We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Principe San Felipe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Principe San Felipe to your Saves list
Bahia Principe San Felipe
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda de Colon 22, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
New Milton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had a lovely week here. Room overlooking the pool was well furnished comfortable and scrupulously clean. Food good plenty of choice and buffet area was clean and staff on hand to replace dishes BEFORE they ran out.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view and a higher room we had a junior suite which had a balcony that was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Christine,

Thank you so much for taking Your time and write this nice review regarding Your recent stay here with us at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe. We trully appreciate it.

We are so happy to read that you have enjoyed Your stay with us, the Rooms and specially the food.

We hope to welcome you one more time to enjoy a New memorable vacation.

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    326
    122
    34
    29
See reviews for
258
535
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at the San Felipe all inclusive for 2 weeks. Even so we had to pay 35 euros for a safe. Unfortunately weather was not too good for the 2 weeks. Check in was a bit impersonal but was given a room on the tenth floor (great views) overlooking the sea, coastline and towards the town. Great wrap around balcony. Room a little small, but comfy big bed. The bathroom needed updating but the water was always nice and hot and shower was good over the bath. The safe had to be reprogrammed three times by the reception staff. Restaurant - good choice of food but tended to be very busy most of the time. Had to queue for salad, main course etc. Used al la carte restaurant twice but were disappointed with the food being served barely warm - it was also chilly with no heating. Entertainment was okay but when we had to stay due to rain all day nothing was organised by the hotel. Used local buses and managed to get around. Good location as you are able to walk out of the hotel and along the front to the centre. Overall good hotel and enjoyed all inclusive package.

Room Tip: Room at front for stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Ian,

Thank you so much for taking you time and write this words about Your stay in our hotel. We really appreciate them.

We are sorry for the weather and we are improving our inside enterteiment. That is why we like that our guests write their experience with us, so we can always learn and improve from you.

We hope to welcome you one more time here at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General Assistant Manager at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My self and my boyfriend stayed here for a week at the beginning of November on an all-inclusive basis. Our first impressions of the hotel were good, we were checked-in efficiently and shown to our room. We had a room in the extension part of the hotel which overlooked the pool, which was very nice. The room was spacious and clean, there was a small fridge in the room however it wasn't very cold. The air conditioning in our room didn't work very well, we reported this to reception however the issue did not seem to be properly resolved during our stay and we just had to get used to having a very warm room.

As we were staying in the hotel on an all-inclusive basis we ate in the hotel buffet restaurant almost every day. There was a great selection of foods, including salads, freshly cooked meats and various hot dishes. We found something to suit our tastes at every meal. The staff in the restaurant were pleasant enough however they did seem to favour Spanish guests and served them much more efficiently. As part of our stay we had 2 evening meals in the a la carte restaurants, we went on the Thursday night of our stay to the Italian restaurant. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with the food and the service. The best part of the meal was the wine. On our last night of our stay we had booked the a la carte restaurant again but following the experience the night before we opted not to go and went to the buffet instead.

The pools in the hotel complex are lovely and well maintained. We enjoyed and few days by the pool and swimming in it. For a 10 euro deposit we were able to get a towel for use by the pool which we could change on a daily basis.

The bars both at the pool and in the hotel were good, however the service was often slow and some of the bar staff not very friendly. The cocktails on offer were very good and there was a good selection of sprits.

I went for a manicure during my stay which was very nice and very good value. The beautician who did my manicure didn't speak any English but i managed to get across what I wanted with pointing and gesturing.

The reception staff who we had to speak to on a few occasions were quite helpful but on some occasions it did feel that our requests were a bit of a bother to them and that they didn't appreciate having to speak English to us.

Overall we had a very nice stay and any issues which I have mentioned put aside this was a very nice hotel to stay in. The area which the hotel is in is very nice and there are some good attractions near by such as Loro Park and it was very easy to hire a car to explore the rest of the Island. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends as it was clean and comfortable with a lovely pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you so much for writing this long and detailed comment about Your stay at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe Hotel.

We appreciate Your words about the staff, bars, buffett and Rooms. We are sorry that you did not like our italian restaurant.

We hope that you come another time and we can provide you with an special a la carte dinner.

Thank you one more time and we hope to see you soon again.

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General Assistant Manager at Bahía príncipe San Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montrose
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

just back from a 10day visit this is the 3rd year in a row my wife and myself have been and everything went well. the only downside was the weather with a lot of rain, it would be better if there was more entertainment indoors to allow for this . the hotel is always immaculate with the cleaners always on the go the staff are all very helpful and a special mention to raquel for keeping everyone on their toes with the aquarobics and the daily sports when the weather allowed. the waitresses in the lobby bar were all a good laugh and very efficient and a mention to carmen to whom i just had to catch her eye and the drinks appeared.

Room Tip: pool view rooms quieter with no noise from the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you so much for taking Your time and write this nice review regarding Your récente Saray at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe Hotel. We trully appreciate it, even more when you are comming for the third time in a row. We are sorry for the weather and we are going to improve our entertaiment inside, during the rainning days.

We hope to welcome you one more time next year and please do not hesitate to contact us if you need help or if you want any special room.

Kidest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General Assistant Manager at Bahía Principe San Felipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My partner and I stayed in Junior Suite here for a week on a half-board basis. The hotel appeared very busy. The suite, on the 12th floor was quite comfortable and afforded us a lovely view of the sea and bay. The bed was hard, and not really very comfortable while the shower in the bathroom was not particularly good. The food was ok ... you would not be looking to take a recipe home!! It was, for us, self service, and so you have access to a wide variety of fairly uneventful food. How ever I have to say that my only one complaint was that the staff in the hotel were just shy of being unfriendly. This was the first time we had encountered this in a Spanish hotel and we were kind of taken aback a little. They were reasonably efficient but lacking the warmth we would normally have expected. It would have been lovely to have been able to make a cup of tea in the room rather than having to go down 12 floors to do so!

