We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Tenerife Playa to your Saves list
H10 Tenerife Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Colon 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely, welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the hotel and can only speak good of our experience. We read the reviews beforehand and were conscious that some reviews were mixed. I can assure anyone who has booked, that this is a special hotel with a warm, welcoming feel.. I was sad to leave. The room was clean and the balcony overlooked the pool which was very pleasant. We had a junior suite and the third bed was broken. We advised reception who sent a maintenance man up within a few minutes which was impressive, however the maintenance man never came back to fix it and I had to fix it myself. Although one could find faults with the decor I think this is irrelevant and nitpicking and missing the point of the hotel entirely.
Special mention must go to the beds and especially the pillows which are so, so comfortable.. Where do they get those pillows from!
Food was varied, plentiful and catered for all tastes. At breakfast you could have champagne and caviar if you so desired, but the bacon and omelettes were gorgeous! The restaurant is beautiful with amazing wall to ceiling glass which gave incredible views.
The bars were stylish and offered a range of cocktails.. All the waiters and bar staff were polite, friendly, helpful and happy. We stayed all inclusive and it was a joy not having to worry about what to,eat and where.
The location of the hotel is ideal, the wide pedestrianised promenade is filled with cafes and shops.. Perfect for the shopaholics!
Special mention must go to Miranda for her enthusiastic and welcoming animation. Daytime activities were fun and included Archery, pétanque, rifle shooting, and aqua aerobics. She also runs entertainment on alternate nights and we enjoyed bingo, quizzes and a "You Bet" games night. Being multi lingual meant she was able to bring together residents of all nationalities and. By the end of the week you felt you had made a family of friends.. This was what really made the stay enjoyable and, in my view, makes the nit-picking and fault finding irrelevant. It was the staff, the fellow residents and the happy feel of the hotel which made my holiday enjoyable and I can forgive the wood chip wallpaper, broken bed and the poor wi-fi.
In summary: comfortable beds, clean rooms, good restaurant, good bar, friendly staff and fun activities.. Would definitely recommend and would happily go back :)

Room Tip: Personally I would prefer the room facing the pool rather than the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel, ehich we will share with all the staff, especially with Miranda. We are pleased you found a good atmosphere and that you had a pleasant and relaxed holiday. We apologize for the incident about the bed, and will find out why the maintenance did not come back to you.
We hope to be welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    345
    150
    73
    26
See reviews for
190
487
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HHolland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at this hotel. We booked through first choice and expected a very nice modern hotel. Unfortunately when we arrived we were placed in a ground floor room due to not booking a balcony. On speaking to reception the following morning we were gladly moved to a room in the main building which looked over the pool which was lovely.

Great location with idyllic views at the front, plus lovely walk along the promenade in the evening.

Rooms and hotel in general are very dated and could do with a modernisation, although hotel itself is nice and I would recommend.

We went on an all inclusive basis which was nice, food ok although I didn't feel too much choice especially at lunch. Drinks good.

Pool area lovely and picturesque.

All in all a good hotel although with a little t.l.c it could be better. There is not much to do in Puerto De La Cruz however if you want a relaxed week away then this is ideal

Room Tip: If you want a balcony then you need to do this when booking and pay a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor.
We apologize for the inconvenience about the first room, and we are pleased you liked the one you were allocated when you asked for the change. We are working days after day to improve in the details you indicate, hoping to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the tenerife playa28th may till 4th june.the weather wasnt brilliant but hotel very good.our room was spotless cleaned everyday.the pool area very good.infact the whole hotel very clean.bar service spot on.we were on all inclusive and all main brands on alcohol.staffvery good good from cleaners barstaff towelmen round the pool to management.meals very good and plenty of variety.we would definately stay here again..my only moan is dress code for men long trousers should be worn for dinner.everynite there were a few men in shorts and they were never told.management need to sort that.or no code should be in force.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again. We will consider your suggestion about the dress code.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have just got back from a week at the Tenerife playa, we were really disappointed with this hotel, have stayed in better and cheaper, we requested a high floor room, and we're given one on the ground floor, no sun at all because of the trees and shrubs around the pool area, only one plug socket behind the tv, our room was very dark and very cold, we had to put the thick blankets on the bed, the staff attitude was unfriendly, even on reception, the food was plentyfull but repetitive, if you like pork, French fries, and packet mash, you are ok, the same soup was on at lunch and dinner for 4 days, breakfast was ok there was bacon eggs baked beans if you wanted them. The entertainment was ok, lots of dancing, the resident duo were good, and the professional acts good. The hotel itself is in a superb location, but there are lots of steps along the promenade if you have walking difficulties, the loro parc is a must do, a fantastic day out, and is free to get there on the little train, and if you buy your tickets before you go you don't have to queue to get in, we really enjoyed our holiday in puerto de la cruz, and would go again, BUT, not to this hotel. This hotel would benefit from a make over, it is a bit shabby, corridor carpets not fitted to walls, and glasses a crockery left hanging about in corridors for days before anyone moved them, and there were quite a few cockroaches about the corridors,

