We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tigaiga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Tigaiga to your Saves list
Hotel Tigaiga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parque Taoro, 28, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here the week of the 19th of March on a walking holiday with New Experience Holidays. We had a fantastic week and one of the best aspects of it was coming back each day to the lovely Tigaiga! The whole place had a wonderful, relaxed and caring atmosphere. The our room - 107 - had a lovely view over the beautiful gardens and toward the Oratava valley and Tiede and we could see the sea down in Puerto. The balcony was a good size and the room very spacious and comfortable indeed. Food in this hotel will not disappoint. Breakfast offers a lmassive choice and dinners are an absolute treat with a mix of international dishes and Canarian specialities. I would make a special mention of the staff who go out of their way to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. They take care to know their guests and to make their stay special and we cannot speak highly enough of each and every one of them. This is definitely a place that we will return to. It was an absolute haven of peace and tranquility, set in lovely Taoro Park, with so much to recommend it. We would definitely recommend the lovely Tigaiga for a relaxing break!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your friendly and extensive feedback about your Tigaiga stay. We are delighted to read that you have been very satisfied with our services and staff attention! Looking forward to welcome you here again
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    26
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
108
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This very good hotel is managed by a German Family. It is located above the city. Walking down into town goes easily across many steps in a garden along waterfalls and ponds; very nice. But the way back up is not easy. You better take a taxi; cheap and easy.
The restaurant and the service are very good. The rooms are convenient and large.

Room Tip: The rooms with view on the Teide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your Tigaiga review. We are happy to hear such nice words about the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It sounds like gushing praise following a good holiday to say that the Hotel Tigaiga was the best hotel we had ever stayed in, yet it really was. Looking soberly back over many years, considering an extraordinary range of places, many of which had individual strengths or made a special appeal to our affection, none had the all round excellence of the Tigaiga.

On arrival, we were warmly welcomed and offered orange juice or sherry. Our luggage was whisked away and appeared in our room. Up there was plenty of space with chairs and a table inside and more on the balcony. The hanging space was generous and there were lots of drawers and shelves. If one had a taste for viewing oneself from every angle, one would not be disappointed by the provision of mirrors. On the wall, there was a gentle picture of a local village with hills. The bathroom was well appointed and there was room for everything and lots of towels. Everything worked efficiently and had been sensibly arranged. We looked with pleasure at a basket of fruit in the bedroom and fresh flowers in the bathroom. The general impression was of intelligent thoughtfulness in the way things were designed.

From the balcony, on one side we could look down to the sea and on the other up to the mountains.

The grounds were delightful, a botanical garden of attractive trees, flowering shrubs, cacti and lawn. Apart from the swimming pool, there were other outdoor, diversions: boule, table tennis, a few exercise machines, a path for barefooted sensations, and plenty of seats and loungers.

The hotel is on a hill and below is the town, a mixture of architecturally distressing and interestingly pleasant buildings. Beyond, out of sight, there is the harbour but from near the pool one can watch the Atlantic rollers breaking on the black beaches. Into the distance the rocky coast plunges in outcrops down to the sea. Inland, the snowy dome of Mount Teide coyly appears from behind cloud from time to time.

There was no disappointment in the eagerly awaited visit to the dining room. We had half-board. The evening meal was served table d’hôte but there was the addition of a buffet offering a generous variety of extras, including fresh vegetables and fruit as well as greedier temptations. One could dine in a thoroughly healthy way or be shamelessly self-indulgent. Food was imaginative, looked appealing and presented a range of culinary pleasures. We especially enjoyed the local red wines. There was no danger of leaving the dining room unsatisfied either in the evening or after the outstanding breakfast buffet. The staff were extremely pleasant: friendly, efficient and cheerful. They had been well trained and gave the impression that they were happy and enjoyed their work. In addition to Spanish, they coped in English and German.

There was some evening entertainment in one of the lounges but for no more than about an hour e.g. a saxophonist; a traditionally dressed trio singing accompanied by guitars; a modern take on flamenco with a drummer and two lithely energetic young women with Byzantine eyes.

The bed was extremely comfortable and the nights very quiet, except for the crowing of cockerels who seemed to have a lively night life and the ecstatically painful cries of peacocks.

We liked the position of the hotel, its height gave a sense of space but it was also next to a public park and there was access to the town down challenging flights of steps through water gardens. Cafés, shops and facilities of the town were within walking distance, as was the bus station from which one could visit villages and towns.

