We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food and comfortable rooms in a lovely resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Principe San Felipe

Save Saved
You added Bahia Principe San Felipe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia Principe San Felipe
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda de Colon 22, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good quality food and comfortable rooms in a lovely resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The food at this hotel was very impressive and offered a wide selection of fresh fish and meat dishes, as well as numerous salads and side dishes. We tried the hotel's a la carte restaurants, but preferred the variety of the buffet. The hotel grounds are very well maintained and the pool area is relaxing. The pool itself was a little too cold to use comfortably during the cloudy weather we experienced, and although there are signs up saying the water was heated, it certainly didn't feel that way - the children's pool, however, was much warmer. The rooms are spacious, with a large balcony, and the beds are very comfortable. We loved the resort of Puerto de la Cruz, which seemed typically Spanish and we enjoyed several walks around. Ask the friendly reception staff for directions up to the Botanical Gardens. The walk takes you up the hill to an area with beautiful views and the gardens themselves are well worth a visit.
We enjoyed a memorable stay at the San Felipe and would love to return another year.

Room Tip: Email the hotel and ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the Teide. We were on the 11th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this kind review of your recent stay at the hotel Bahia Principe San Felipe.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the variety of our buffet so much and we have passed your coments on the the kitchen staff for this positive feed back is very motivating for them.

It will be a pleasure to receive you again as our guests.

best regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all inclusive hotels in Tenerife

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    287
    102
    32
    28
See reviews for
223
474
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sherborne dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel and staff was just right for a single mother and teenage daughter. The staff were friendly but not overpowering. The other residents were not all English which was lovely and consisted of newly married couples and the older generation. Perfect for a holiday where you would like to relax and forget the stresses and worries of life back home. We arrived very tired in the early hours of the morning, we were offered food and able to check straight into our rooms. On checking out we were able to stay and continue to be all inclusive until our transport collected us later that evening. Tasty food varied daily, great choice of alcoholic drinks, Al Carte restaurant food very nice.
The weather on this side of the island is not that great and can be cloudy and chilly. Bear this in mind when booking so you are not disappointed.
I have already recommended to friends and plan to return in the future. Outstanding holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear tripadvisor-user,

We are pleased to hear you have spent a such relaxing holiday in our hotel Bahia Principe San Felipe and that we have been able to live up to your expectations.

It will be a great pleasure to receive you again as our guest and we will give you a warm welcome.

best regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Tenerife

Gemma Oosterbaan
Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

An older but well maintained hotel that doesn't look anything special from the outside but is a hidden gem inside. Our comfortable and well appointed junior suite offered enough space for our family to relax without getting under each others feet. The staff were friendly and helpful and even though the weather was a bit disappointing we had a great stay.

Room Tip: The rocky coastline by the hotel and the constant waves mean the sea is noisy so for a quieter stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for writing this review about our Hotel Bahia Principe San Felipe.
We great pleasure we hear that you have had a such a relaxing stay with us.

We would love to receive you again as our guests and hopefully next time you will have better weather.

Best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Friendly service from all of the staff and close to all amenities. Rooms clean and very comfortable with good view of the sea at the front or Mount Teide at the rear. Good pool set in lovely gardens. The food was good with an A La Carte evening meal twice in the week at a separate dining room which was most enjoyable. Going all inclusive can mean poor wine or spirits unless you pay extra, but the house wine and the cocktails were of a high standard. We hired a car and for the first couple of days, the hotel car park was full but the reception staff said they would put us on the list for a space. We didn't expect this to be successful, but sure enough we had a message to collect our car park key on the third day. The position of the hotel is great being at one end of the promenade. It is close to all amenities, especially the wonderful lido, but does not have unwanted noise from other holidaymakers or cafes etc. Only issue is the lifts are busy in the mornings and you may have to wait. Alternatively, get fit by walking up the stairs to the 17th floor! We will come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in the Bahia Principe San Felipe. It fills us with joy that you have had such a nice holiday with us, and with great pleasure we will receive you again as our guest.
Don´t hesitate to contact us with any request you might have, and we will do our best to assist you with the best room available.

Best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Chose this hotel after reading reviews and was certainly not disappointed. As the saying goes "you can't please all of the people all of the time".
Food was plentiful, rooms clean and comfortable and if the entertainment is not to your liking then don't look or listen.
Would recommend and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: We had sea view on third floor and whilst other reviewers say waves and road were noisy, we did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear your holiday lived up to your expectations and we would be pleased to welcome you again in the Bahia Principe San Felipe.

kindest regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Right then here we go. We have just returned from a weeks stay 22-29 May 2013 ALL inclusive at the San Felipe. I am 42yrs old my wife is 44yrs and our daughter is 10 yrs. This hotel was booked solely on the comments on trip advisor prior to booking.

First impression.

Book in was fine and we were given Junior Suite 1411 which was on the 14th Floor and given our red tags which were placed on our wrists (ALL INCLUSIVE !!). On walking down the corridor to our room I felt the hotel looked very dated. On getting to our door I noted that the whole door frame was loose !!!. The room was very clean and generally ok but very dated. The TV was something I used to have 20 yrs ago !!. To say this was a suite was an insult to suites. This room had two bedrooms one with a camp bed for our daughter ! and our bed was two singles pushed together !!. Beds are very hard !!!. The furniture was basic and was ok. The bathroom consisted of a shower over a bath and a separate toilet with no door !!!. The bath is a joke and when you stand in it to have a shower you feel as though you are going to go through it !!!!. The biggest bug bare for me and a danger was the balcony and the balcony doors !!!. The balcony door in our daughters room would NOT lock and is obviously a danger. This was reported straight away and expected it to be done immediately !!. 3 hrs later we again told them when it was then repaired a further hour later. The problem with the balcony doors is that they don't have a dead lock. ANY child could merely flick the switch down and unlock them. There should be a high flick lock to prevent opening. Reference the balcony at 14 floors up you don't want to go out on it. The views are fab from them but if you have kids DONT go on them full stop. What makes it worse is there are two chairs and a table which make it even worse !!!. The hotel is in need of a paint job.