Room Tip: Avoid the ground and first floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor.
We are sorry you did not find the facilities at the hotel as you expected. We will consider all the indications in order to improve our service. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences we might have caused.

Best regards

Alfonso Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Tenerife Playa is a wonderful hotel with very friendly staff, great location & sea view, delicious dinner made by very apt chefs. taxis and buses right next to it... I'm totally a fan! I've stayed there more than 10 times already and definitely will stay there next year as well. The cuisine in the restaurant is getting more and more exquisite from year to year (dinner especially!), the room is always clean, the ocean is literally 30 steps away. You can enjoy a great view from the terrace on the 10th floor in the night or enjoy some very nice cocktails in the bar with the live music and artistic shows.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view to the garden and pools are quieter, those on the 2nd floor can be a bit damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind comments in Tripadvisor, that we will share with all the staff.
We are pleased you find our hotel so comfortable and and we will always be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having read some of the 5 star reviews of this hotel I had to ask myself "who wrote these?” Well the answer is easy; those that did not use the facilities much i.e. did not eat in, use the pool area, and certainly nobody on all-inclusive.

You have been warned… Big advice is don’t complain to anyone (reps or hotel staff) else you will be revealed and victimised and we are not the only group saying this. Hygiene is all for show – scratch the surface and you will not like it.

Hotel position is excellent but be aware a public area right out front and all the lower rooms (on much of the seaward facing part of the hotel) have their views blocked by vegetation. The question really should be is that good enough when the Tenerife Playa is seriously risking your health with a can’t careless attitude. This is especially a problem with much of their client base being elderly.

The dining experience was something to behold – lovely views over the bay and surfers sometimes fighting with the elements (not a beach for swimming) – but of course especially at dinner the window seats get ‘reserved’ quickly. After you complain these often seemed to go to the very next clients – very subtle. Tearing yourself away from the views to get some food, found the 4 stars start slipping.

Getting the required hot food onto a single plate requires military planning, let alone with an all-inclusive drink. Sometimes this means ordering drinks at the bar and bringing it up one floor and past a queue of guests half blocking the doorway. This seems to place you as a trouble maker with the doorman. When I informed staff that drinks in the vending machines had run out the answer is ‘I know’ with no attempt at correction. But this is minor….

Bloody Marys for breakfast allowed one guest, looking for company, to be completely hammered all day (sorry often felling unwell) and added to the ambience of the hotel. This guest one morning had obviously very bloodied fingers handed over the money, for two large 10 a.m. beers, the money, when found, went straight in the till.

This was the second morning I had spotted blood product contamination; which was on a table and in a glass and plate in the main restaurant which was (when noticed) quickly disposed of by a waitress bravely without any additional protection. The table was re-laid without cleaners being called and the waitress continued with her duties after disposing of the bloodied rags into the plate clearing area – nice.

But this experience was not easy to get, being only available, after you had negotiated the queue to get into the dining hall (sorry restaurant), which happened every day during peak breakfast and dinner sittings. The best queue (beyond the normal) occurred when Saturday cruise ship customers were rushed past hotel guests queuing for their lunch. The hotel guests had around 10 tables in the door way reserved for them and at that time all these were taken and hotel guests (at the front of the queue) were being told it was a wait of at least 20 minutes. After one elderly quest saw two coachloads (yes two coachloads) rushed by (with ‘the coach x on me’ novelty item / board approach) started complaining. At this time the restaurant doorman took to the internal phone ignoring hotel quests, leaving the hotel guests with tables hearing all the open and wasted exchanges.

