We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit this year to the Magec!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Trianflor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Trianflor to your Saves list
Hotel Trianflor
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle Cupido s/n, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dania Magec Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2nd visit this year to the Magec!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our second visit this year to Puerto de la Cruz and also a return visit to the Magec. As with last time, the rooms were exceptionally clean and the staff were very very friendly. Again we opted for the bed and breakfast option. This was no reflection on the hotel food. We enjoyed good hearty breakfasts of the usual - bacon, eggs, toast, fresh fruit, selection of cakes and croissants - we most certainly couldn't complain! However we just love to eat out in Puerto and the central location of the Magec makes it a great choice for allowing us to do just that - close to restaurants, bars and shops. Thanks to Jesus and the staff of the Magec for providing great hospitality and at such good value for money - we got what we paid for - and were very pleased. And thanks again Puerto, for giving us such great restaurants. Needless to say, we will return both to Puerto and to the Magec.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    98
    116
    97
    112
See reviews for
85
209
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

we've just spent a week at the dania magec & although the island of tenerife, the resort, & the weather was as expected, the hotel was far from 4 star. the main reason being the food quality & rooms etc in need of an update. we did however like the quiet pool area on the roof (no noisy kids to spoil what was a fairly relaxing week). theres a few good things to see & do on the island but dont pay the high costs demanded by the holiday reps-its more cost effective to take the bus but some of the entry fees are still rather high. the cable car up teide was one & the entry to loro parc was another although both worth doing. the resort of puerto de la cruz was just about perfect for us. we like plenty of bars etc to choose from but no football shirts/lager louts/english idiots etc.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front. though overlooking the street, its better than the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Well people please don't go here expecting your good old English it is what it says on the map canary island. The food is local traditional food plenty mild seasonings and great food if your not fussy don't go here if your fussy the 7 days we was here it was only local stuff done there way . Plenty of salad fresh fruit and local cakes the local beer dorada was good and cheap spirits a plenty and great weather 109 mid day .the hotel was clean and for time of yr was quiet. Plenty of Spanish on holiday here not many Brits and only a few Germans so no problems with the towels on the pool side beds .I liked it here but living in Spain for 5 yrs made it easy for me with the food lots of Brits moaned about the food but if you never had anything but English probably hard to handle . Also if you got problems walking it is a bit hilly with steep roads I found it best to go zig zag down the streets as I was with my dad who can't get around to well it was an easy way instead of steep descents .well hope you enjoy yours as much as I did adios amigos Choi

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I spent two weeks last month in the Hotel Magec. I would wholly concur with previous reviewers reports. The hotel is very much in need of refurbishment and has clearly seen better times. The food really was not up to any standard I have previously experienced in a supposedly 4 star hotel. However as we booked the holiday with Thomas Cook early in the year, at a very reasonable price, I feel we got what we paid for.

As earlier reports this year have noted, the Hotel Dania was running with guests installed on top floors but having to come across the the Magec for meals. All guests had use of swimming pools in both buildings. The rooms all had balconies and adequate bathroom facilities.

The hotel was pretty clean and we have absolutely no complaints about the staff who were charming and helpful, despite being so overworked that the guests were helping out with table laying and plate emptying. Special mention for the barman who made the most fabulous cocktails in Peurto and deserves to be in a top hotel.

The hotel is well positioned very close the bus station and also to all the pleasures of the old town - historic port, many wonderful restaurants, bistros, etc. and wonderful old squares with shady palm trees, ancient churches, outdoor nightlife etc. Lots of beautiful and historic towns and old ports to visit from this central base.

In summary, one might suggest that if The Hotel Dania/Magec has a revamp and employs adequate staff it would be in a much better position to weather the economic disaster encompassing Europe at present.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the old bus station have a fabulous view of Mount Tiede.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have decided to write this review after staying in this hotel many times over a number of years.
Staying at the Dania/Magec was due to restrictions on my budget not because the hotel was one of the better ones.
Sadly the hotels standards seem to have slipped quite badly in the last couple of times i've visited.
I stayed at the Dania/Magec in the summer for a two week holiday and rather than being in the Dania where i have stayed for many years i found i was staying in the Magec across the road.
It must have been about 12 years since i last stayed at the Magec,so this was a bit of a surprise.
The Dania i was told was closed due to there not being enough guests at the time.
The room i stayed in in the Magec looked dated with rather drab decor and an awfull dark green bedspread, the bathroom had a wooden slatted vent inside where you could clearly hear people on the other side.
The dining room in the Magec is like something from the 1970's,it looks very dated and rundown and in need of total makeover.
. During the many times i have stayed i have found the food here has always been poor and a bit of an issue, but as its one of the cheaper hotels,it's the old saying you get what you pay for in life. The food always seemed to be at its worst on a wednesday for some reason,not sure why!! At least Puerto de la Cruz has a wealth of places to eat out..
This time though on a couple of occasions on going down to breakfast early in the morning i found the tables were not set for breakfast, so myself and a few early risers had to go hunting for the cutlery, i'm not sure why the tables had not been set the night before.
The one good thing that the two hotels have is a good location next to the old bus station and near to the old town.
It's just such a shame that both the Dania and the Magec seem to be rather tired looking and dated now and in need of a revamp.
Who ever owns the hotels really needs to think about refurbishing them, to keep guests wanting to return, as for me i have decided to try another hotel next time i go to Puerto.de la Cruz,it's time to move on ..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on- Trent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We visited this hotel last year and the hotel was great, but this year the hotel seems to have dropped their standards. The food was of very poor quality and very cheap cuts of meat, infact the food was so bad, both of us suffered either sickness and diarrhoea on several occasions, causing us to eat out.There was no supervision of staff and no routine and there was no hygiene standards.Restaraunt service was terrible due to not enough staff. Complaints to the management fell on deaf ears. There is no health and safety at the pool areas of either hotel.The entertainment at the Magec was not good either, which was a singer, singing the same songs every night for 3 weeks. The rooms in both hotels were excellent and comfortable and clean, but this hotel is within yards of the bus station and local taxi rank and restaraunts, so sleep can become a problem, due to noise. We will not ever be going back to either of these two hotels. K H

Room Tip: Rooms are good and clean with good maid service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel is ok great base as right next to bus station but food is awful we only ate in 4 nights out of the 11. Hotel needs up date but is very clean, staff were friendly enough but under staffed. There is only 2 plug sockets in rooms 1 has the tv and other has the fridge, you had to pull one of these out to use but the fridge socket was hanging off the wall so couldn't use we did report this but nothing happened .Hotel is about 10 min walk down very steep banks to the square where bars and restaurants are, no good for any one with walking difficulties . Wouldn't stay here again better 4 stars around and better location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Trianflor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trianflor

Address: Calle Cupido s/n, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dania Magec Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#27 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Trianflor 4*
Number of rooms: 411
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Trianflor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dania Magec Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Dania Magec
Hotel Trianflor Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Trianflor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.