We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Botanico - Tenerife - - Great place to unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Botanico - Tenerife - - Great place to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my third visit to the Hotel and my wife's second. I first visited with my parents way back in 1976 (!) and my wife and I came here in 2007 with our kids who were then 10 and 8. It was great then and this time just the two of us for a restful week. This really is a 5* plus hotel. But what makes it good is not the general facilities or ambiance but the staff - at all levels. They really make an effort to make you feel welcome and important to them - they were all smiles all the time. If you are looking for a Spa hotel - this is it. The Thai themed spa gardens are deliciously quiet, with relaxing pools and a full range of massage treatments - or you can just slowly enjoy the steam rooms and sauna. For families this is also a good hotel, under 16s cant go to the Spa area but the main pool is a good size and during July and August there is a kids club including excursions to Loro Parque. As a couple having a week while our teenage children enjoyed organised trips abroad elsewhere, this was ideal. We went B&B. The Breakfast is huge. We never had lunch! Evenings were split between the hotel's excellent Italian restaurant (there are three restaurants plus poolside) and local fayre just outside the hotel. All enjoyable. The rooms are comfortable, maybe a little dated but there are plenty of older hotels around the world which have older style rooms. The main foyer and bar area is large with plenty of space and the gardens are great for an after breakfast walk. My only negative which we fed back to the hotel was that the shower (despite being a well known brand) was a bit on the weak side and could be upgraded - but that's being a bit picky. There really is not anything to complain about. Service wise it was comparable to that we have enjoyed in the Far East.
We will be returning!

Room Tip: Double Deluxe rooms facing Mt Teide and the main pool are a good choice, although those with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Malcolm,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Botanico for third time. We are happy to read that you always enjoyed your stay with us and that you have notice our hard work to improve our level of service and quality, in each new stay. Thank you also for pointing out the hotel family offer, we try to fulfil all our clients needs and offering kids a great experience during holidays, is very important for us. We feel very honoured to be rewarded with such a positive feedback, but we will also learn with your demanding comments. Rest assured that a warm welcome awaits you anytime you decide to visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    99
    37
    16
    8
See reviews for
136
410
33
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Me and my partner enjoyed a long weekend in this beautiful hotel. I must say the have the 5 start well deserved. Everything in this place is beautiful. The plants, animals, rooms, hotel areas, breakfast quality of food and even the Oriental restaurant. I truly recommend this, especially to couples of every age. I slight small dissapointment was with one of the recepcionist (an old man with glasses) who did not really listened to our requests, but was more concerned in the paperwork. Nevertheless, this little issue cannot fault the hotel. Will definately repeat my holidays and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make such wonderfull review about your stay with us, on Tripadvisor. We are very please to find out that you were able to offer you what you were looking for in Tenerife and we feel very honoured to have been your option for these vacations. We feel sorry that our staff did not achieve excellence during your whole stay, and we will take in consideration your review to improve. We appreciate your positive feedback and your recommendation to other travellers. We would love to meet you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked our first holiday in 20yrs without our two boys so decided to choose somewhere little more "upmarket". 5* hotel with 5* service. The hotel rooms (if I was being really really critical are maybe starting to show their age and could be in need of a makeover in a year or two BUT dont let that put you off!! The hotel grounds, layout and Spa areas are fantastic - we wanted a relaxing holiday and thats what we got - from first contact in reception to checking out, the staff service was perfect - not to imposing but there if you needed them. We enjoyed the tranquility of the Spa was so relaxing - exactly what we were looking for. The 228 steps form the harbour area to the hotel illustrate its a bit of a climb but it didn't phase us but would be too much for some people.
Local restaurants are good and offer great value for money - certainly recommend the hotel for holiday makers wanting a "get away from it all" and sunbathe

Room Tip: Sea view is limited, if you like that sort of thing but you are 15mins from the sea so dont expect t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review about your recent stay at Hotel Botanico. It is with delight that we read about your positive impressions of our hotel, and we are very pleased that you chose our hotel for first couple trip in 20 years. As you mention the hotel team do a great work to keep all the facilities and services at the higgest level. We will take in consideration your recommendations to improve our services. We are looking forward to greet you again in the near future at your home away from home: Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa garden.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just spent one week at this lovely hotel. We were looking for somewhere to relax and get away from it all, this was the perfect place to unwind.

The staff were excellent, especially the staff on reception who were always smiling and made us feel very welcome.

