reviews! Just goes to show how your holiday can be made (or ruined) by those who are sharing their time with you. We found the apartments to be extremely clean at all times and even the bowling green was hoovered every day!! Pool towels can be hired (15 euros deposit) and changed every other day. Great to save on kgs if you have limited luggage allowance. The cleaners were up and around early in the morning but they never disturbed us and I'm not a heavy sleeper. There was noise - but isn't that to be expected??? Yes you can hear footsteps, as I'm sure others below us could hear us, but it wasn't a problem. One thing that we did comment on was the lack of noise - no music around the poolside, no music in the bar area in the daytime and the evening entertainment stopped dead at 11.30 precisely. No more drinks were served after midnight and people did sit on their balconies but it was peaceful. The pool area was busy a couple of times but there were always sunbeds available. No-one was by the pool before 8.30 and only a few times did we see towels reserving beds, usually by a Spanish guy who would then disappear until 4pm. There were children in the pool, making a noise funnily enough, but isn't that called enjoying themselves? If you want to chill out and not share the pool then book a villa or an adults only hotel! The pool had a lifeguard whose main aim seemed to be stopping everyone's fun however. Very strict rules on no diving, no running and jumping in, no balls, no inflatables, no diving sticks to be thrown etc. etc. Glad our two daughters are no longer interested in those things as their fun would have been stopped. We had some very hot days with lots of sunshine and a couple of cloudy days, but don't be caught out by the cloud - you still need suncream. The resort of Puerto de la Cruz is very nice with lots of hidden gems up side streets and is not the place to stay if you want English breakfasts, Sunday roasts and Boddingtons. Caters for the Spanish and Germans and was perfect for us. You do get mither from the street sellers but think we Brits find it harder to be rude to them. A polite 'no' usually worked. The resort is up a hill but it's not as bad as we expected and we've had worse. Try De Cano's Italian, just off the main pedestrian street near the square, where the pizzas are enough for lunch and dinner - huge!!

All in all a great place to stay if you don't want a typically British resort. Well done to the staff at the apartments. We have definitely found somewhere we would go back to. Don't be put off by the other reviews! As was mentioned at the start - one thing you can't predict is who you will be holidaying with and whether their behaviour is spoiling your holiday. Not once did we see any drunken Brits or fighting kids and the other parents were as responsible as I hope we were.

Room Tip: Did hear that rooms on the road were noisy. Ask if A/C available - none in our room and got quite st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJHM13, Gerente at Apartamentos Casablanca, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for sahring your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback not only give us satifacction but encourages us to continue offering our guest the best service we can.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    231
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
277
405
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff at reception. Our rooms were very clean and tidy as was the pool area. Played a couple of games of bowls -cheap to hire. Food and drink very good value for money! Going back at the beginning of September :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJHM13, Gerente at Apartamentos Casablanca, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to know that you had enjoy your holidays and had a very pleasent stay among us. We hope to have the oportunity to welcome you again in Apartamentos Casablanca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The complex and apartments are all very clean, the apartments are very spacious, extremely well equipped, spotless, fabulous large balcony, beautiful bathroom, fresh towels and bedding. The staff are really friendly, helpful, good spoken english. The supermarket next to the complex sells all essentials (more costly than the main supermarkets but worth the extra for basics).

The complex sadly is one large accoustic nightmare - every noise, from screaming kids, loud spanish (tourists and cleaners), evening entertainment, drunk brits and poorly behaved brits travels around the complex which is shaped like a bowl. The apartments have no sound proofing, add in the tiled floors, corridors and tiled stairs, to make for a holiday of broken disturbed sleep (even with ear plugs), for some unknown reason, holiday makers up, down, side to side of our apartment needed to walk about on tiled flooring in heeled shoes, move furniture accross the floors, allow screaming kids to fight (granted two spanish families above us) and have extremely loud conversation after returning from evening entertainment - so from 11.30 pm onwards, all is not lost, the entire complex seemed to call it a night at around 2am ish!! and then start again at around 7am ish (cleaners, pool staff and families with screaming kids).

