We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but not 4*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Tenerife

Save Saved
You added Luabay Tenerife to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Luabay Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
chester le street
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice hotel but not 4*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

just back from this hotel had a week's holiday with my sister had a few issues with the food as it was very repetitive the pool has limited sun bed's so if you don't get down in time you have no chance of getting one, and you are timed for how long you leave you sun bed for if it is more than one hour your towel is removed ha ha , all the staff are good and happy to help ! we arrived at 12.30 am and was told if we needed a drink or water to walk to the bar round the corner to women on there own late at night DON'T THINK SO " room's are clean and tidy we were on the 12th floor so view was great ! hotel had a lot of older people but as am 47 my self it wasn't a problem but if you are young it's not the hotel for you " entertainment is the usual ok hope my opinions have helped .

Room Tip: sea view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Helen, thank you very much for your review and feedback on your stay with us. We are glad you were overall satisfied with our staff and the hotel in general. Your comments about our food service and sun beds will be passed on to the responsible departments and looked into in more detail. We hope we can welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    273
    158
    68
    25
See reviews for
122
340
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I visited this hotel with a friend in April 2013, the hotel is lovely and very comfortable, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the entertainment is good, the food in the self service restaurant is great - and that's saying something from a vegetarian who has lived previously on omelettes, there was a good choice of dishes and always a good variety of lovely meals. Can't wait to return in September 2013. Puerto de la Cruz is a pretty resort.

Room Tip: No need to book a sea view as the view from the back of the hotel is just as good, lovely views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here between 31st May-7th June. I am in my late 20's and my friend mid 40's. Personally we felt too young for this hotel as it is full of 55 year old plus. There is even a blood pressure monitor in the library!

Upon arrival we were given a double bed when we booked a twin via our holiday company. We arrived at 1.30am so it wasn't the best of starts however the night receptionists were very pleasant and quickly gave us a twin room. The room was adequate with a small balcony, the room was quite smelly even when we aired it by leaving the balcony door open for hours.

The food is good with lots on offer however towards the end of the week, we felt the food was repetitive.

The staff were all friendly however the reception team were not very helpful with any questions we had. The spa has been closed and under renovation for months we later found out from our Thomson rep. When we spoke to reception, he told us we could pay to use the pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and gym at the hotel across the road. I was surprised about this especially as that hotel is much nicer than the Luaby.

The entertainment is great if you like to dance to older music - 3 times a week they have the same band entertain and the other nights there is a disco after the entertainment.
I personally think the entertainment was rubbish - the animal show was 3 snakes which took 20 minutes to show people then they spent the rest of the time going round for photo opportunities. They told people off for taking pictures of their own kids on personal camera as photo's are only allowed by the entertainment team so they can charge you for the privilege. The falcon show was 2 owls again, 20 minutes showing the owls and the rest of the time was used for pictures. The crazy party games was musical chairs. The daytime entertainment included darts, stretching, bowls, bingo etc.

We spent as much time as possible out of the hotel as the weather wasn't great. I recommend going to Loro Parque for the day - there are several animal shows which change the acts at each performance. We also went on a submarine Safari at San Miguel. This is also worth going to if you get the chance.

We purchased a package holiday via Thomson. The rep (Alistair) was available in the reception area at lunch, dinner and then came back in the evenings outside of his working hours. Alistair was very friendly and knowledgeable with the area. We constantly asked him questions and he was able to help with them all.

You have to pay a daily fee to rent the room safe and fridge and the wifi is charged at either a daily or weekly cost.

This hotel is definitely not one I would go back to even if upgrading to Spendid (the premium option at a cost of 22 euros per day).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Kelly, thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us to the fullest and would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused by the renovation in the sauna and Jacuzzi area. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will look into your comments about the food getting repetitive and entertainment options in our hotel. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from a weeks all inclusive stay at this hotel with a friend. On arrival at 1.30am we were given a double room which we had to return to reception to be changed to a twin room, even though we booked a twin room!!

Later that morning we went to breakfast to be told off for going to sit at a table for three people when there were just the two of us.

The sauna and jacuzzi are currently undergoing renovation, which according to the Thomson rep, this has been going on for months!! The reception staff recommended we used the facilities of the hotel over the road - TurQuesta, which we did and that is definately a 4* hotel compared to Luabay.

We paid to use the safe and when we returned to our room we could not get the code to work. I called reception and they said they would come up - three more phones call later and someone finally arrived.

The residents of this hotel had an average age of 65 and the majority were German.

The food and drink were ok and the room was of reasonable standard with a postage stamp size balcony which was cleaned very well.

The entertainment was not good. They were advertising an animal show which turned out to be 3 different sized snakes and a falcon show which was two owls! The entertainment was a huge hit for the oldies. Definately not a young persons hotel.

