We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Tenerife

Save Saved
You added Luabay Tenerife to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luabay Tenerife
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

On our annual visit to Luabay Puerto de la Cruz once again we found the staff at the hotel to be friendly and efficient.
There have been some changes in the hotel in recent years but the thing that never changes is the treatment received from all the different departments.
If it is within their means they go out of their way to help.
Some of the staff we know better then others although we are grateful to everyone who made our stay enjoyable.
There are other hotels in the Puerto similar to Luabay,but what encourages us to return year after year is the welcome we receive from the Staff.
Well done "Team Luabay"!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words for our staff! We are glad we can make you feel at home and welcome at our hotel and always offer you an enjoyable and relaxing break. Thank you for being our loyal guests and recommending Luabay Tenerife. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    296
    172
    73
    25
See reviews for
135
366
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

To be fair you get what you pay for, this is a good value no frills hotel well situated and within easy walking distance of the harbours and plazas. Staff friendly and helpfull.

Rooms are a good size and very clean, balcony is very small but the views of the sea more than makes up for it. No problem paying for the safe in the room, but we were asked to pay to use the mini bar. I have never been asked to pay up front to use a mini bar. No tea/coffee making facilities which is a drawback for us.

Only had one dinner here, we were told the restaurant closed at 2130 when we went to eat at 2100 having arrived about 1945, we did not expect was to be told we had to collect any food we wanted and "store it" on our table. Range of meals on offer was extensive, likewise at breakfast but it felt more like a works canteen.

Pool and terraces were adequate but not spacious considering the size of the hotel and the number of guests. Pool clean and well maintained with bar and snacks available.

The cost of wifi was an issue at €4 per hour or €10 for 24 hours. In this day and age free wifi is an industry standard I would expect everywhere. To be fair, I only found one free wifi hotspot in the town, not a good sign for modern travellers.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, Bill! We are glad you were satisfied with our service and staff and enjoyed your holiday with us. Our guests’ feedback is very important and we appreciate to get this valued information from you. We will pass your complaints about the incident in the dining room on your first night and about charges for the minibar and internet access to the responsible departments. Please let us inform you, that tea and coffee making facilities are included in our “Splendit Service” and can be booked as an extra. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again and present you with changes and improvements that are constantly being carried out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed for one week 8th to 15th January 2013 and no complaints about the hotel. Two single rooms booked (all singles have no balcony it says in the blurb) and we were given a double room each with a balcony and a distant sea view and this was a real plus (it is so annoying when you have a single room yet pay more than anyone else and get less of a facility!)
Reception staff lovely and very helpful; very clean hotel and modern rooms, lovely lounge area and terrace. There were some tatty chairs and sunbeds on the upper terrace which give a bad impression and should be dumped immediately. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool most with towels and no bodies on them! as is usual. people blame the germans for this but the british are just as bad in my opinion. We didn't sample the daytime activities but there seemed to be aquafit and we were invited to do rifle shooting - we like to go out and about - love the lido and the beach. We aren't bothered about the evening entertainment in hotels either again we like to go out. The hotel appeared to be very busy and mealtimes especially so - waiters/waitresses very pleasant. There was plenty of choice at breakfast - usual english type breakfast, fresh cooked eggs, omelets, yoghurts, fruits croissants, continental meats, cheese etc and all replaced regularly. Evening meal - salads, always a rice dish, pastas, fresh cooked fish, chicken etc. all ok. Brightly coloured cakes, jellies etc. which we are not keen on; ice cream, dried fruits. My only niggle was that there were no biscuits for the cheese, bread again!

The hotel is very handy for the beach and the bus station if you want to go out and about - reception will print off a bus timetable for your destination if required. Internet access 3e for half an hour or 5e for an hour or with your own laptop wi-fi 4e per hour (which is steep I think). Hire a pool towel for 10e and get two changes free - get your 10e back when you return the towel at the end of your stay.

