We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip-toeing towards faded glory....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tip-toeing towards faded glory....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Let's say straight away that this is a very nice hotel. It has all the outward signs of five star luxury: a sweeping staircase plunging through a reception area the size of a small town; a jacuzzi hidden in a volcanic bubble; lots of starched white linen uniforms; and thumb size canapés that magically appear when you order tea-time drinks. They even have a wall covered in pictures of famous visitors.... although, ironically, the stars on the walls in many ways reflect the dichotomy facing current management (Ricky Martin's star is looking a little tarnished...).

Okay, what's the issue here? I have been wrangling with this one since we arrived for our honeymoon on Monday evening - mainly because I want to be absolutely fair. It's a little bit like being bitten by mosquitos whilst eating lobster and drinking champagne.... your little taste of luxury is just a bit soured by minor irritations.

We are on honeymoon. Our "double bed" is two twins shoved together with a gap in the middle. I have never stayed in five star luxury where I feel on the edge of a precipice whilst trying to be a tad intimate. I informed reception and, after having to stand around while reception called house-keeping, they have agreed to change the mattress (by the way... a five star hotel should immediately say "of course sir, that won't be a problem").

On our first night we ate in the Orchid restaurant.... Guys you really need to sort this one out! The waiter on service that night was behaving like Speedy Gonzales on crack. The energy he was giving off could have powered half of Puerto de la Cruz. I wouldn't have minded but it did mean he wasn't being terribly attentive, and the pre-dinner drinks order was wrong. To say the food was average would be an insult to statistical analysis. We ordered different dishes and they looked and tasted exactly the same. Presentation-wise they looked they had been constructed by a first grade cookery class, and the heady aromatic flavours one ordinarily associates with Thai food were doing a very passable impersonation of the Scarlet Pimpernel.

Other minor niggles include: no teapot at breakfast (what other five star hotel gives you a teabag and hot water to brew in the cup?); no tea and coffee making facilities in the room (this is a trick usually reserved for hotels wanting to ensure guests have to order room service); evening entertainment which is a throw back to a golden age of variety - to be fair every night there has been a pretty harmless duo but "mostly harmless" would be the best way to describe it; and what is it with the parrot pictures? Did you do a bulk purchase?

The average age of the guests in this hotel is probably over 60. And that is probably because it has the look and feel of a cruise ship. If this hotel is going to successfully adapt to the 21st century it needs to start making those little changes to service and delivery that will attract a slightly younger holiday maker.

On the upside:-

- there is a bewildering array of very reasonably priced spa treatments available
- friendly and attentive staff (just not enough of them - I suspect there have been recent cutbacks)
- great location
- a simply wonderful concierge (reminded me of Manuel from Fawlty Towers - in a good way!)

Hope this doesn't sound over-critical. It is a very nice hotel. If I was staying in a four star I would expect the above niggles - but not in one which proclaims five star luxury....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

In first place we would like to thank you for choosing The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden as your honeymoon destination.

We regret to hear that during your stay we have not been able to fulfill your expectations.
We would like to inform you that your criticisms of the furniture and furnishing of the hotel, will be certainly take in consideration and we will do our most to improve these points, in fact, immediate actions have been taken regarding some of the points you mentioned. The entire team is allways willing to assist any petitions to ensure every guest enjoys an easeful and wonderful stay at our establishment, and it seems this has not been the case.

We would also like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our restaurant. Our restaurants offer the best service and quality, but clearly we did not reach our goals during your stay. We hope you give us another chance in the future, so you can enjoy the dishes from the rest of our restaurants as well as checking the high quality service.

We have to thank you for pointing out some of the strongest points of the hotel, such as our wonderfull spa services, and of course our friendly staff. We will tell Manuel the wonderful words you have written, he will be surely glad to hear your comments.

Once more we thank you for your comments and remarks, as they are very important for our improvement. We have been glad to have you as our guests during your honeymoon and will welcome you with joy again in our beloved hotel.

Kind regards
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    100
    39
    16
    9
See reviews for
139
418
32
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here 'just chill in' we got a good deal on half board, and enjoyed every minute. The architecture may be dated, the transfer from the South Airport may take a little too long. But once inside, no need for anything else!, the staff, are without exception excellent, friendly and helpful. The food is first class in all three restaurants. The facilities are faultless. The Oriental Spa is a little piece of heaven! If you want club 18 - 30 atmosphere and sleepless nights go somewhere else! If you want to get home thinking ' I want to go back' or 'batteries re-charged' this excellent Hotel will do very nicely thank you!!

Room Tip: Overlook the main pool for evening sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear David,

First of all we would like to thank you for your wonderfull review about your recently stay at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden. In the name of our team, I want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and for sharing your good experience on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you appreciate all our services, with special atention to our spa and restaurants. We would like to thank you once again for your remarkable words and we hope to see you and your wife once again at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden.