The pool area is small, the pool can become crowded, and you will be sharing your relaxing pool time with everyone elses children, so chilling out is not a possibility. However, reserving the early morning sunbeds is not permitted at all, this was adhered to all the time, apart from the one classic Brit, who proceeded to set up a camp of 5 sunbeds and 3 umbrellas at 7.30 am and then disappear, he returned with family at about 10.30 scratching his head, confused as to where his rightful camp had gone, to be told by the pool guy that the other staff had popped his camp into reception!!

I was not aware when booking this holiday that Puerto de la Cruz is somewhat famous for its mountain cloud, so although very hot with lots of sunshine, do expect days of cloud and overcast skies.

A walk down the steep roadside or 139 steps brings you to the main resort, plenty of good shops and restaurants, Cafe de Paris was fantastic, particularly if you wish to dine without sharing you space with men in vests!!

All in all a nice complex but I would not return due to the noise and other peoples kids (yes, I have done the kid bit, but mine were never permitted to be a nuisance to other people).

Room Tip: request an apartment on the very top floor (7th) if you wish not to be disturbed by those above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJHM13, Gerente at Apartamentos Casablanca, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thanks for your comments help us to improve.
I am sorry that your stay was not of your entire satisfaction, but I would have liked to have the opportunity of change the alocation of your apartment and see if this improve your rest.
I would like you could give us the opportunity to see you among us again, please if you decided to return I would very please to meet would be delighted you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed at Casablanca apts for one week at the end of July. Would never stay here again as far too noisy. Didn't get a decent night's sleep even with earplugs !
Everything else ok.
Ate at the Cafe De Paris every evening as food good, plenty of room around the tables outside. A bit pricey but worth it not to have to share my space with fat people not willing to put a proper shirt on for dinner (this is useful information for some people).
Loro Parque good. We took the free transport (mock-up train) from town which was both interesting and amusing. Not sure how I feel about captive Killer Whales and Dolphins who's sole purpose is to perform for us Humans. The animals seemed genuinely cared for by expert staff though.

Room Tip: If you enjoy peace and quiet at night you should consider staying elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJHM13, Gerente at Apartamentos Casablanca, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thanks for your comments help us to improve. I am sorry that your stay was not to your entire satisfaction, but I would liked to have had the opportunity of change of location of his apartment and see if this improve your rest. As you can see the vast majority of our clients so they express.
If you decide to come again i would like to meet you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My family and I just got back from two weeks at Casablanca. We arrived at 3am and were checked in and our bags brought to our room. As many people have mentioned, this place is spotless. We had a one bed room which was adequate for the four of us as the kids (8 and 10 years) slept on the pull out in the living room. The apartments are well equipped and spacious enough. There is a proper dining table which is nice. We were overlooking the courtyard so there can be quite an echo, especially early morning when the cleaners are busying about. The entertainment goes on until midnight some nights so if you are trying to get an early night and you are near, it can keep you up. These apartments are not soundproofed that well so you can hear quite a bit around you but was quiet most of the time. The pool area is quite small but we never had trouble getting sun beds. The pool itself can get a little crowded due to its size. There are plenty of pool tables, (1 Euro per play) and there is a games room with a few play stations which are free to use. There are activities available such as darts, bowls, table tennis etc. The bar has a good selection of drinks and bar food. We found the food pretty good and very reasonable. The entertainment is OK, mostly singers but we did have a magician, flamenco dancers....You can get free wi-fi in the lobby area or in your room for a small fee. They also have internet pc's downstairs which are 1 euro per 10 minutes.

