We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but potentially could be SUPERB” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Principe San Felipe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Principe San Felipe to your Saves list
Bahia Principe San Felipe
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda de Colon 22, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but potentially could be SUPERB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've just come back after spending 8 nights with my partner. We are aged 19 and 21, who were looking for a nice relaxing break.

I will firstly discuss the rooms. We were lucky enough to get one of the rooms by the pool, rather than in the main building. The rooms are spotless with a lovely bathroom. The furniture is very basic with a tiny TV, although I wasn't bothered as I don't go on holiday to watch TV! The balcony was very small with chairs and a table. After visiting many hotels, having sun beds on a balcony are more appreciated, but isn't an essential. There are two single beds pushed together, which many hotels have now, but is annoying. Overall, the room was good with immaculate cleanliness.

The next aspect I would like to highlight is the food. Many have applauded the food, however we found the food to be of very average standards. I had a piece of steak which had been cooked in the fresh cooking section, however it was literally like chewing leather and I could not chew it! We met another couple who agreed regarding the standard of the food. I stuck to pasta nearly every day. The food was very repetitive. Also, the service at the buffet restaurant is TERRIBLE. You have to wait AGES until your plates get taken away and to be asked for another drink. On one occasion we had about four used plates waiting to be taken away and tried to get another drink for about twenty minutes. I ordered some eventually and they never turned up! Also the older male waiters are SO grumpy and were even telling off one of the younger male waiters off in front of us which we found really uncomfortable and we felt sorry for the guy. I did wonder if they were grumpy and rude to us because we were a younger couple, but elderly couples also told us that they had received the same treatment. One thing I HATE is rude staff especially as I work in customer service and know how to treat customers with respect, whether they are old, young, all inclusive or half board.

Another aspect that I would like to highlight is the entertainment! Oh my gosh! Carlos is on nearly EVERY night and is a terrible singer and sax player ! I felt like I was in a cheap and tacky social club! Then some awful guy on a keyboard was playing which topped it off! The only good entertainment nights are the falcon show and snake show, but even with the snake show, you could hardly hear the lady and had to wait ages until they took the snakes round the whole room.

I would like to mention that the pool area is really impressive and the pool was stunning! I also really enjoyed aqua gym, which made up for the terrible small gym that they had.

Also we were SHOCKED that you had to pay just over two euros a day for the safe! What an absolute joke ! Also to have a few drinks in your mini bar is 16 euros ! And they try to charge nearly 50 euros for a massage. I don't think I knew anyone who used the massage parlour due to the expensive prices. If you are all inclusive you should get these things discounted!

Overall I had a lovely holiday, but the hotel needs some improvements and it would be an amazing place to stay. They need to firstly sort out their rude older male staff and entertainment! It really has the potential to be 5 star quality and if the management wanted to acquire this, then they really could by improving all the aspects that their customers keep asking for! It was good for a weeks holiday, but I wouldn't want to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Isabelle,

First of all we want to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to read you have had a lovely holiday even though not all the restaurant staff made you feel welcome. Your opinion is important to us and we have send your comments to the food&beverage management in order to improve our services.

Hopefully we may receive you again as our guests, this time to live up to your expectations.

Best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    321
    120
    34
    29
See reviews for
256
526
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel so much last year as a couple that we brought our family 6 people this year and had a lovely holiday,we had e-mailed the hotel first to request corner rooms x 3 with a sea/resort view and was pleased when we got there that our request had been granted,rooms ending in 01 have this view. we can not praise the staff enough for their friendliness and professional attitude,in the reception,dining room,and the bar,all to a high standard, the 3 girl waitresses in the bar area need a special thank you as they work very hard but always have a smile and are pleasant,food very good with a lot of choice and the grounds are well kept and clean with lovely plants, well done san felipe we will be coming back soon.

Room Tip: corner rooms have a large balcony and more view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this kind review. It is always a pleasure for all our staff to hear our work is appreciated and we have been able to live up to your expectations.
We will gladly receive you again as our guests and will give you a warm welcome.

Best regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Tenerife.

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

After five visits to Puerto, this is our favourite hotel and our second stay. We liked it so much that we arranged for the exact same room as before and this wasn't a problem for the staff.

