We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Tenerife

Save Saved
You added Luabay Tenerife to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luabay Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Shropshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Booked the luabay in the south on line but ended up here... was very disappointed. Food very boring the same day in day out. Pool area not clean. Building is just like a block of concrete. Entertainment at night was good though. Had to pay to use the fridge in your room!! Pre booked a late check out and was locked out of the room come 12 even though checked several times this had been done due to the incorrect hotel we ended up in. Would not go again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    296
    171
    73
    25
See reviews for
135
366
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Myself & partner visited the Luabay for the first time 10th-17th Dec and were both very, very impressed, particularly with the hotel layout, staff friendliness and the food. We had a mountain/ street view on 7th floor and found it to be quiet and relaxing. The staff were always helpful and cheery and the room cleaning service excellent & un-intrusive. We were early-to-bed as we were so busy during the day so never saw the evening entertainment in the bar (the pool tables and giant chessboard are a great idea for after dinner), we never got disturbed by other guests or outside noise - as the hotel is on the edge of town it is perfect walking distance to the town centre and bus stops in one direction or to Loro Parque/ the old town in the other, and remians quiet. Don't be put off by the google earth pictures, it may look like a building site in front of the hotel, but is actually quite a pleasant community athletics track and tiered gardens/ dog walking area/ storm channels all across the road. The food at the hotel is excellent! So much choice! -you would have to be a secret mayonaise drinker to not find something great to fill your plate :-) I would recommend getting up to Mount Tiede at the start of your trip if you can as the road up was closed when we were there due to a very big storm/ localised flooding, the bus station down the road has a once a day bus there&back. If you can, you MUST go to the Loro Parque! It is the best thing since sliced bread - Very much on a par if not better than Busch Gardens (Florida). If any hotel management are reading - Thank you for a very, very pleasant stay! The only things I would maybe change from a guests point of view are: 1) It would be really nice if you could have Wi-fi in your room (for a charge of course) rather than having to use the communal internet room. and 2) The fridge in the room is in a cupboard with no ventilation and the top of the cupbard was hot and affected the room temperature -perhaps something to consider looking at? Other than that, an excellent hotel all round. I have recommended the hotel to family and friends already, Muchas Gracias.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain room view - the sea view balconies can be looked into by the neighbouring hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Before travelling to this hotel I read some reviews. They are always interesting and I wonder what people expect. Perhaps the problems is who they booked with and their expectations. This hotel has 12 floors and each floor musty have 50 rooms,that is a lot of people when full.However on my visit it was not full but busy. The hotel was clean, the staff polite. The food was varied and plentiful. It could have been warmer on occasions, it really depends what time you get the dining room and how greedy some guests have been in their selection. It does not of course account for the rudeness of some.
As for the comments on the beds, in most of the hotels I have stayed at in Spain or The Canary Islands. They are certainly not as comfortable as in England. You know what to expect after a few visits.
I usually like to visit Spain or The Canary Islands at this time of the year and this is a hotel I would use again. Providing the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Second visit this autumn returning on 7th December after spending 11 nights at this hotel.
Rooms are soundproofed and very quiet, views excellent, food more than adequate and location perfect. I would recommend this hotel, close to most amenities and a short walk to town. If you want a full English breakfast and Yorkshire puddings it's not for you.

Room Tip: High floors for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We returned from this hotel yesterday after a week stay. Firstly we thought we were going to the Luabay in Las Americas so beware there are three Luabay hotels! On arrival the reception staff were very cheery and helpful. Our room was on the fifth floor with a view of Mount Teide and the sea to the side. The room was adequate, not what you would expect from a four star but clean - the bed covers were not ironed and were an unfortunate colour which made them look drab and well worn. The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable but the Thomson reps, who were excellent, arranged for a 'topper' which turned out to be some blankets on top of the mattress - however this worked and I was able to sleep. We were in the restaurant at around 9.10pm on our first night to find that the food was cold, dried up and not much variety - it was disgusting - it was difficult to find a table because they had all been cleared and within minutes the food was being cleared away - the restaurant was supposed to be open until 9.30 pm. However, we gave the hotel the benefit of the doubt and tried again in the morning - the food was again freezing and unappetising with no choice.Again we did get help from the excellent Thomson reps who suggested several solutions and we came to a compromise of a refund for evening meals (£56 for 12 evening meals wasn't worth it really) -and we would eat out at night changing to a b&b arrangement. We tried one more brekfast but gave up - there are plentiful restaurants nearby and used them instead. Apart from that the hotel is in need of refurbishment including the pool area, the sunbeds, the terraces and public areas. There are no snacks to be had unless you are all inclusive so you have to go out over lunch time rather than spend time in the hotel pool area. We fell for Puerto de la Cruz however and although only had two days sunshine we found it to be beautiful, relaxing and the people are fantastic! We will be back but not to the Luabay!

Room Tip: High room with view over Teide and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We recently returned from a holiday at The Luabay in November. We have been to this Hotel many times including two visits last year. The Hotel is in a quiet part of Puerto and staff and facilities are excellent. The staff being very attentive in every way, this includes the front desk, all the waiters and cleaning staff. The food is excellent with a choice to suit everyone. There were excellent shows from visiting artists including a resident duo playing all the dance music to suit everyone. We shall be returning again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and facing Mount Teide, beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Having stayed in this hotel on four seperate occasions over the last five years, you can be sure of the quality of the hotel, staff and especially the food is top notch, the location is also great, just five minutes walk to a nice sandy beach (Black sand) with good resaurants en route, safe bathing with lifeguard and ten minutes in the opposite direction, the town centre with good shops, bars etc. real Spanish feel, not touristy like the south of the island, also just ten minutes walk to Lauro Park with its killer whales, sea lions etc really good park, one of the best ive seen on my travels around the world, as good as anything in USA very clean, animals so well looked after. From the hotel is also a great view of Mount Tede, snow capped as late as April, some times it causes problems with clouds gathering so it will be sunny in the south and north, so if not too good for about five euros and thirty minutes on the local bus, you can be in Santa Cruz with loads to do, or ten minutes on another bus to the beach (Golden sand) man made but very nice with some great little beach bars serving local specialities, really good fruit and flower market in city with plenty of old Spanish buildings (Take the open bus tour, its very good)

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a high room as there is traffic noise, but really not bad, i am a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for returning to our hotel and writing this review about your experiences. We are very glad to hear that you still enjoy every part of your holiday and were especially satisfied with the food we offer and our staff. It will be a great pleasure to have you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luabay Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Tenerife

Address: Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luabay Tenerife 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new angle on Puerto de la Cruz ...The Luabay Tenerife is located only yards away from the spectacular volcanic beaches at "Playa Jardin" and 5 minutes walk from the town centre.It has completely renovated rooms with fantastic views out to sea or over to Mount Teide and the Orotava Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Luabay Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Tenerife Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Florida Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Florida Tenerife
Florida Hotel Tenerife
Luabay Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.