As far as the area is concerned, its quite nice. The apartments are on a hill, there are steps down to the town which could be a task if your not too fit or you can walk on the path beside the road. I would recommend getting a taxi back if you do alot of shopping as its tough carting that up a hill. Taxi's are cheap. About 3 euros within the town. The seafront is nice but like most tourist places, you will be offered everything every 10 meters, (hair braiding, restaurants, watches etc...) There are some nice restaurants around, some of the ones with the nice views are tourist traps as the food is mediocre...Look for some of the places down the side streets, great little tapas bars. The lido is a good day out. Very cheap, get there early to get a sun bed. the water is filtered sea water, it can be a bit chilly at first but you soon get used to it.

If you are interested in doing the parks, we did Siam waterpark and Loro Parque, you can buy a twin ticket. Be careful if you take your own food, Loro parque is not a problem but Siam checks bags and does not allow pic nics. the food/drink is quite pricey but tolerable.

All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Brilliant place! The entire apartment complex looks sparkly clean and superbly maintained, and our apartment and balcony were spacious and comfortable. The ladies at reception are all very friendly and welcoming.

Our kitchen was fully equipped (microwave, oven, even a juicer) so we usually ate on our balcony. There's a bar too, that sells you water and fresh bread if you don't want to carry it up the hill. (It's on a hill from the center of town and the beach - if you're moderately fit, it's perfectly fine, but you will think twice about climbing it unnecessarily). There are several good supermarkets at the base of the hill for everything else.
You can walk to Lago Martianez (large sea water swimming pools) in 5-10 minutes, which is also where the center of town with its restaurants and shops begins. Playa Jardín (the nicest beach) is a 20-30 minute walk away (or you can drive, there is free parking next to it).

The one thing I could do without (but also didn't mind too much) is the daily evening entertainment program - there are usually one or two live musicians that play/sing to playback background music. It ends at 11 so didn't get in the way of my beauty sleep, but personally I also would have enjoyed silence (or my own choice of music).

More things I enjoyed: For 20€/week, we got a place in the underground garage (parking otherwise would have been difficult) and for 9€, we got internet in our apartment for 2 weeks (which seems extremely affordable but still has good speed). Otherwise, there is free Wifi in the reception area.

This is one of the best holiday apartments I've stayed at - would definitely return if I come to Tenerife again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor with a view of the ocean - so we got some nice sunsets. Lower floors prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was our second time to the Casablanca as it was in a good location and the self catering facilities are excellent. The maid service was regular and efficient, our only quip with the room was the previous occupants hair and crumbs on the living room floor, which proceeded to stay there most of our holiday, plus the floor was not mopped at all. We'd requested a top floor room this time as last year the noise from upstairs neighbours was very annoying, but unfortunately we'd been allocated a 2nd floor room (again). This time our bedroom overlooked the courtyard and the noise levels were just unbearable. We couldn't go to bed until evening entertainment had ended each night (midnight) and I was woken every single morning for two whole weeks by the maids/service staff shouting to each other. Because the apartment blocks are high and surround the courtyard, this acts as an accoustic to any level of noise. Screaming kids and loud Spanish neighbours all day and all night long, people scraping furniture across the marble floor at 6am(?!) Why?? Try to get a room overlooking the tennis courts if you can as it's much quieter. We stayed away from the restaurant as any food we saw on peoples plates looked deep fried, breaded with oven chips. A look at the menu revealed no fresh produce at all.
Puerto de la Cruz unfortunately is very cloudy so we lost quite a few sunbathing days due to the weather. The staff are fantastic, we didnt have a corkscrew in our room so a porter went out and purchased one within an hour - staff also very friendly. July is apparantly the 'quiet' season for tourism, so most restaurants, shops and snack bars were closed...alot of closing down sales in shops and alot of boarded up shops makes it slightly depressing walking around. We recommend a walk into La Paz or the Botanical Gardens on those cloudy days as it's not too hot. Puerto is a lovely resort especially when the sun's out and the Casablanca could be excellent (in the right room) but I wouldn't recommend going out of season.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Casablanca

Address: C/ Calzada Martianez 4, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Casablanca 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apartamentos Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Casablanca Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Casablanca Tenerife
Casablanca Apartments Tenerife
Apartamentos Casablanca Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Casablanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.