We will always stay at this hotel, I feel as though we have tried enough and have found our favourite. Nothing was too much trouble (although I still don't like having to pay for the room safe!), please see my previous review (May 2012) for more information as our 9 night stay this April lived up to our previous visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room without a sea view if you want the sun on your balcony from about 11am until sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very pleased we have been able to live up to your expectations once again and it will be a pleasure to welcome you once more in your next visit to Puerto de la Cruz.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Tenerife

best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The food at this hotel was very impressive and offered a wide selection of fresh fish and meat dishes, as well as numerous salads and side dishes. We tried the hotel's a la carte restaurants, but preferred the variety of the buffet. The hotel grounds are very well maintained and the pool area is relaxing. The pool itself was a little too cold to use comfortably during the cloudy weather we experienced, and although there are signs up saying the water was heated, it certainly didn't feel that way - the children's pool, however, was much warmer. The rooms are spacious, with a large balcony, and the beds are very comfortable. We loved the resort of Puerto de la Cruz, which seemed typically Spanish and we enjoyed several walks around. Ask the friendly reception staff for directions up to the Botanical Gardens. The walk takes you up the hill to an area with beautiful views and the gardens themselves are well worth a visit.
We enjoyed a memorable stay at the San Felipe and would love to return another year.

Room Tip: Email the hotel and ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the Teide. We were on the 11th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this kind review of your recent stay at the hotel Bahia Principe San Felipe.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the variety of our buffet so much and we have passed your coments on the the kitchen staff for this positive feed back is very motivating for them.

It will be a pleasure to receive you again as our guests.

best regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all inclusive hotels in Tenerife

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherborne dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel and staff was just right for a single mother and teenage daughter. The staff were friendly but not overpowering. The other residents were not all English which was lovely and consisted of newly married couples and the older generation. Perfect for a holiday where you would like to relax and forget the stresses and worries of life back home. We arrived very tired in the early hours of the morning, we were offered food and able to check straight into our rooms. On checking out we were able to stay and continue to be all inclusive until our transport collected us later that evening. Tasty food varied daily, great choice of alcoholic drinks, Al Carte restaurant food very nice.
The weather on this side of the island is not that great and can be cloudy and chilly. Bear this in mind when booking so you are not disappointed.
I have already recommended to friends and plan to return in the future. Outstanding holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear tripadvisor-user,

We are pleased to hear you have spent a such relaxing holiday in our hotel Bahia Principe San Felipe and that we have been able to live up to your expectations.

It will be a great pleasure to receive you again as our guest and we will give you a warm welcome.

best regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Tenerife

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

An older but well maintained hotel that doesn't look anything special from the outside but is a hidden gem inside. Our comfortable and well appointed junior suite offered enough space for our family to relax without getting under each others feet. The staff were friendly and helpful and even though the weather was a bit disappointing we had a great stay.

Room Tip: The rocky coastline by the hotel and the constant waves mean the sea is noisy so for a quieter stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for writing this review about our Hotel Bahia Principe San Felipe.
We great pleasure we hear that you have had a such a relaxing stay with us.

We would love to receive you again as our guests and hopefully next time you will have better weather.

Best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Friendly service from all of the staff and close to all amenities. Rooms clean and very comfortable with good view of the sea at the front or Mount Teide at the rear. Good pool set in lovely gardens. The food was good with an A La Carte evening meal twice in the week at a separate dining room which was most enjoyable. Going all inclusive can mean poor wine or spirits unless you pay extra, but the house wine and the cocktails were of a high standard. We hired a car and for the first couple of days, the hotel car park was full but the reception staff said they would put us on the list for a space. We didn't expect this to be successful, but sure enough we had a message to collect our car park key on the third day. The position of the hotel is great being at one end of the promenade. It is close to all amenities, especially the wonderful lido, but does not have unwanted noise from other holidaymakers or cafes etc. Only issue is the lifts are busy in the mornings and you may have to wait. Alternatively, get fit by walking up the stairs to the 17th floor! We will come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in the Bahia Principe San Felipe. It fills us with joy that you have had such a nice holiday with us, and with great pleasure we will receive you again as our guest.
Don´t hesitate to contact us with any request you might have, and we will do our best to assist you with the best room available.

Best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Principe San Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe San Felipe

Address: Avda de Colon 22, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Principe San Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Principe San Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
San Felipe Hotel
Bahia Principe San Felipe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Principe San Felipe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.