Best regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Botanico in Puerto de le cruz and what a great experience it was.The hotel amenites are all that you would expect of a top 5 star hotel but the staff were out of this world in terms of helpfulness,friendliness,and being ever so obliging.The rooms are well laid out with fantastic views and the gardens are magnificent.In the pool area numerous bedsand umbrellas are regurally adjusted by the very attentive staff.Although a good walk from the very lively centre,there are plenty of eating places nearby and the taxi fares are really cheap.
Overall an excellent hotel in a good area,alot more Spanish than the considerably more expensive Costa Adeje

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Dave,

In the name of The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden team, I want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and for sharing your good experience on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback about our staff and services, we will keep working until we reach perfection. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Following my last visit, I wrote a review that suggested the Botanico needed to focus on the detail if it wanted to maintain its 5 stars. While we enjoyed our time relaxing by the pool and enjoying the spa a number of areas fell below what one would expect from a really top hotel. The hotel was let down by poor maintenance of the main pool area with litter remaining under the sun beds for several days. Our first meal was at Pappagallio and the steak was very poor quality; we did not return. The Parilla was closed throughout our stay.
I am pleased to say that in many areas the hotel has improved its standards. The pool area is kept as it should be by the new pool boy; the Pappagallio is now serving excellent quality steaks and the Parillia was open throught our stay as advertised. The hall bar entertainment also had improved and the service remains good. The menus that I found confusing last visit have been updated but there still appear to be a few qliches regarding the pricing of starter dishes which seem expensive when compared to main course options.
Overall we were pleased to see the Improvements that have been made and happy to mention a few people who we think deliver excellence in their service:
Rafael at the Parrilla; Tanya in the Hall Bar and George the new pool man.
Since we last stayed the hotel has has appointed a new GM Senor Escobar who believes in leading from the front by taking on the role of waiter at the Pappagallio when we were there. I think the Botanico is in safe hands

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

In first place we would like to thank you for your friendly comment and for choosing once again Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden for your stay in Tenerife. The opinion of our guests is very important to us and your feedback gives us the opportunity to keep improving our exclusive services and to ensure guests experience a unique stay in our hotel. It is great to read that you have been able to see and experience the changes we made since your last stay, and we are glad to see you like them. Thank you for your kind words regarding our excellent team, we will inform them all about your compliments on their attentive service, they will be delighted to hear your wonderfull words. Once again we would like to thank you for your marvelous words regarding our establishment and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a fantastic stay in this beautiful luxurious spa hotel. Everything was top quality, clean, spacious and inviting.

Couldn't rate this place enough - superb and delightful 10 day stay.

If you want a little bit of luxury then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make such wonderful review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and it is great to read you fully enjoyed your 10 day stay with us. We hope to see you once again at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, enjoying of a relaxing holliday.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was an exceptional experience in every regard. Magnificent room, impeccable service, great dining choices, first-rate staff, could not have been better. We particularly enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast buffet. Of the restaurant choices for duinner we preferred the oriental restaurant, but the Spanish was good. The location is also excelllent for dining choices outside the hotel...if you like German cuisine, go off-site as this is an aparent mecca for German travelers. Language was not a problem anywhere or anytime. Spas and treatments were great! This is the first hotel my wife and I have booked where 1) we extended our stay, and 2) damn near cried on departure! I cannot speak highly enough of this place.

Room Tip: Best advice...ask! We wanted a specific view with an extra chaise lounge and we got it with no ques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Donald,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderfull review about your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read how much you have enjoyed the exquisite cuisine and prestigious gastronomy we offer the guests of our hotel. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your holidays at Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden, and that thanks to our strive for excellence, we have been the first hotel where you extend your stay. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A week away at short notice to somewhere where the sun is still out and isn't too far away. Found Hotel Botanico on the Internet and it fitted the bill. A lot of people I talked to at the hotel had stayed before and come back again. I would certainly return. Aside from the beautiful decor, the 5 star breakfast, uncrowded pool area, beautiful gardens, great choice of restaurants both in the hotel and down the road opposite, pricing for restaurants and drinks etc not designed to send you bankrupt and most of all the friendliest team of employees I've ever encountered at a hotel. Nothing was too difficult. Probably the best all round hotel we've ever stayed in. And just enough in Tenerife to keep you busy for a week without getting bored.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your friendly comment regarding your stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear how much you have enjoyed the excellent service that our staff has provided you with and that they have contributed to your wonderful experience. We will definetly pass your comments to the whole staff. One of our main objectives is to provide the highest quality of food & beverage and we are happy to read that we could meet your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back again and make of your next stay at Tenerife an even better experience.

Warm regards
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.