We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standards - value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Tenerife

Save Saved
You added Luabay Tenerife to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Luabay Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“High standards - value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I wasnt expecting much from such a bargain price but I was pleasantly surprised. I booked a single room and got a double terrace room which as the whole hotel had been extensively refurbished.the room was quiet and cleaned to a high standard, room T14. From the reception staff to the dining room and cleaning staff everyone was friendly and couteous. The restaurant was consistsntly providing high quality of food and service, the food was both varied and fresh . The evening entertainment was of high quality and the entertainment area was full which isnt always the case with hotel entertainment. Pool area's clean and safe. Did I miss anything out? oh yes I would certainly visit this hotel again! Well done Luabay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Leslie, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and for you very kind words. We are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness and high standard of our hotel as well as the quality of our food and friendliness of our staff. It is great to know you enjoyed every part of your holiday and we are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    273
    158
    68
    25
See reviews for
122
340
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elmer Sands, Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Whilst I agree with a comment about the hotel being suitable for over 55s I would not say this is a negative point to make for us over 55s. It was a great hotel and exceeded my expectations. The food was plentiful, well presented, well cooked and varied but if you are expecting British fare this is not for you. For those of us who travel abroad and want to experience the local food and entertainment this hotel is a must. I can't fault it. The hotel was clean, the rooms comfortable and the facilities very good. The all-inclusive option is a must. Although the house drinks are included in the all-inclusive option you won't be disappointed with the wine being served. For those expecting a family atmosphere complete with entertainment for the kiddies this is not the hotel for you, nor is the resort. Try Playa-del-Americas or Los Christianos. There were Brits complaining about the hotel but they were obviously in the wrong hotel/resort for their tastes.

Room Tip: Near the top floor to avoid any evening noise that may occur. This was not a problem. The lifts are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester le street
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

just back from this hotel had a week's holiday with my sister had a few issues with the food as it was very repetitive the pool has limited sun bed's so if you don't get down in time you have no chance of getting one, and you are timed for how long you leave you sun bed for if it is more than one hour your towel is removed ha ha , all the staff are good and happy to help ! we arrived at 12.30 am and was told if we needed a drink or water to walk to the bar round the corner to women on there own late at night DON'T THINK SO " room's are clean and tidy we were on the 12th floor so view was great ! hotel had a lot of older people but as am 47 my self it wasn't a problem but if you are young it's not the hotel for you " entertainment is the usual ok hope my opinions have helped .

Room Tip: sea view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Helen, thank you very much for your review and feedback on your stay with us. We are glad you were overall satisfied with our staff and the hotel in general. Your comments about our food service and sun beds will be passed on to the responsible departments and looked into in more detail. We hope we can welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I visited this hotel with a friend in April 2013, the hotel is lovely and very comfortable, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the entertainment is good, the food in the self service restaurant is great - and that's saying something from a vegetarian who has lived previously on omelettes, there was a good choice of dishes and always a good variety of lovely meals. Can't wait to return in September 2013. Puerto de la Cruz is a pretty resort.

Room Tip: No need to book a sea view as the view from the back of the hotel is just as good, lovely views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here between 31st May-7th June. I am in my late 20's and my friend mid 40's. Personally we felt too young for this hotel as it is full of 55 year old plus. There is even a blood pressure monitor in the library!

Upon arrival we were given a double bed when we booked a twin via our holiday company. We arrived at 1.30am so it wasn't the best of starts however the night receptionists were very pleasant and quickly gave us a twin room. The room was adequate with a small balcony, the room was quite smelly even when we aired it by leaving the balcony door open for hours.

The food is good with lots on offer however towards the end of the week, we felt the food was repetitive.

The staff were all friendly however the reception team were not very helpful with any questions we had. The spa has been closed and under renovation for months we later found out from our Thomson rep. When we spoke to reception, he told us we could pay to use the pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and gym at the hotel across the road. I was surprised about this especially as that hotel is much nicer than the Luaby.