Food hygiene was questioned with our 1st Thomson rep who was despondent about the issues with this hotel. After our improvised counselling session, she seemed to agree that the break was good, for her, and that she would not be back, and left us wondering what we had checked into – Hotel California, Faulty Towers or worse? Whilst we gave free counselling we learnt that there is only a food hygiene problem if many hotel quests go down with the same thing; which my partner has logged for her next food hygiene certificate.

In addition to the blood issues birds where landing on food and utensils in the tented food area (pool area) which was where the restaurant doorman was directing the waiting guests as an alternative lunch experience. We already knew better than this - One blackbird, which we chased off, was filthy (dirty muddy beak and claws), therefore contaminating food and utensils with earth based bacteria – but what do we know… We did not dare question the nearly untouched paella in the main restaurant that was unchanged and unmonitored for the whole 40mins that we were there.

The only good news -no birds were harmed whilst making this complaint, the tit only deposited as it left and the blackbird did start an unprompted self-cleaning program; unlike the bar staff who ignored contaminated food, cling film and utensils. Also the two coach roaches ‘in the queuing area’ never made it into the dining area.

On the second go (because nothing had changed) the 2nd Thompson rep then discussed our issues with the hotel management who phoned us in the room and wanted to further discuss the issues, which my partner did at length –another surreal very unpleasant John Cleese style experience (Faulty Towers with a huge helping of Monty Python).

After the complaint the bar staff were almost head-over-heels to serve us (patronisingly so). Thought this was the point being made – but maybe not? The drinks arrived in seconds (and I mean almost instantly) having, now on reflection, been waiting for me. At this point interest in us grew and we were made to feel uncomfortable so we drank up and left. On leaving one bar staff member (yes the one at the bird incident) inappropriately patted me on the back – which only now do I fully understand.

I got to the room (after just that one drink) soon felt light-headed and had to lie down. I went into an almost unconscious sleep according to my partner. In less than 3 hours I woke with a really really dry and burning throat and a bile taste in my mouth. The whole throat was burning down to the top of the stomach, at which time I realized what had occurred in front of us that previous evening.

PS. Remember Holidays are built with you in mind! Even if you booked with Thomson don’t bother complaining to them on return either – you are wasting your time and money. Don’t even consider complaining in resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT PETERSBURG
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My fiancée and I spent 7 nights here as part of a Thomson holiday package from Exeter. The hotel is definitely not a 4 star despite the official rating. It would probably be empty without Thomson, Thomas Cook and Saga package vacationers, the majority of whom are seniors. You get the impression from the hotel that you are expected to accept sub standard amenities because the vacation package is a good deal. We had a small room on the 10th floor. My list of gripes included one electric outlet in the entire room with 2 receptacles for 3 items (TV, fridge and desk lamp); air conditioner that blew no cold air; fee to use room safe; advertised English cable tv channels that turned out to be CNN and Fox News; unbelievably slow to non existent wi fi in public areas; changing shower water temperatures; no tea/coffee making facilities; and no tea or coffee included in the lunch/dinner meal plan. I did complain about the unacceptable outlet situation and after 4 hours and 2 inspections by hotel personnel, we finally got an extension cord, which allowed us to use the desk lamp and also charge a laptop. On the positive side, the hotel is in a perfect location right on the sea front promenade across from the Lago Martianez and a black sand beach. This made up for the deficiencies of the hotel itself. Puerto De La Cruz is quite hilly so this is a tremendous advantage especially as there are so many activities along the promenade. There is a McDonalds close to the hotel with excellent wi fi internet, as well as the free Loro Park trolley. The meals at the hotel were buffet style with excellent high quality selections. The view from the restaurant was wonderful. The hotel had entertainment each night and some acts were quite good. There are several travel agencies close to the hotel for day trips but choices were very poor as May was still slow season. We were able to visit other sites on the island from the local bus station which is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
We apologize for the inconveniences suffered during your holidays, and we appreciate the decription you give about the area around the hotel, which will be very helpful for other turits.
We are pleased you liked our food offer and the views from the restaurant.

We hope to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Address: Avenida Colon 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Tenerife Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.