On the last night the head waiter had drawn with coloured powders on the tablecloth an oblong containing a representation of flowers found in the garden. There was the legend HASTA PRONTO. After breakfast our hands were shaken and, when we left, a member of the family saw us off most kindly. When I praised the hotel, she said, 'But we always try to do even better.' There was no complacency there but commitment and professionalism.

We like our home but there was sadness in leaving the Hotel Tigaiga, where we had thoroughly relaxed, eaten well, and felt happy and welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your Tigaiga review! We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the accommodation, restaurant, gardens and our team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
MUCHAS GRACIAS
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent a week (bed and breakfast) at the Tigaiga hotel in room 322 — spacious and comfortable with a view of the gardens, park and wider landscape. From a short distance away the crowing of a cockerel and the cries of one or more peacocks were companionable rather than disturbing. As stated in most reviews, the buffet breakfast selection in the large, attractive dining room, is vast. We also ate twice in the à-la-carte restaurant, where we found the food much better than is often served in hotels and not expensive by hotel standards: two meals and two mid-morning coffees came to 80 Euros. The very limited choice of English-language TV channels has already attracted comment. Even Al-Jazeera or the Moscow channel would have been welcome additions, not to mention CNN. But these are small points. We enjoyed the steps down to the town and the walk to the restaurants and we also used the taxi rank near the bus station to return on some occasions (never as dear as 4 Euros). La Laguna, Icod and the wonderful museum at Santa Cruz took up some days and the Botanic Garden is not to be missed if you have serious botanical interests (but no shop or restaurant there — the streets adjacent meet the need). Altogether a very good experience.

Room Tip: I would guess that the third floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We want to thank you for your great review and we will take into consideration the aspects that during your stay you have noticed that we have to improve.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Tigaiga very soon!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After our third visit in Oct.we are still enchanted by the location,lulled into tranquility by the ambience,satisfied by the great variety of food,but snacks and a la carte over priced.Coffee could be better.Truly appreciate the attentiveness of the staff and family.Love the walk into town 248 steps which are challenging ! Will we return? It will be very difficult not to.Good Luck to you all.

Room Tip: First floor room109
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your 3rd stay in Tenerife and for letting us know about your experience. We are pleased to read your received a good service at the Tigaiga! Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed four nights at this delightful hotel in September. The extensive gardens are gorgeous. The views from our balcony were superb. The staff were delightful, and most helpful, particularly dealing on our behalf with the dreadful car hire company, Orlando. The walk down to town through the sculpted terraces and waterfalls was a joy in itself (you need to be averagely fit , not more). We paid 118 euros a night for the first class room. The food was really excellent. However, presumably due to the preponderance of German tourists, the evening meal was served early: we went in at 8, which is not late (very early, actually, for Spain), and by the time we were on our entree we were almost the only people left and the waiters were already beginning to clear tables around us! The only other criticism is that they need to put their tennis net in good order and provide decent balls for play or sale, as we told them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony at the back with a view up to Mt Teide
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We thank you for having taken the time to let us know your feedback regarding your Tigaiga stay.

As we strive to meet all clients expectations and we have examined the provided information with our restaurant staff for internal processing as a way of continuous improvement. The tennis net has been fixed and tennis balls are now on sale in our shop.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

It seems that many hotels in Puerto de la Cruz are older, and this is one, but it is well maintained and well run and comfortable enough.

It is many steps down into the town but for us this was ok.

The staff were very friendly and helpful having answers for everything we asked.

We had bed and breakfast, and breakfast was good for this style of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for your visit and your recent review. We look forward to welcome you again at the Tigaiga!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.7 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#10 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#11 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
22.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tigaiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tigaiga

Address: Parque Taoro, 28, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tigaiga 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tigaiga: Beautifully located in extensive subtropical gardens in the tranquil Taoro Park above the main town of Puerto de la Cruz but only 15 minutes walk from the town centre. Owned by the Talg family since it opened in 1959 it is now managed by the third generation. Rooms are very comfortable and with all requirements and excellent bathrooms. Breakfast is an extensive buffet offering both hot and cold options and half-board dinner is 5 courses and waiter served. The heated pool and terrace have spectacular views over Puerto and the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Tigaiga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tigaiga Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tigaiga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.