We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st holiday in North Tenerife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Tenerife Playa to your Saves list
H10 Tenerife Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Colon 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“1st holiday in North Tenerife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My friend and I usually holiday in South Tenerife but saw this holiday with Jet 2 at a very reasonable cost and thought we would have a change of scenery. We were so pleased we did, what a difference, so atmospheric compared to the south. Very much a Spanish working town, with holiday makers, as against an area made for tourists. The little squares you could sit at and watch the world go by, turn a corner and find another cobbled street that just cried out to be explored.
The hotel was very comfortable, rooms spotlessly clean, towels changed daily and bed as often as you cared to ask.
We always left the dining room satisfied and replete. We always managed to get a bed and umbrella at the pool. Two very nice pools only complaint being that they were quite shaded from the surrounding foliage and buildings. On the other hand there is a very good sun deck on the 6th floor for anyone who wants to use it.
We had a room on the ground floor owing to a mix up over beds, we had requested higher floors, but the room we were given suited us very well as you could walk out to the pool without having the bother of stairs or lifts. The ground floor apartments are very shaded but this didn't bother us too much as we really spent very little time there, other than sleeping.
Air conditioning although old did go some way towards cooling down room and it was free.

One problem we did have was getting our sterling money changed to Euros at a decent exchange rate. The bank was asking 6 Euros commission on a very poor exchange rate and hotel rates are notoriously low. We did find a place in the "Shopping Centre Teide" .which gave a good rate of exchange and no commission. This is just around the next street from
the hotel.

Because this hotel has been so popular for so many years people visiting at the same time each year and recognising other regulars that to someone there for the first time you felt a little on the sidelines.

Staff on a whole were very pleasant especially the cleaning staff who always spoke, some of the waiters in the dining room always greeted you with a smile but there were a few who looked as though they were sorry they had left the house that day. I suppose you do get this sort of mixture where ever you go.

A couple of nights each week we had good entertainment of an evening but the rest of the time we found that the quizzes were not what we enjoyed as an evenings entertainment.

One thing that had caused us some worry was how would the weather be "up north" in the first two weeks of November and I went into TripAdvisor Forum to get some inside info. I was told that like anywhere you take a chance on the weather but on a whole it usually is pretty good. I am glad to be able to report that we had one week of bright sunshine and one week of some cloud but at all times lovely and warm. A couple of brief showers in the second week but not enough to stop our enjoyment.

Would definitely use this hotel again and look forward to another holiday in Puerto de la Cruz. .

Room Tip: Although the groundfloor rooms are quite shaded they are very handy for anyone with a walking diffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for all the comments and information you wrote in Tripadvisor, which will be very useful for us and for other travellers.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday here with us, and we appreciate your suggestions in some aspects, which we will try to improve.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for another holiday in our hotel.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    380
    160
    77
    27
See reviews for
211
525
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We usually go self catering in an apartment, but this time thought we'd try all inclusive in a four star. What a wonderful experience! The rooms were cleaned and towels changed every day, the food was excellent, of great variety, and too tempting if you don't want to put on weight. Same with the drinks. The staff were really friendly and helpful - particularly the waiters in what was sometimes a very busy restaurant. The hotel is situated opposite the lagoon area on the seafront, and we had a wonderful room overlooking the sea. There were two pools in gardens, with a pool bar and organised games (if you wanted them).
The only downside was the evening entertainment. Each night a combo played from 8 till 12, with an hour 10-11 for guest artistes, which included magic, knife throwing, flamenco and 'The Spanish Elvis', who was very popular. However, the combo's music was very downbeat, and fine for those who wanted to waltz or show off their quickstep. This meant that we spent every evening out in the town (the square particularly has a great atmosphere) - and we found a couple of entertainers in bars who peformed soul. rock, and more upbeat music. We didn't mind the extra it cost us for drinks, - what we did mind is that one of our favourite entertainers was playing at a bar just outside our own hotel. Someone in the hotel had complained about the noise at 9.30 as they could hear it in their room - and the hotel threatened the bar with the police, so cutting short our enjoyment. All music outside the hotel finished by 11.30. Our own room overlooked this bar. If people come on holiday to go to bed at 9.30 they should take some earplugs!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter. Ask not to be put next to a smoker - we had to close our balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for writing your opinion in Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and suggestions, which will be very useful for us to improve our service.
We hope you will soon come and visit us again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We've just returned from a fabulous week spent at this hotel. Before arriving I asked for a high floor and was given one. The food especially the breakfasts are really good, just so much to choose from. Restaurant and bar staff are very friendly. It was very clean, sheets were changed twice while we were there and towels changed every day. We were all inclusive and it was worth every penny. We are not big drinkers but I believe we had our money's worth. I was amazed at what was available on all inc. including cocktails and branded drinks. The only downside for us was the evening entertainment, although most people seemed to enjoy it.
The free wi-fi was available in all public rooms and quite often I was even able to get it on our balcony. As has been stated in other reviews the average age of the guests is quite high but I have nothing against that - at least you don't get noisy teenagers coming in at all hours of the night. All in all I would recommend this hotel and look forward to returning in the future

