We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Experience Tenerife

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live Experience Tenerife to your Saves list
Be Live Experience Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Tenerife)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
debyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a cheap week at the luabay. dont come expecting the ritz you won't be disappointed.its clean and the food is reasonable.we were going to have a cottage in Scotland at Easter week but this was cheaper for two half board with thompsons so no complaints here

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Front Office Manager at Be Live Experience Tenerife, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Gemmaandjessie,

Thank you for the time you took to write a review regarding your stay in Luabay Tenerife. We are glad to hear you made a decision to change your holiday destination and chose our hotel.

We would be very pleased to see you back in Luabay Tenerife in the near future!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    338
    215
    90
    35
See reviews for
171
471
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Recently return from a nice break in this hotel. I was pleased with the standard and service we received. The rooms are as shown on the hotels information, and were cleaned to a good standard daily. The pool is a little on the small side for the size of the hotel and the infant pool was closed for our stay, there are different sunbed areas across three levels which is nice, could do with more beds as there is the space for more to be added (could also do with some new parasols and bases). Lifeguard on duty each day and worked hard paying great attention to what people were doing and watching out for any accidents in and around the pool.

Food good for buffet style serving this number of people , could always make a nice salad and normally something on the hotplates for mains and always a choice of 4-6 different flavoured ice creams for the kids as desert.

Evening entertainment could be improved thought it was a shame that there wasn't a childrens disco before shows and over Easter weekend Merdian Blue seemed to be on every night. the Charlie Chaplin show was very good and definitely worth watching other nights we tended to walk to the square which was only around 15 min walk even with young children or just out to one of the local bars for a quite drink.

Puerto de la Cruz is a lovely area definitely worth the longer drive from the airport, so much greener then the south and so different to the bar after bar in las America's. Lovely to open the curtains each morning to see the snow on the mountain and yet the sun and blue sky.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Front Office Manager at Be Live Experience Tenerife, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Bess24,

Thank you for the time you took to write a review regarding your stay in Luabay Tenerife and for your lovely comments regarding our location, food and room service.

As for the entertainment, your comments are already taken in consideration. It is very important for us to receive both positive and negative feedback, as it helps us to be constantly improving our service and offer enjoyable holidays to our guests.

Your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel and I have to say I rarley leave reviews but i wouldnt want anyone to do what i did and waste their money paying for a 4 star that definatley isnt four star.
The sheets and towels were frayed and holey.
The laminate in the room had huge gaps in it and the floor tiles on the balcony were loose.
The beds were so hard even with a blanket over the top of the mattress the bed it made no improvement and complaining was pointless.
The bathroom was huge and the rest of the room was tiny approx 2ft of space to walk around the bed.
The bathroom wasnt clean there was mold around the bath and the screen was filthy with lime scale, the thermostatic tap shower effort gradually scalded you as you showered.
The floors throughout the room hadnt been mopped from the last occupant as there were sploges and sticky marks on the floor and they werent mopped the whole week we were there as the sploges attested.
Both balcony chairs were broken and the floor was dirty including a lovely bundle of someone elses hair.
The meat from the grill was raw in the middle on four separate occaisions - this is going to kill someone.
The rest of the food was passable at best - my husband who is not that picky ate chips and salad for most meals or made sandwiches from cheese until we gave in and ate out at the local restaurants.
The bar served all drinks in plastic beakers - now i am an adult and have been for some time and i like my drinks in glasses - this was in the main bar NOT the pool bar where i expect a beaker for safety reasons.
Dont expect the waiters in the restaurant to bring you a drink from the bar they won't once they see your AI brand - sorry band.
Dont expect any enterainment worth watching its all poor and involves the same singing act two nights a week or live birds or the real thrill people dancing around whilst wearing lightshades - not sure what was going on there.
The pool tables were broken for most of the week.
All in all the holiday was a bit of a wash out we werent impressed with the hotle and the resort areas and beaches were generally poor and dirty some areasa had been improved and were plesant but on the whole not somewhere i will revisit or recommend.

