We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel from hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marquesa Hotel to your Saves list
Marquesa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Quintana 11-13, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“hotel from hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Beds are like sleeping on concrete.food was disgusting. Two weeks I want to forget.would not go back if last hotel on earth.breakfast ravioli fish fingers and mixed vegtables left over from the night before.

Room Tip: Just dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    69
    52
    24
    28
See reviews for
16
112
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our first trip to Tenerife, stayed 24th Feb to 1st March so five nights, B & B basis. Delighted with being right in the heart of Puerto de la Cruz old town. Loved the frontier/Mexican style interior. Room basic but fine with decent bathroom. Loved spending time on the terrace sipping espresso and reading The Times! No wifi in the rooms but they have it in the foyer/reception and the terrace restaurant and the connection is good. As per some other reviews the 'fruit juice' at breakfast isn't great and the toasting machine takes forever... but there's a reasonable selection of hot and cold stuff. I guess it's average for its hotel category. We found things cheap in the town generally eg lovely decent-size ice creams from Freddino's at 3 euros for two of us. Coffees in the Marquesa's own terrace cafe were very good value eg my espresso 1 euro.
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Director General at Marquesa Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Tim,

Thank very much for sharing your comments with all of our community in Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations and had a great time. We look forward to welcome you again in our charming hotel.

Please check the web for special offers and promotion for repeating customer or contact us directly.

Kind regards,

J. C. Delgado
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We're just back from a 2 week stay in room 413. We asked for a room with a balcony but realised that unless we paid the supplement we couldn't have one ( we decided not to bother - good job too because the weather wasn't balcony weather!!) The room was good - a great view of the square and the chiming church clock soon became a friend! There were enough sockets for our needs, the beds were comfortable and the room was kept spotless by the very hard working Housekeeper.We were on B&B and the breakfast was fine - a bit 'samey' but perfectly acceptable and enjoyable, we ate on the Terrace quite a lot and found the food to be lovely and reasonably priced (I can recommend the House Rose!) The restaurant staff worked incredibly hard to deliver excellent service - I would like to thank Jolanda in particular as it was my birthday whilst we were there and she arranged for the Canarian singers to sing Happy Birthday - a small gesture that meant a great deal. As I said the weather wasn't brilliant but obviously that wasn't the hotels fault - but when the sun did shine we went upto the roof to soak up the sun but didn't venture into the icy waters of the small swimming pool!
if we ever return to Puerto de la Cruz I would certainly book here again.

Room Tip: Really cannot make any recommendations as we only saw 413 and we were happy enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Director General at Marquesa Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. Firstly we must apologize for not realizing that you had your birthday during your stay, passports are read here manually and therefore we do not get a notice of bithdays as in hi tech hotels. Nevetheless, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time despite this winter we have some unusual weather.

We are sorry we could not offer your a balcony, most of the times even if you are wishing to pay it is hard because we only have 47 rooms with balconies and not all customers are hill walkers.

Next time let us know it is your birthday as we have two bottles of cava cooling down.

Kind regards,

Juan Carlos Delgado
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ufford, suffolk
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

For the third time, wife and I stayed several days at this lovely old Canarian hotel. Staff are like something out of the 'Rocky Horror Show' but so friendly and helpful. It could not have been better. The rugby scrum at mealtimes seems about the same as before but the food is decent, especially the breakfast. We love this place and will return despite any warts it may have. keep up the good work Marquesa!

Room Tip: go for one high up, and to the side away from the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Director General at Marquesa Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Customers,

Thank you for sharing your comments in the Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays and the hotel met your expectations. Indeed the hotel was buildt in 1712 and some improvements have been done since although when you read some comments it make you think if it still has 12 rooms with no private facilities. The hotel has big plans for renovating in the near future, but first we need the finance, then this is a historical building fully protected so alterations are subject to a big discussion and we do not want to loose our character. Food quality can always be improved and we are working in that direction, staff try hard to offer the best value for money and our customers help us to keep cost under control. I look forward to meet you again in the near future.

Thank you once again and please check our website for special offers and promotions for repeating customers or contact us directly.

Yours sincerely,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRACKLESHAM WEST SUSSEX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have just returned after a week's holiday at this hotel. We found the staff friendly and helpful. It is in a central position facing a pleasant square. The meals were good and varied.

The rooms were comfortable and my only gripe would be was that there was only one power socket in our room. luckily we always travel with adaptors.

We would certainly recommend the Marquessa and would stay there again next time we visit Puerto de la Cruz.

Room Tip: Next time we would book a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Director General at Marquesa Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. Indeed some of the rooms only have one socket available as the others are taken for the TV set and lamps. It is one of these things that were not planned when the hotel was built and surely if the planned refurbishment goes ahead it will be taken into consideration. We are very happy about your comments for the meals, it is hard to please everybody and there is always room for improvement in this field, we try hard to offer the best value for money.

We look forward to meet your again soon.

Kind regards,

Juan Carlos Delgado
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Annes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent. Step inside and you'll be impressed. It ends there. A lot of the rooms are not up to much- we slept in 3 of them. The first was a room at the back overlooking a noisy street. The second was lower down. It had outside space, but I wouldn't call it a balcony because it had no views, except of walls, and as far as I could tell, did not get any direct sun light. It was a back yard, and the room was cold. The third room was bigger, had sun light and a view of the mountain, but not the balcony that we thought we had booked. The food was generally of a very low standard, and if you are a vegetarian, forget it. We ate out a lot. What a damn shame.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Director General at Marquesa Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Customers,

Thank you for sharing your comments and opinions in the Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. As an old hotel with multiple room configuration it is essential that you book a balcony room and pay the supplement to make sure you get one specially now that it is high season and every customer wishes a balcony. We try hard to offer the best value for money and eating a la carte it is also possible in our restaurant but of course not at the HB rates you pay your travel agency when you book but because of the central location there are lots of places to eat around in Puerto de la Cruz.

The hotel is planning a full renovation in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wray, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

we have just returned from a fortnight at the marquesa, a great location with hard working and friendly staff. hotel leaked badly in that thunder storm, but we thoroughly enjoyed the storm, watching it looking out towards Teidi from the main balcony. All the leaks were quickly mopped up.
our room did not have a balcony, and overlooked the hotel rooms opposite, but we did not spend much time in the room so no problem.
only one English channel on the television, so we ate our evening meal late and went for a stroll round after the meal.
Meals were o.k. if a little repetitive, and NO CHIPS......... brilliant
Street noise on a couple of nights till 4a.m. but the hotel itself nice and quiet after about 11p.m
Great location, friendly hardworking staff

Room Tip: Back of hotel might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquesaPlazaHotels, Director General at Marquesa Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with all our potential and repeating guests at the Tripadvisor. We are happy to see that despite you got the storm of the year you enjoyed your holiday after all. Indeed the staff work hard to be able to offer best value for money and hopefully in the near future we can improve services and facilities. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Should you wish to book direct, please check our website regularly to benefit from special promotions and offers for repeating customers.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: Calle Quintana 11-13, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marquesa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Hotel Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquesa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.