Certainly NOT a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Liza, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our hotel’s facilities and hope that you enjoyed your holiday nonetheless. Your feedback is very important for us and we will pass the negative points you are mentioning to the corresponding departments within our hotel to initiate improvements for the future. We would appreciate if we could welcome you as our guests again and present you with some changes and improvements. Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My friend and i stayed at the luabay for 1 week in may. We were a bit worried about the reviews of this hotel but there was no need to worry. We arrived at 130am an the staff was very helpful and we had food waiting for us in the dining room. Our room was really nice and modern and clean with nice white towels. The all inclusive food and drink in our opinion was very good for a 4star hotel compared to some 4star hotels that ive stayed in the past eg spain turkey egypt dom rep etc but some seafood and theme nights menu would have been nice. The entertainment was ok but could have been better.The staff was helpful and friendly except 1 barman a man in hes late 50's with grey hair and glasses was unfriendly and rude, Lobby staff was wonderful and SALVADOR was great and said some kind words about recent terror attacks in london and the british people. Overall we had a great time and a good hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Pamela, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are very glad to hear you and your friend enjoyed your stay to the fullest and that you were satisfied with our facilities. Your suggestions about improvements that could be done to our dinner options and the entertainment program are very much appreciated and we will forward them to the corresponding departments. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Luabay at the end of April and quickly realised that we'd been here before - it had been refurbished and rebranded from the 'Florida'. I have listed positive and negatives below for 'ease of reference':

Positives:
* Great evening entertainment
* Most of the staff were friendly and extremely hard working
* Rooms cleaned and fresh clean towels left each day
* Good mood lighting and nice atmosphere in both the lounge (which was fairly large) and the entertainment room
* Meal times very good - breakfast from 7.30am til 10am and evening meals from 7pm to 10pm
* Good location if you want to visit Loro Parque only a stone's throw away - (Adults: 30 Euros) but too far from resort centre if this is what you want
* No one seems to have mentioned the 'deck' area which we thought was a lovely addition with modern rocking chairs and nice black wicker sofa's - a great place to chill out

.... now for the Negatives :(
* Biggest 'neg' was food hygiene - with one of the Chef's when 'cooking on demand' used the same pair of tongs to turn raw chicken and pork as he used to place cooked meat onto plates! Begs question as to what food hygiene is like behind the scenes?
* Dismayed to find the mini fridge was locked and you had to pay for it - bit mean we thought!
* Internet - charge for WiFi - why? when we accessed it free in Bars and at McDonalds - another 'mean move' by the Luabay
* Air Conditioning - inadequate to say the least - we slept with the door open but beware of the mossies!
* Bar staff friendly EXCEPT the grey haired chap (about in his mid-50s) who was extremely rude to say the least - we avoided ordering drinks when he was on duty!
* Lifts are a tripping hazzard - there is a 'step' between lift floor and landing area

General Comments:
We had a room at the top of the Hotel overlooking the mountains which was very nice, however please be aware that this Hotel is in quite a built up area so if you want a quiet relaxing location, this won't suit you but if you are content for a bit of noise you will find if you take into account the above that you will have a perfectly 'adequate' holiday.

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - sea views come at a supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your balanced and detailed review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the overall friendliness of our staff. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will be sure to look into your comments in more detail and forward them to the respective department so improvements and reconsiderations can take place. It would be a great honor if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have just returned from a week's half board stay at The Luabay hotel in Puerto de la cruz.
On first inspection we were disappointed with our room as it didn't have a sea view.
The room itself was adequate and the hotel in general was in good condition.
However when we visited the drab dining room and inspected the buffet food we were left disappointed in the standard of the food.which was the same very day.
We were then even more surprised to see so many Germans in the hotel,luckily i am fluent in this language but most weren't keen on conversing with me once they knew i was British.
The actual resort was quiet,boring and the beach had a shocking black coloured sand.Everytime i went to the beach my feet were as black as if i had just gone down a coal mine bare footed.
Our rep from Thomson's who met us at the Santa Cruz airport gave us misinformation and we had to pay for our transfer via taxi to the resort hotel.It was clearly stated that we had paid for this transfer by mini bus but they fobbed us off,luckily we kept the taxi receipt and claimed our refund.All in all i have mixed feelings about the hotel,staff need training and a barbeque might be afforded in the summer since the upstairs area was under used by sunbathers.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a sea view unless you like looking at the mountains and other hotels,the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed a great holiday even though you were not satisfied with the food we had on offer in our restaurant. We will be sure to look into your feedback in detail and hope we can welcome you as our guests on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luabay Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Tenerife

Also Known As:
Luabay Tenerife Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Luabay Tenerife Hotel
Florida Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Florida Tenerife
Florida Hotel Tenerife
Luabay Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz
Address: Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luabay Tenerife 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new angle on Puerto de la Cruz ...The Luabay Tenerife is located only yards away from the spectacular volcanic beaches at "Playa Jardin" and 5 minutes walk from the town centre.It has completely renovated rooms with fantastic views out to sea or over to Mount Teide and the Orotava Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Luabay Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.