Room Tip: book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a bad visit to Puerto De La Cruz in February, where we decided to go up market, see other reviews. So we could have the holiday we missed we returned to Puerto De La Cruz and stayed at Luabay this April. At half the price the holiday we had was 100% better! We have stayed here 6 times and although it is not 4 star it is a very honest hotel. It does not try to be something it is not and provides excellent value for money. Even with my wife and daughter spending a fortune in a designer shop in the middle of town the holiday was still over £600 cheaper than our February holiday.

It is not worth going all inclusive. There are so many cheap places to eat and drink in the area that it is not cost effective e.g. we spent £260 in total for the week [this included trainers for my daughter]. This included drinking in the hotel most nights, not cheap but some good nights entertainment - magic act and Spanish dancing.

You are in touch with a feeling of Spain in this hotel. Many of the locals live in the immediate area, there are a lot of Spanish people using the beach and the running track opposite the hotel is very popular - one day there were over a 100 goats using the track!

We will be returning for a seventh visit next February.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have good views all round and the best weather throughout the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Front Office Manager at Be Live Experience Tenerife, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Simplymark,

Thank you for choosing Luabay Tenerife for your holidays. It is a pleasure for us to know that you are happy with the choice you made.

We would be very pleased to see you back in Luabay Tenerife in the near future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

no balcony in single room, but i knew this when booking, otherwise room was ok with nice double bed. never went to any any evening entertainment apart from quick look as passing entrance....looked and sounded pretty dismal to me but room was always full. nice big armchairs/sofas in lounge. wi-fi expensive. food in restaraunt was always cold even when i was on occasion one of the first in at evening meal....especially the soup. the rep was pretty much useless i thought at the welcome meeting and never bothered with her. she even told me to use a bar 50 yards from hotel for access to free wi-fi when in fact its been closed for 18 months ??????? i still enjoyed my stay though...as i am pretty much easy pleased. i did think the beer was a bit pricey tho at £2 approx. for small glass....no pints ? bar staff miserable too but reception were good. would i go back .... probably if i got the same deal, no if i had to pay much more.

Room Tip: was on 8th floor at back of hotel....no road noise and nice view of mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Front Office Manager at Be Live Experience Tenerife, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Coleybloke,

Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed review regarding your recent stay in Luabay Tenerife.

We are also grateful for pointing out the minor issues that could be improved. As for the food being luke warm, your comments are already taken in consideration. It is very important for us to receive both positive and negative feedback, as it helps us to be constantly improving our service and offer enjoyable holidays to our guests.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My family and I just returned from two week stay at this hotel we had three rooms on 7th floor.

I agree with some of the things that have already been said I had read reviews prior to going so wasn't surprised, small balconies, no mirror in bedroom area. Air conditioning a bit iffy first week but then became better.

Check in ok, reception staff slow but friendly. Always helpful if we asked anything.

Cleaning of room thorough each day with fresh towels etc,

Food of good standard for this type of hotel, wait staff excellent, in fact all restaurant staff helpful friendly and efficient.

Pool area yes I agree shortage of beds, we did always get beds but we were always up early and if we left removed our things and didn't save beds for our return.

Kiddies pool put out of service with no reason given and was never refilled whilst we were there.

There were a number of lifeguards on a rota but then a female lifeguard came in duty and she was excellent, very efficient, friendly but also firm, advising on different aspects of safety but also trying to police beds being left with towels and no bodies on them, she removed towels and got grief of selfish guests. She needs to be applauded for her customer care. Not have her life made more difficult by lack of beds.

Entertainment we found on the whole very good but want to comment on two points.

The group meridian blue on far too much, we love dancing so was ok for us, but not everyone's cup if tea, but what we didn't like was the invasion by lots of locals on the nights the group was on just to dance, a) leaving little room for hotel guests b) dictating to group what to play therefore dance to next. Why does hotel encourage this practice.