The gardens and pool are FAB. They are attended to all the time and are great.

The food was on the whole was good. I stuck to the freshly cooked things and there was plenty of choice. After a week you are gagging for a curry and something with SPICE !!!. The house red and white wine is very good in the buffet restaurant.

Now, what annoyed me immensely.

The bar inside and Pool bar. Don't serve the same red and white wine as they do in the buffet restaurant. It is of lower quality and this is where the all inclusive means lower standard and smaller glasses/plastic cups !!!!. I was sick of having to go up and get another beer as the cups which they gave you were something you would get at a kids party !!!!. Also the red band meant the grumpy bar staff never came to your table to take your order, they constantly kept their attention on the paying customers !!!. This also is an annoyance. If you have paid all inclusive THAT WHAT IT MEANS to me NOT !!!!!! AT 11PM you now have to pay for your drinks !!!. I never read that !!!!.

Entertainment.

TOTALLY agree with previous comments AWFUL !!!!. Carlos the supposed singer and sax player is on almost every night one night was MORE THAN ENOUGH. He sings is as if he is singing out of a box !!!. The snake and falcony show are also a joke and fully agree with the previous comment on them. Never should be done in a public bar and just another way of flogging photos to kids. Get this, the last night we were there was BINGO IN THE MAIN BAR !!! YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING !!! GET A GRIP. Two nights running we went to Molly Malone's Irish bar in down town Puerto. San Felipe go down there and see how to entertain your guests. ABSOLUTELY FAB. The music was fab proper musicians and they also get you involved !!.

KIDS. If you have them make sure you don't upset the grumpy older generation in the hotel !!!. They seem to think the hotel is theirs and kids should be quiet and behave !!!!!!!.

Overall.

We DID have a good holiday. A room is a room to get your bits washed and sleep. There is too much to do in Puerto to worry about how the room is really except for the balcony. I did request a high room for the view but NOT AT THE EXPENSE OF POSSIBLE DANGER !!. The food is fine but some of the waiters need a kick up the backside. Grumpy or what. Our waiter soon smiled when I gave him 5 euros just to cheer up !! The pool is fab and my daughter and myself throughly enjoyed it. The cleanliness everywhere is FAB as what you would expect. The reviews on here reference this hotel depends greatly on your expectations age etc etc. I'm not here to slag it off but give my opinion. Would I recommend ???? yes for what you pay you do get a lot. Our daughter was free with the website we used inbox me if you want it !. Make sure you go elsewhere for you night entertainment and oh make full use of the beer until 11PM !!!!!!!!!.

Have a great holiday we did.

Room Tip: Lower ones if you have kids the balconies are too dangerous !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you did have a great holiday, in spite of the isues you mention.
About the danger on the balcony, first of all we would like to point out that we comply with all safety regulations that apply to balconies. If our guests prefere not to have seats and table at the balcony, we will inmediatly retrieve them. We also have Junior Suites on a high floor without balcony, there our guests can enjoy the marvelous views without having to worry that their children go out to the balcony unnoticed.

We are sorry to hear you didn´t like the wine in our Poolbar. We serve a differente housewine in the bar and in every restaurant, and always when there is a variety some like a certain wine more than another. Due to safety regulations in the pool bar all drinks are served in plastic cups.

We have informed the Bar Manager about your complaint of the staff, for it is not our policy to be grumpy at all inclusive guests. About the entertainment we have taken note of your comments and will evaluate them.

It pleases us to hear you have had a great holiday overall, and we would like to welcome you again in Bahia Principe San Felipe. You can always contact us before arrival and let us know your room request, so we can assist you with the best room available.

best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Lovely location. Good food. Clean public areas. Pleasant room. Dreadful entertainment. Very unpleasant reception staff who seemed to have a problem with English guests. Small dark haired girl challenged my online booking and told me to pay 140euros to upgrade!! She made my whole booking in experience very stressful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you taking the time to write this review about your recent stay in the Bahia Principe San Felipe.

We understand how stressfull the check-in must be, when on arrival you are told to pay more than you expected and we offer you our most sincere appologies for this inconvenience. With online bookings we have to check all the data carefully on arrival, and if there are inconsistencies we have to correct them. In you case, after double checking our files, we have seen that you made a booking for 2 adults and 1 child. The parameters for childrens tariff are the ages from 2 till 12, your son however has the age of 16. We are sorry you found that our staff was unpleasent to you on comunicating there was an error in your booking.

We hope this unfortunate event did not mark your whole stay with us, and we would gladly receive you again as our guest in Bahia Principe San Felipe.

best regards,

Gemma Oosterbaan
Customer Service Bahia Principe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia Principe San Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe San Felipe

Address: Avda de Colon 22, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Principe San Felipe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bahia Principe San Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
San Felipe Hotel
Bahia Principe San Felipe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Principe San Felipe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.