So, all in all we were happy with this hotel based on the price we paid yes, we could have gone to a smarter hotel (which we have in the past) and paid quite a lot more money but if you are on a budget then it is fine -if you want top 4 star to 5 star then pay those prices but don't expect top class when you haven't paid top class prices and yes, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor corner rooms will give the best views. We had a first floor rooms with a distant sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Susie, we thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great holiday. Your feedback is very important for us and we listen to our guests so we can make changes according to their impressions of our hotel. We therefore thank you for pointing out the chairs and sunbeds on the terrace and your comment concerning food choice and charges for internet access. It’s great to know you were satisfied with our staff on reception and service and hope we can welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We really liked this hotel.
On the edge of Puerto de la Cruz, within easy walking distance of the town centre, right next to the bus station, the hotel was ideally situated for our walking and driving holiday.
We had a room on the ninth floor, as requested, with a supreme view of Mount Teide at just over 12000feet.
The reception staff were welcoming and helpful, the room was always spick and span after daily cleaning.
However this was spoiled by the poor food in the Buffet Restaurant. The lighting was far too bright and stark, all the atmosphere of Motorway Service Area.
The biggest problem was trying to get a drink with your evening meal. The waiters had an amazing ability to blank you out as you requested some drinks. We only TIP after getting service ,not to get service.
This cost the hotel a lot of business as we bought our wine elsewhere.
We would use this hotel again but only on a BED and BREAKFAST basis

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms keep you well away from evening entertainment noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel has downgraded the already only average food to cater for the all inclusive brigades. We tried the restaurant just once for dinner and it was the worst we have ever eaten. There was only one choice each of red, white and rose wine. The red was the cheapest of plonk and we couldn't buy a better one as that is all they can afford to offer due to the all-in customers. Paying guests like us have to suffer.

This was our fitth visit to Luabay and it will definitely be our last which is a shame because the rooms are not too bad and were cleaned quite well every day.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for writing this review and sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We are very sorry that this time we could not satisfy you and did not meet your taste with our choice of food and drinks. Your feedback will be taken very serious and forwarded to the responsible department. However, we hope you give us another chance as we do have a variety of different dishes on our buffet every night and always try to cater for everyone’s taste. We would like to encourage you to visit us again and hope we can welcome you at our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

spent three weeks from 18th of dec to 8th of jan hotel brill staff very helpful lovely location near sea . spent a day at loro park amazing place worth a visit just to see penquins in the ice and snow . local bars friendly only fault i could find was got a bit bored with the same food all the time ?? but on the whole had a great hoilday

Room Tip: we requested a low floor due to mobilty probs but still had a good veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just back from a 10 day stay booked via Thomson Holidays. We were on the 6th floor with room overlooking Mount Teide. Room small but perfectly adequate.Twin beds one of which was rather uncomfortable. Plenty of storage room, extra blankets available. TV in room but only three channels were in English and all were news channels. Bathroom good size and had good shower with plenty of hot water. Small balcony with two chairs and table. Room cleaned every day and towels changed at same time if needed. On arrival the reception staff were efficient and very friendly. We arrived just after lunch had finished but the reception staff phoned through to the restaurant and arranged for us to eat. We went AI and never had any problems getting drinks at meals, coffee and tea served all day. Wines, local spirits and cocktails part of the all inclusive package. Swimming pool kept clean and life guard in attendance. Small poolside bar. Sun loungers around the pool but lost the sun around 4pm. Another sun lounger area above the main bar and also deck chairs on main terrace. Although notices requesting no sun loungers to be reserved this was not adhered to. We counted thirty loungers with towels on but no bodies. Management please note! All the staff were very friendly and we had no complaints. We are in the hotel trade ourselves and appreciate how important providing good service and a good attitude to customers is. The staff here provided it in spades. Evening entertainment was varied and most of it was not our cup of tea. Talking about which, it would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms rather than having to go to the restaurant or bar areas to get a cup. The breakfasts were good with traditional British catered for albeit with a Spanish twist as is usual abroad. Lunch and dinner were buffet style but plenty of choice although it did get a bit samey after a while. Plenty of salads, meat dishes, pasta, fish and paella. Taking everything into consideration, and apart from the usual sun lounger situation, lack of UK tv channels and no tea making facility we would have no hesitation in going back to this Luabay Hotel. Transfer time from airport is around 1.5 hours. Thanks again to all the staff for their attentive service and good humour at all times.

Room Tip: We were told rooms on higher floors had better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Tenerife, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for this review about your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words and are glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and were satisfied with our installations. Your comment about guests reserving sun loungers will be shared with the responsible department and we hope this will not be a problem anymore in the future. It would be a great pleasure for our team to welcome you at our hotel again. Thank you for recommending Luabay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luabay Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Tenerife

Address: Avda Blas Perez Gonzalez 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luabay Tenerife 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new angle on Puerto de la Cruz ...The Luabay Tenerife is located only yards away from the spectacular volcanic beaches at "Playa Jardin" and 5 minutes walk from the town centre.It has completely renovated rooms with fantastic views out to sea or over to Mount Teide and the Orotava Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Luabay Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Tenerife Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Florida Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Florida Tenerife
Florida Hotel Tenerife
Luabay Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Tenerife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.