The entertainment is great if you like to dance to older music - 3 times a week they have the same band entertain and the other nights there is a disco after the entertainment.
I personally think the entertainment was rubbish - the animal show was 3 snakes which took 20 minutes to show people then they spent the rest of the time going round for photo opportunities. They told people off for taking pictures of their own kids on personal camera as photo's are only allowed by the entertainment team so they can charge you for the privilege. The falcon show was 2 owls again, 20 minutes showing the owls and the rest of the time was used for pictures. The crazy party games was musical chairs. The daytime entertainment included darts, stretching, bowls, bingo etc.

We spent as much time as possible out of the hotel as the weather wasn't great. I recommend going to Loro Parque for the day - there are several animal shows which change the acts at each performance. We also went on a submarine Safari at San Miguel. This is also worth going to if you get the chance.

We purchased a package holiday via Thomson. The rep (Alistair) was available in the reception area at lunch, dinner and then came back in the evenings outside of his working hours. Alistair was very friendly and knowledgeable with the area. We constantly asked him questions and he was able to help with them all.

You have to pay a daily fee to rent the room safe and fridge and the wifi is charged at either a daily or weekly cost.

This hotel is definitely not one I would go back to even if upgrading to Spendid (the premium option at a cost of 22 euros per day).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Kelly, thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us to the fullest and would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused by the renovation in the sauna and Jacuzzi area. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will look into your comments about the food getting repetitive and entertainment options in our hotel. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from a weeks all inclusive stay at this hotel with a friend. On arrival at 1.30am we were given a double room which we had to return to reception to be changed to a twin room, even though we booked a twin room!!

Later that morning we went to breakfast to be told off for going to sit at a table for three people when there were just the two of us.

The sauna and jacuzzi are currently undergoing renovation, which according to the Thomson rep, this has been going on for months!! The reception staff recommended we used the facilities of the hotel over the road - TurQuesta, which we did and that is definately a 4* hotel compared to Luabay.

We paid to use the safe and when we returned to our room we could not get the code to work. I called reception and they said they would come up - three more phones call later and someone finally arrived.

The residents of this hotel had an average age of 65 and the majority were German.

The food and drink were ok and the room was of reasonable standard with a postage stamp size balcony which was cleaned very well.

The entertainment was not good. They were advertising an animal show which turned out to be 3 different sized snakes and a falcon show which was two owls! The entertainment was a huge hit for the oldies. Definately not a young persons hotel.

Certainly NOT a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Liza, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our hotel’s facilities and hope that you enjoyed your holiday nonetheless. Your feedback is very important for us and we will pass the negative points you are mentioning to the corresponding departments within our hotel to initiate improvements for the future. We would appreciate if we could welcome you as our guests again and present you with some changes and improvements. Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My friend and i stayed at the luabay for 1 week in may. We were a bit worried about the reviews of this hotel but there was no need to worry. We arrived at 130am an the staff was very helpful and we had food waiting for us in the dining room. Our room was really nice and modern and clean with nice white towels. The all inclusive food and drink in our opinion was very good for a 4star hotel compared to some 4star hotels that ive stayed in the past eg spain turkey egypt dom rep etc but some seafood and theme nights menu would have been nice. The entertainment was ok but could have been better.The staff was helpful and friendly except 1 barman a man in hes late 50's with grey hair and glasses was unfriendly and rude, Lobby staff was wonderful and SALVADOR was great and said some kind words about recent terror attacks in london and the british people. Overall we had a great time and a good hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Pamela, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are very glad to hear you and your friend enjoyed your stay to the fullest and that you were satisfied with our facilities. Your suggestions about improvements that could be done to our dinner options and the entertainment program are very much appreciated and we will forward them to the corresponding departments. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luabay Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Tenerife

Also Known As:
Luabay Tenerife Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Luabay Tenerife Hotel
Florida Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Florida Tenerife
Florida Hotel Tenerife
Luabay Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz
Address: Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luabay Tenerife 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new angle on Puerto de la Cruz ...The Luabay Tenerife is located only yards away from the spectacular volcanic beaches at "Playa Jardin" and 5 minutes walk from the town centre.It has completely renovated rooms with fantastic views out to sea or over to Mount Teide and the Orotava Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Luabay Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.