We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Hotel. Nothing Amazing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Tenerife

Save Saved
You added Luabay Tenerife to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luabay Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Standard Hotel. Nothing Amazing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to this hotel mid June 2013 as a group of five 21 year old girls looking for a break and to explore the island.

Firstly for the price that we paid to stay at the hotel the room was amazing. Very modern and stylish. As for the rest of the hotel, it is also modern and up-to-date with its style. There is a dodgy lift, the lift on the far left... So try and avoid this!

Food is terrible. There was not much local food that was served and was served was bland. On multiple occasions plastic and metal pieces were found in our food. The manager did not do much about it, apart from taking the plate away.

The pool was a fair size however there was not enough sun beds for people. However there are more sunbeds available around the hotel and chairs to sit on.

The beach was a 2 minute walk away from the hotel, with black sand. I personally thought it was amazing and quiet.

WiFi is available in the hotel but is very expensive. Do not buy the WiFi here, there is an internet cafe next door which is very cheap!

The hotel is about 1.5 hours away from the airport and is 5 minutes away from Loro Park, one of the main attractions of Tenerife,

All in all a good holiday and hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
You review is very much appreciated, Reena and your comments and suggestions help us improve our service, we are sorry our food service did not find your taste and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience. Your suggestions about WiFi will be forwarded to the correspondent department and we hope we can welcome you again so you can see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    279
    171
    74
    25
See reviews for
138
370
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have just got back from a fantastic week-long all-inclusive break, booked through Thomson. The reviews below seem to fluctuate a bit so here's the truth.

Hotel Luabay is 4* so if you're expecting the moon and stars it might be worth going elsewhere. It's also a reasonably-priced Thomson package holiday in Tenerife, not Sandals Jamaica. If you're still keen after that reality check, you'll have a great time!

The hotel is situated in the north of the island, far away from the booze fest in the south. Reception were always helpful and spoke great English. Our room was perfect, with lovely views of both the sea and Mount Teide. The bathroom was clean and the bedroom sizeable.

The pool area is on the smaller side but you won't find much bigger. There's also a comfortable chill out area if you don't mind sunbathing away from the pool (but closer to the bar). The bar itself was brilliant, with San Miguel on draft and various iced cocktails. Personally, I would recommend the Luabay. Loved the comment below about the grey-haired raincloud that was behind the bar most evenings. Everyone else was a joy to speak to, especially 'Mig' (short for Miguel) and Ramon the restaurant manager. The food probably wasn't quality enough to feed Kate and William but there was enough variety to pick out a nice dinner. My highlight was the Gofio ice cream for dessert.

The evening entertainment was terrible but that's part of it - not sure Mumford and Sons included Tenerife on their latest tour. "Meridian Blue" played on 2 nights and I think the shrill voice of the female singer was close to breaking a few windows. But go the bar, have a drink, enjoy yourself! The entertainment staff were very friendly and there was a good choice of activities each day.

As for Thomson, the experience couldn't have been better. The flights were on time and straight forward, same for the coach transfers. The holiday rep in charge of looking after the hotel guests couldn't have been better. He delivered a super informative welcome meeting and was clued up about everything to see on the island, particularly on where is nice to go in Puerto. Me & my girlfriend got on with him really well and he was a sociable/likeable guy. I would completely disagree with the overly harsh comment on 10th July - our group was filled with primarily older couples and the Thomson rep was just as enthusiastic in speaking to them as he was to us (of the younger generation). I do hope that your next hotel experience brings a bit more positivity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are glad to know the hotel fulfilled your expectations and is nice to see you describe our hotel as LuaMazing. It would be an honor to welcome you and your girlfriend again as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked this 2 week all inclusive holiday with Thomson approximately 3 weeks before our departure which was on 27th July. For what we paid we thought it was excellent value for money. Yes there were some issues however this didn’t detract from us having a wonderful holiday mainly because we made the best of it with some great people that we met. There was a good mix of nationalities, mainly Spanish on their hols from the mainland plus German, Italian, quite a few Russians and of course us Brits (hello to all the gang we met from Manchester).

We agree with the comments that the hotel is nearer to a 3 and not a 4 star. The pool and surrounds ARE small for the numbers of people occupying the hotel and the dining room, particularly at breakfast, can be very busy and cramped. The food seems to be the most contentious issue but to be honest we didn’t have any problems. Pork, chicken, turkey, steak, burgers, fish and even “English sausages” were served at different times at the grill station. Queues did build up and hence perhaps some of the under-cooking issues could arise as a result. There are also salads, precooked meals (sometimes with a strange mix of sauces), loads of fresh fruit and other puds. Veggies may need to be careful that what they are eating may not be the same as what it says on the labels, particularly the soups.

The all-inclusive drinks are good, daft beer was changed part way through to San Miguel. Soft drinks, spirits and wine were all very drinkable but not so sure about cocktails.

The staff are great considering the amount of work they do. Bar staff in particular work very hard and try to crack a joke, even closing the bar 2 minutes before they should do at midnight. The irate German banging on the door didn’t seem to be amused though. Be warned get there early to stash up your late drinks! As mentioned in a previous review one barman was as miserable as sin. Yes, the grey haired man with glasses. Say Hola and wait for the grunt. We did manage to make him smile on the last day just before coming home!

Our room was on a high floor which had a view of sea and mountains. The room was clean with no sign of any bugs. Not the case late at night in the outdoor seating area. We enjoyed the Elton John tribute and the Charlie Chaplin acts, nothing else to our taste really.

