We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, smart staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Orotava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live Orotava to your Saves list
Be Live Orotava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Aguilar y Quesada 3, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Lancashire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location, smart staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Spent six nights here in January 2013 on half-board, Room overlooked the seaside and the balcony was pleasant. Food was inevitably "international" but plenty of dried and other seasoning was made available if you needed to add a kick to please your palate. Staff were great and it's only a two minute walk to the promenade and all of its facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, or end up on the quieter side looking up the hill to Tiede well beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    79
    57
    19
    15
See reviews for
56
107
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Before I write this review it is important to understand this hotel is set up for Spanish and German clientele. The positives are great location and a free ticket to the lido. However, it is a 4 star hotel. I have never stayed in a 4 star hotel that wants a 10 euro deposit for the tv remote control. It also wants 15 euros to use the room safe. The staff are very nice and thatis a positive. The hotel seems to have been a 3 star. The corridors are gloomy and dark. We stayed in 1014 and this was a 4 star hotel hat gave no toiletries. We got soap and. Soap in a dispenser and a shoe cleaner. This is not 4 star as we know it. Also in the room everything was really clean and the sheets were nicely laundered but they had holes in tem. The towels were also clean but old and tired. The only other observation I have. In a 4 star hotel I would like an egg chef.on the Sunday when the dining room was really busy the fruit juice was watered down so much it is like flavoured water without flavour. It really does need sorting out. Finally observation there was never more than one person o. Reception that led to long waits for anything. They are clearly cutting corners and if they want to be a 4 star hotel they have a lot to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here bed and beakfast for one night before we flew out to Seville the next day. The hotel is clean and the breakfast very good we paid 55 euors for a double room including breakfast, which we thought excellent value for two. The staff were very good and helpful, couldn't fault the hotel except there is no swimming pool, for a one night stay it didn't matter, but for a week I would want a hotel with a pool

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I've read all the comments on this hotel before choosing it. After having arrived there I was very pleased to see them all to be true. Staff always helpful and friendly, rooms and toilets clean, food being one othe best I have ever had in a hotel - lots of meals to choose from so you can have something different every day. No pool, which was a known issue, but free tickets to Lago Martianez, which is 5 min. away make up for the inconvenience. I sincerely recommend this hotel to anyone who likes peace and quiet and seeks a good base for trips around the island. Puerto de la Cruz itself is a town with canarian atmosphere as it's a real town, not like the ones on the west of Tenerife where there's only hotels. Here you have monumental buildings, promenade on the seafront with boutiques, central square and lots of nice cafes and restaurants. Puerto Cruz is a good start to go to La Orotava, La Laguna, Garachico, Anaga Mountains and Teide.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent our honeymoon at the then Orotava Gardens in March 1972. This year we returned wondering if the Hotel was anything like it was 40 years ago, well the name had changed to Belive Orotava the bellboys had gone from the main entrance and lifts, but theHotel was just excellent from the minute we walked in to the main entrance.
Smilling Staff always on hand to help assist your at anytime. Excellent & Memorable stay for our 40th Anniversar, yes we will return but will not leave it 40 years : Great Hotel for Holliday or Special Occasion. I would say yes the Hotel has changed for the better it's a 4 star but with such excellent staff, food, Bar Area and entertainment it should be a 5 star. Congratulations to all the staff for making oue special week " Very Special" See you soon.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel for help in choosing your room all very nice. We had a seaview room which was excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We has stayed in Los Gigantes for 6 nights and wanted to visit Loro Parque and the northern end of the island. We had a two night with breakfast for 125 euro for two people which seemed good value. The room faced the rear of the hotel and perhaps was a courtesey room but as we were out and about this mattered little as we were travelling on to the airport on the last day. We had a car and parking was available but we chose to use the street parking some 5 mins walk through the tunnel on the coast road. Breakfast food was wide ranging and something for everyone though typical English cooked breakfast it is not. We would stay there again. Lost of guests were clearly having a good time during happy hours!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Once again we had a great stay at this hotel. This was our third visit.

This hotel has now changed its name from 'Orotava Palace' to the 'Be Live Orotava Hotel'. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay over Christmas and New Year. The New Year gala dinner was very good and we met some really nice people.

We stayed half-board. Breakfast and dinner were both very good with plenty of choice.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. We asked for a specific room in advance and we were allocated it without a problem.

The hotel is popular with people from all over Europe, so expect a very mixed clientelle.

The hotel has limited leisure facilities and no play areas so it may not be as suitable for families with children.

Some travel websites (this one included) show a swimming pool, gym, sauna and terrace. These facilities are not avaialble. (The pool is long gone-there is a large, fenced-off crater where it used to be). However, the hotel provide free tickets to the Lago Martianez which more than compensates for the absent pool IMO.

Overall a good hotel, well suited to adults/couples. I would definitiely return here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front overlook a busy main road. Rooms to the rear-especially on the upper floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Live Orotava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Orotava

Address: Calle Aguilar y Quesada 3, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Orotava 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Be Live Orotava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Orotava Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Orotava Palace Hotel
Be Live Orotava Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live Orotava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.