The evening entertainment wasn't to our taste, it wasn't quite as elegant as the lovely bar surroundings.

The walk back up from the main town is quite a climb in the hot sun, but hitting the spa after that effort makes it all worth it. The spa was the main attraction for us, it was a lovely peaceful haven. I can recommend the volcanic stone massage

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

In the name of The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden team, I want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and for sharing your good experience on tripadvisor. We are very happy that you appreciate the service of our staff, they work really hard to provide you a perfect and relaxing stay in our hotel. It is nice to hear that you found the Oriental Spa Garden a peacefull place and that you try some of the treatments we provide. We are glad that you had a great holiday, and we will take in consideration your recomendations. We hope to see you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The reception staff, couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Great view over the town + coast from our room (caught the finale fireworks of the fiesta parade - great!) and the terrace of the Italian restaurant where we ate on the first night.

Room comfortable and fairly well equipped, though the beds were rather hard. Good lighting.

Lovely grounds - worth going for a stroll round them. Bit of a walk (downhill) into town - ask reception for directions as it is not obvious. Worth getting a taxi back.

Room Tip: Well worth the extra for an ocean view if you plan to spend any time sat in the room or on the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Liza,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are pleased to read that you found everything to your liking at our hotel. Hotel Botanico team, works tirelessly to ensure the services achieve the highest level for every guest. We do hope you choose to stay with us again for a longer period and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent our first ever Christmas away from family at the Hotel Botanico and, whilst inevitably, and in spite of the hotel's best efforts, it proved difficult to conjure up the same spirit of home-spent Christmases, we thoroughly enjoyed our 10-day stay and would certainly repeat the experience. To be honest, we wouldn't normally holiday at a 5-star hotel, but, we are pleased we decided to spoil ourselves for we enjoyed every minute of our stay. It is a delightful hotel in every way and matches every one of its stars. Not that everything was perfect - the dreadful service at the Christmas Eve banquet and the out-of-tune singing of the lunch time choir carolling around the pool instantly come to mind - but nor did the flaws spoil our enjoyment when, for example not only did we receive personal and profound apologies from the General Manager on Christmas Eve but we also found a complimentary bottle of champagne on returning to our room and later the cost of the entire meal removed from our bill. Service and attention to detail otherwise proved immaculate with staff eager to show interest and keen to please, our room was well appointed, our sleep uninterrupted and with much of our days spent in the tranquil setting of the Oriental Spa Garden, we enjoyed the kind of relaxing time that returns you not only completely refreshed but greedy for much more of the same. Facilities in the Oriental Spa are comprehensive and cater for the widest of tastes and the care taken of residents is second to none. While we didn't take advantage of the hotel's various restaurants (we preferred to try out the excellent restaurants nearby as well as in the character town centre), there is a good choice of menus and the breakfast buffet is exceptional both for its range and quality. The hotel, although close to a main road into town, is quiet and peaceful and is located close enough to allow for a 20-minute downhill walk to town via a purpose-built pathway). While the return may take a little longer as you take on the several hundred steps (the exact number were counted but unfortunately not remembered) it is nothing like as exacting as some (probably taxi drivers) would have you believe and is sure to do plenty to compensate for any indulgences you may have allowed yourself. We are no spring chickens but live to tell the tale! All in all, Puerto de la Cruz turned out to be a pleasantly warm, relaxed and comparatively peaceful corner of Tenerife and, with its splendid hotel, really does take some beating.

Room Tip: Depending on preference, you may care to ask for a room that does not get the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Botanico for your christmas stay in Tenerife and for your friendly review on Tripadvisor. We try to provide our guests the highest level of service and hospitality to reach a unique and unforgettable stay, and we know this is even harder in these special dates.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and we will certainly share this with the rest of the team. It has been a great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the services, facilities and location of our hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you once again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent one week in this Hotel from 07/06/2013 to 14/07/2013 and the only word that can discribe the place is WONDERFUL. The gardens were very beautiful and very clean. The spa was terrific with a large variety of treatments. The staff was very helpful and very kind. The restaurants were very good and the location is the best in Tenerife. I suggest this hotel for your vacations and without a doubt it will be an unforgetable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your friendly feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you have been very satisfied with our exclusive services and complementary attentions. We would like to thank for your remarkable words and we hope to see you once again at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden.

Best regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.