We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Farmers lancs England” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tigaiga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Tigaiga to your Saves list
Hotel Tigaiga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parque Taoro, 28, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Farmers lancs England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After our third visit in Oct.we are still enchanted by the location,lulled into tranquility by the ambience,satisfied by the great variety of food,but snacks and a la carte over priced.Coffee could be better.Truly appreciate the attentiveness of the staff and family.Love the walk into town 248 steps which are challenging ! Will we return? It will be very difficult not to.Good Luck to you all.

Room Tip: First floor room109
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your 3rd stay in Tenerife and for letting us know about your experience. We are pleased to read your received a good service at the Tigaiga! Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
93
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed four nights at this delightful hotel in September. The extensive gardens are gorgeous. The views from our balcony were superb. The staff were delightful, and most helpful, particularly dealing on our behalf with the dreadful car hire company, Orlando. The walk down to town through the sculpted terraces and waterfalls was a joy in itself (you need to be averagely fit , not more). We paid 118 euros a night for the first class room. The food was really excellent. However, presumably due to the preponderance of German tourists, the evening meal was served early: we went in at 8, which is not late (very early, actually, for Spain), and by the time we were on our entree we were almost the only people left and the waiters were already beginning to clear tables around us! The only other criticism is that they need to put their tennis net in good order and provide decent balls for play or sale, as we told them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony at the back with a view up to Mt Teide
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We thank you for having taken the time to let us know your feedback regarding your Tigaiga stay.

As we strive to meet all clients expectations and we have examined the provided information with our restaurant staff for internal processing as a way of continuous improvement. The tennis net has been fixed and tennis balls are now on sale in our shop.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

It seems that many hotels in Puerto de la Cruz are older, and this is one, but it is well maintained and well run and comfortable enough.

It is many steps down into the town but for us this was ok.

The staff were very friendly and helpful having answers for everything we asked.

We had bed and breakfast, and breakfast was good for this style of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for your visit and your recent review. We look forward to welcome you again at the Tigaiga!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We have stayed in 5 hotels in Puerto de la Cruze,this was the best by far, bit pricey for B&B.But rooms and staff can not be faulted.Pool towels and robes are provided and the breakfast is the best ever,Owners were very friendly and Reception staff so helpful.

Room Tip: At the back you look at the gardens and mountains,at the front you have the sea, casino and more lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Gerente at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. At the Tigaiga we try to make each stay a nice experience. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This is a delightful small hotel which is very well managed by its family owners who are very visible and hands-on, ensuring that high standards are maintained. It is in a beautiful, peaceful location with immaculate gardens and a very attractive heated pool with plenty of sun beds, mattresses, shades etc.
Our third floor bedroom was spotless and comfortably functional rather than stylish. All rooms, corridors, and even balconies appeared to be carpeted so none of the usual noise problems of tiled floors. We had superb views of Mt. Teide and over the town to the sea.
Food was generally good and certainly plentiful, with extensive breakfast buffet or cooked to order. The half board option for dinner was good value with 5 courses and good choice although we would have preferred fewer courses in favour of better quality mains. Whilst the fish mains were generally excellent the meat mains options were disappointing. The salad buffet was,of course, self service but it was relaxing to have the rest of the meal served. Good wine list and reasonable prices.
It did seem strange, given the obvious quality of this hotel, that "standard" facilities such as in-room safe and tea/coffee should carry extra charges. The hotel is clearly not in the low-cost airline league!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback about the Tigaiga!
Your feedback helps us improve our service and quality standards.
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

This hotel is a gem. Situated higher up in Puerto de la Cruz surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens and a great swimming pool. There's a very pleasant 15 minute walk down 200 steps which meanders through water gardens until you reach the old part of the town which has many fine restaurants (see my 2 recommendations). The rooms are large, functional and well appointed with generous balconies and good bathrooms with lovely outlooks over the mountains, gardens and sea. The staff were all very pleasant and could not do enough for you. There were a few let downs - the house white wine is not good and should be replaced and the food was not really to our taste (we did complain about one meal, but we given a full refund). The breakfast's are vast, lots of choice but tinned fruit and some processed meats are used and the bacon needs to be cooked much crispier. The food did not worry us though as there are so many great restaurants in the town. We also had to pay for a safe which seems a little petty for a premium level hotel and when we put our drinks in the fridge they were removed on the grounds that we had not bought them from the mini bar - it is recommended you hire a fridge from them if you want to store your own drinks. I have never come accross this situation before, but overall the i would return to the hotel as it good qualities more than outweigh the bad.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Propietario at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Familia Enrique Talg & Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

A seventies building, a bit dated inside and out, but comfortable and with good service. Elderly clientele in the main, and mostly from Germany. It did not bother us, our German improved considerably over the week! Entertainment most evenings, rather sedate and understated but we enjoyed it. No problem getting space round the pool, although the hotel was full, it was quiet, goodness knows where everyone goes during the day. Easy walk, for us, down steps to the town. We walked back up the steps too, but we are reasonably fit, 50 somethings. Puerto de la Cruz full of retirees, mostly German, escaping the winter months. Casino a waste of time. Beaches, black sand, hotel pool is better. But we had a lovely week, and I enjoyed the hotel. Perhaps not good for children. Their noise would be noticed in the quiet ambience of the hotel! Not cheap, you could get cheaper hotels further south, but I would not like it. This area is green, pleasant and civilised!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigaiga, Director General at Hotel Tigaiga, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Tigaiga, Puerto de la Cruz. Looking forward to welcome soon! Kind regards from sunny Tenerife
Familia Enrique Talg and Tigaiga Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tigaiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tigaiga

Address: Parque Taoro, 28, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tigaiga 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tigaiga: Beautifully located in extensive subtropical gardens in the tranquil Taoro Park above the main town of Puerto de la Cruz but only 15 minutes walk from the town centre. Owned by the Talg family since it opened in 1959 it is now managed by the third generation. Rooms are very comfortable and with all requirements and excellent bathrooms. Breakfast is an extensive buffet offering both hot and cold options and half-board dinner is 5 courses and waiter served. The heated pool and terrace have spectacular views over Puerto and the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tigaiga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tigaiga Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tigaiga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.