We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beach.. good waves” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Jardin

Playa Jardin
Av. Francisco Alfonso Carillo, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“nice beach.. good waves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

nice beach.. great waves.. funny black volcanic sand.. i visited in late april and it was not crowded at all which i loved!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    199
    69
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This was the best beach in Puerto de la Cruz. Black sand is hard to get out of your hair but not a lot you can do about that.

Lovely beach side cafe and toilets too

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Standards have fallen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just spent 13 of our 14 mornings at the beach and we have visited PDLC twice a year for about 20 years and this is the worst I have ever seen the beach.
Beer cans, water bottles, cigarette packets and other rubbish on the beach, often for a day or 2.
It is the first time I have though about wearing footwear to walk on the beach.
Twice the cleaners came out to clear seaweed and one guy made a token 10-15 min attempt at clear cigarette ends twice during the 2 weeks.
Since they scrapped the 20c entrance for the toilets they don't get cleaned as often and are in a poor state.
I would not recommend this beach to a new visitor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belguim
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“take flip flops!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Went to this beach (the Bollullo beach was inaccesible due to roadworks). We found a lot of free parking near the beach which is nice in a big city! We enjoyed our time on the beach allthough, being here for the first time, we didn't think to bring any kind of watershoes so it was very uncomfortable on the hot sand. Even a short stroll from our towel to the water was a 'challenge'.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

As family we liked to swim around and watch under water all the (little) fish that were beneath us. Clean beach, you have showers so that was good. Black sand = very hot for your feet.. My teenage daughters and I struggled with the wave breakers in the beginning..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Jardin also viewed

Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 

Been to Playa Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.