Room Tip: Sun shines on the back of the hotel in the evenings! Front of hotel has the sound of sea to contend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dejar Tripadvisor user,

Thank you so much for taking Your time and write this comment regarding your recent stay at Bahía Príncipe San Felipe Hotel. We trully appreciate it. We are sorry that the Hotel has not succed your expectations. We work hard every day in order to do It and all our staff is really willing to help.

We hope to welcome you one more time in our hotel and that you give us a new opportunity.

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General assistant Manager at Bahia príncipe San Felipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel was booked as part of a "cheap" all-inclusive November break with Jet2 Holidays.

Prior to arrival, my room requests were handled effiiently, despite the reservation taking several weeks to be received. Gemma at the hotel provided weekly email updates and on arrival, our rooms were exactly as requested (adjacent and on a lower floor).

The hotel is well maintained, with excellent facilities and in a great location. Rooms are large and well furnished. The food in the main restaurant/buffet is well presented and varied. Staff are all keen to be of assistance. Grounds are beautiful, and the pools/tennis court/outside games means there is plenty to do. All rooms have views - front rooms have sea views and sun AM, rear rooms overlook the pool and Mount Teide and sun PM. All balconies are large, with chairs and tables.

What could be inproved?

Air conditioning was not working in either of our rooms. Upon enquiring we were told there was a problem on certain floors. With a little persuasion, fans were provided.

The "Signature" restaurants were very disappointing. Food was pre-prepared and not very warm. A 3 course meal was completed in 45mins. When such consistently high quality food can be provided in the main restaurant/buffet, it is very disappointing that the specialist restaurants were so poor.

Balconies have plenty of room for a couple of sun loungers each.

Overall - an excellent hotel which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. The "All-inclusive" option is the best deal.

Room Tip: Front room for sea view and sun in morning. Rear room for mountain/pool view and sun in the afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Mr Waite,

Thank you for taking your time and write this nice review about your holiday here with us at Bahía Principe San Felipe. We really appreciate it.

We have take note of your comments and I would personally talk with our "A la carte" restaurant team to give them your words and to try to slow them down also. Ufortunately regarding the sun loungers in the balconies is not possible because of security reasons.

Altough we are really happy to read that you have trully enjoyed your vacation and that you had have a good time here with our rooms, pools, tennis court and that you have liked our food and drinks.

Please do not hesitate to contact one more time me or Gema, if you are comming back to our hotel, so we can provide you one more time with the most suitable rooms for you.

Kindest regards and thank you once again!

Ruth Pardo
General assistant manager at Bahía Principe San Felipe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is the first time we went on holiday with Thomas Cook. A taxi was organised to take us to the San Felipe and it was truly the fastest exit we had ever had from an airport. On arrival, we were given a corner bedroom on the 9th floor overlooking both the pool and the beach. The room was very clean with toiletries replenished every day. As all inclusive, the fridge in the bedroom was filled twice weekly. This included 2 beers, cokes etc and 2 bottles of water. There was the tail end of a hurricane when we were there and all the staff did what they could to accomodate the fact we were all in the hotel. Our balcony window was smashed with the hurricane and tapes put up immediately. The next day, measurements were taken and 2 days later the panel replaced. hey could not possibly have worked harder. the meals in the restaurant were excellent. Chicken, fish and pork were cooked by the chef daily with at least another 6 different items both at lunch and dinner. The salads also, were excellent. Omlettes, fried eggs and pancakes were cooked to order and croissants were taken fresh from the oven.The staff were all very pleasant, and the head waiter organised the restaurant with everyone being shown to their table personaly. Drink orders were taken quickly and dishes taken from the table before returning with the next course. A brilliant stay was had. 10 euro deposit ensured a towel at the pool which could be changed daily.

Room Tip: If asking for a specific room ask for 303,403, 503 etc since these have corner balconies. I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionSanFelipe, Subdirectora at Bahia Principe San Felipe, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you so much for your nice comments regarding your recent stay here at Bahía principe San Felipe. We trully appreciate them.

We are so sorry for the waether during your vacation but it is something that we could not control and we really enjoy your comprenhension.

Thank you again for your nice words about our food and specially about our staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you one more time here at Bahía Principe San Felipe.

Kindest regards,

Ruth Pardo
General assistant manager at Bahía Principe San Felipe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Principe San Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Principe San Felipe

Address: Avda de Colon 22, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly H10 San Felipe)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Principe San Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool 1 children's pool Terraces with loungers and sun umbrellas Subtropical garden Towel service (deposit required in reception) BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court 1 buffet restaurant and 2 a la carte restaurants 3 bars Meeting and convention room Golf courses: Real Club de Golf de Tenerife (20 km from the hotel) - Buenavista Golf (45 km from the hotel). Rooms 261 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with views of the sea or Mount Teide and Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: Queen size, king size or 2 twin beds Air conditioning Fully-equipped bathroom: bath tub with shower, hair dryer Bathroom amenities Satellite TV Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Iron and ironing board (available on request) Minibar Safe (additional charge) Sitting room ( Junior Suites) Balcony or terrace Wifi (additional charge) Wake-up call service Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities for children (4-12years) Evening Mini Disco Balloon twisting or face painting workshops Babysitting service (additional charge and prior booking required) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Internet in the hotel lobby (additional charge) Postal and fax services Car park (subject to availability) Pharmacy Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Principe San Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe San Felipe Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
San Felipe Hotel
Bahia Principe San Felipe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Principe San Felipe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.