Second point, one night there was crazy circus act, a man dressed and acting like Charlie Chaplin he was absolutely brilliant. Show meant to start at 9.30 but he started well before amusing kids with balloons, and tricks and continued long after show officially finished, may I suggest he is on more and meridian blue less.

There were two magic acts one good one bad

The price of glass of beer was ridiculous 2.25e for small wine glass of beer, come on.

Lovely views of mountain, hills and sea.

Good location for beach, buses, town centre.

This was our first visit to PDLC but won't be our last.

I would return to luabay teneriffe and would recommend. But would suggest some changes are made.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Front Office Manager at Be Live Experience Tenerife, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear 1nathanj,

First of all let us thank you for your wonderful review of our staff members, our facilities, location, entertainment and food quality. Be sure we will pass on your comments to all our departments, as it helps us to improve further.

We also regret that you did not have the information about our kiddies pool. It coincided with the renovations carried out to provide a better service for our infant guests.

And, of course, we will be extremely pleased if you chose Luabay Tenerife for your next visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The outside of the hotel, looks like 1970 block of flats, but it looks like the interior of the hotel has been modernised and is of a high standard. We stayed in room 323 the room was adequate and much as expected, the wife was disappointed that the only mirror in the apartment was in the bathroom, not by the dressing table, the balcony was very small, but the views were okay, as we spent very little time on it, it made no difference to our holiday

We found the food in the restaurant was much the same as most of the all inclusive hotels we have stayed at, you could not complain as there was plenty of choice and all was well cooked, as we where half board we paid for a bottle of wine, average price was 12/16 Euros or a half glass of beer was 2.25, we found the price for the water was very expensive 1.95 for a small bottle. We also found the staff service was excellent.

The pool area, the real disappointment on this holiday, This hotel has thirteen floors a average of say 30 rooms each floor, a large hotel, the total number of sun beds for this hotel was 106, I was so frustrated at the lack of sun beds I counted them all. It is pathetic, guests were sitting on benches or lying on towels on the grassed area, and this is only April, if you went for lunch for 45 min you could lose your beds the holiday rep warned us of this at the meet and greet, she said the hotel had been informed of the problem, but nothing had been done. Its not about people hogging the sun beds, it’s about the lack of them that causes the problem. Get your act together on this Luabay.
You can get free towels from reception for a deposit price of 10 Euros this you get back as long as towels are returned at the end of the holiday.

As we are near our Sixties the entertainment was okay for us, better than some hotels we have stayed in, if you’re younger I think it has to be into town for you.

As for the town centre it’s a Twenty minute walk or Five minutes in a taxi, 4 Euros, we ate at a restaurant called Pomadoros you go down the steps and you overlook the bay, brilliant view during the day, the food was excellent, and not expensive

For entertainment we went to the town square, there is a bar in the middle that had excellent entertainment for us, Thursday night there was a soul singer who was fantastic, and on the Friday they had a rock group who had the place rocking.

If you want to have a good view of this hotel, go to YouTube type in Luabay and you will see two videos of this hotel.

We enjoyed our holiday, but I hope the hotel sorts the lack of sun beds out before the summer season starts.

Benjy Liverpool

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Front Office Manager at Be Live Experience Tenerife, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Benjy,

Thank you very much for being our guest and sharing your experience.

Your comments about our staff is very much appreciated, as they encourage us to continue growing and providing an excellent service to our customers.

Be sure to study your feedback carefully in order to see what can be changed and where improvements can be implemented. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again and show you that changes are being carried out in accordance with our guests’ feedback.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Live Experience Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Tenerife

Address: Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Tenerife)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Experience Tenerife offers an enviable location at Puerto de la Cruz, it is located only yards away from the spectacular volcanic beaches at "Playa Jardin" and 5 minutes walk from the town centre. It has a top-notch service and completely renovated rooms with fantastic views to the sea or over Mount Teide and the Orotava Valley. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Be Live Experience Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Tenerife Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Florida Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Florida Tenerife
Florida Hotel Tenerife
Be Live Experience Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live Experience Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.