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for writing your good opinion in Tripadvisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holidays, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel for another holiday.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was our 4th visit to H10 Tenerife Playa and again enjoyed everything. Being an H10 Club member Grand Class really does help with the added pleasures. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful at all times especially those in the restaurant. Judging by the number of guests we recognised from previous visits, this is a very popular hotel for winter breaks. The weather was mixed but plenty warm enough to enjoy swimming. Trips out were also easy and enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you want afternoon sunshine on your balcony chose rooms from the second floor upwards with an odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor, which we will share with all the Guests.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holidays here with us, and we hope you will soon come back and spend another holiday with us.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

went to this hotel for a week on 3rd November 2013 as I suffer with breathing problems the travel agent recommended the hotel as it was on the flat and we paid for a balcony overlooking the pool but we found view was obscured by vegetation room 429 then we found after two days we had smokers on either side of us who spent hours sitting on the balcony smoking and as the separating walls were not solid (you could see your neighbour) our room was stinking of fag smoke .
went to reception twice who said this is a no smoking hotel as far as the rooms and balcony was concerned but they did not stop them smoking as a result we could not use our balcony or leave the door open there are no notices to tell people not to smoke in the rooms or on door to balcony
found reception staff unhelpful in solving this problem on a positive note everything else in the hotel was excellent (ie) nice food and rooms were spotless

Room Tip: pool side rooms with balcony best 4/5 floors but not on the ends nearest lifts as you will only see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your opinion in Tripadvisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel in general, and we are sorry about the inconvenience you describe, which the reception tried to solve advising the other Guests.
We would be pleased to speak to you personally. This is our e-mail address, should you wish to contact us about this matter:

h10.tenerife.playa@h10hotels.com

Looking forward to hearing from you, we remain

Yours faithfully

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The 4 stars of H10 are getting dim. The service is still very good and friendly but the building and interiors are getting worn out. The fine location by the sea and in a yet peaceful corner, the above average breakfast, the clean pool area and the service are on the plus side. The downsides are the tired presence of the facilities, some lack in cleaning and the poor availability on wifi - only in public spaces on 1st and 2nd floor and of variable (mostly slow) speed.
For those arriving by car parking spaces are very limited in hotel vicinity.
Large travel groups also label the place. Very many guests are 75+.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for writing your opinion about our hotel in Tripadvisor. Your suggestions will be very helpful for us to improve our service.
We are pleased to know that you liked our staff service and the breakfast offer.
We hope we will have the possibility to welcoming you again in the future in order to offer you our improvements.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Went to this Hotel for the fourth year in a row, requested the same room as last year& Hotel obliged.
Sadly after five lovely days I picked up a virus (food poisoning) & ended up in Hospital for3 days.
The rep was fantastic. & did all she could for me.
Came out of Hospital 4 days before end of holiday & could not wait to get on flight home.
Shame really as it is such a nice Hotel in a lovely area

Room Tip: Try to get a upper room front or rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Address: Avenida Colon 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Tenerife Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.