The hotel is well located for Playa Jardin and Loro Parque (10 mins walk) and also the main town about 15 – 20 mins walk away reached by several routes (not very interesting until you reach the centre itself though). The town and hotel were particularly busy at week-ends. Do try to walk around the town centre in the evening as it has totally different atmosphere than during the day.

To all those staff and new friends who played some part in making this a lovely holiday a big THANK YOU.

Room Tip: Definitely high floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed our staff and meeting new friends. Your feedback is very important for us and we will look into your comments about the dining room getting somewhat busy and food that could be improved. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future and make your experience even better than this time. Thank you very much for recommending Luabay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Booked through Thomson TUI Holidays..Firsty Twin beds for a couple not very romantic.Toilet Overflow running throughout the night so sleepless nights for 4 nights.Bad sewage smell in Bathroom and needed to buy Disinfectant and use twice daily to get rid of the smell.Black particles present in water from hot taps..(looked like charcoal/carbon) from filtering system.Complained to Thomson but they kinda tried to pass the buck onto the hotel. Even Thomson representative confirmed sewage smell was a regular complaint.Room doors bang very loudly so light sleepers will hear other guests coming and going.Restaurant plates all imprinted with HF which was the previous hotel name Hotel Florida. Food Choices basic not a 4* menu..Not all Lift Floors meet floor level when lift door opens causing a trip hazzard. Internet 1 euro for 10 mins a complete rip off!..TV had one English Channel out of 30+ and that was BBC World News. Main TV in Hotel Lounge had CNN but no sound. Shabby black faux leather seating at Excursion Desk.Thomson should re-think there place with this hotel especially as there Representative was more interested in selling excursions and chatting up young girls than looking after Customers!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

It didn't start well the flight was 3 1/2 hours late.
We had asked for a high floor twin room.
Thomson booking to the hotel said low floor double
and that it was we got.
As we didn't arrive until 11.40pm instead of 8pm there had been no provision
for any kind of food for 8 people that arrived at this time.
The reception staff on duty told us there is a café opposite, go there if you want food.
They could nothing about the room until the morning.
In the morning reception staff could not have been more helpful.
Marta said that she would sort out a high floor room as soon as one became vacant and they were a lot of people checking out that day.
We didn't even unpack so the move to another room was easy.
That's where the good stops.
We had not paid much for the holiday so our expectations were not to high.
The was terrible to say the least and can believe what some people must be used to eating if they think that the food here is good.
It was almost the same 3 grill items for lunch and dinner everyday.
The cooking staff (AND I USE THE TERM VERY LIGTHLY) had no idea of basic hygiene
what so ever. They used the same utensils for raw and cooked food even though they were numerous times about this.
They just seemed to have pride in what they served.
SEE THE PHOTO OF THE"COOKED" CHICKEN
The restaurant staff were very pleasant but nowhere near enough of them to keep up,
if you didn't queue up to be at the door to get in when restaurant opened then on most days we were there you had to clean a table to use.
The pool area is tiny and surrounded by tower blocks and very noisy with a lot of sun beds crammed in.
The water in the pool was covered in a layer of oil from people not showering before using it even though there are 2 showers, there was also a lot of hair floating on it. we didn't try to use it again.
The bar was not to bad but under staffed again so there could be 20 people queuing to get a drink at times and the staff worked hard and kept a smile.
The rooms are small but very clean as is the rest of the hotel.
There was not even a mirror on the wall of the room, no chair and the room safe not even screwed down and there want 2,40 euros a day for that. You also have to pay to use the fridge in your room.
On the last note I can only say that the reason people don't get food poisoning is that eat in the café across the road, we did and a lot of people and staff from the hotel eating there.
I certainly would not go back to this hotel but we spoke to people on the flight home who had stayed the Luabay in Adeje and they said that it could not of been more different.
Well Done Thomson

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Graham, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel and helping us improve for the future. We hope despite some negative points you are mentioning, our staff made up for some of the inconveniences and that you still enjoyed a relaxing holiday. We take your feedback very serious. Your complaints will be dealt with within the corresponding departments and we hope we get a chance to show you that changes are being made on a return visit. Thank you very much for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

There have been many changes in this hotel in a short space of time.
The hotel seemed very understaffed in all departments.
All the staff,especially in the dining room, worked really hard and were anxious to please.We appreciate their kind friendly ways and their professional approach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us. We will forward your feedback about a lack of staff to the responsible department and truly hope you enjoyed your stay nonetheless. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Got this hotel for a great price! After reading reviews on here I wasn't sure what to expect! It was great me and my boyfriend went. We're both 22! There was many other young couples! There was plenty of English people! I couldn't fault the food it wasn't changed much. But what there was it was nice. Everyone was friendly the room was clean. Overall I had a brilliant holiday! Enjoyed every bit of it and I'm glad I booked it even after reading the other reviews!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luabay Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Tenerife

Address: Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luabay Tenerife 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new angle on Puerto de la Cruz ...The Luabay Tenerife is located only yards away from the spectacular volcanic beaches at "Playa Jardin" and 5 minutes walk from the town centre.It has completely renovated rooms with fantastic views out to sea or over to Mount Teide and the Orotava Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Luabay Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Tenerife Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Florida Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Florida Tenerife
Florida Hotel Tenerife
Luabay Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.