We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel. Absolutely fabulous.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Los Cristianos, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous Hotel. Absolutely fabulous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Staff, hotel, food all excellent.
The spa and all the treatments were excellent. The pool area and the hotel even has a large putting area and a number of tennis courts.
Has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Phil,

On behalf of the entire Hotel Botanico team I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. Our staff is continuously striving to meet and exceed our guests expectations, and it seems that during your last stay we achieve it. Once again we would like to thank you for your comment and we hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    95
    36
    16
    7
See reviews for
130
398
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Contrary to the former review, I am currently a guest at this hotel and am quite frankly disappointed. Having visited here on a number of occasions many years ago I find that nothing has changed - apart from the service. Hotel is jaded and definitely needs dragging into the current era. Restaurant service quite poor and very overcharged. €67 for a lettuce salad, a piece of hake with 3 prawns atop and some sauce ( nothing else whatsoever!!) and a tiramisu which I ate because I was so very hungry though I never usually eat desert. This was accompanied by a mediocre wine - the only wine they have in a half bottle - no one offered me by the glass though I later noted that other diners had this.
I was denied the chance of an external dinner booking by the extended time it took the reception staff to convey a message of confirmation to me
I shall be very pleased to make myself known to Snr Gustavo Escobar should he respond to this review.
There are some pluses which are outweighed by the negatives. Can't wait to go home though!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Jay681,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Botanico for your holidays.

As well, we kindly would like to thank you for having taken the time to write on the Tripadvisor website. It is a valuable source of information which shows whether we are moving in the right direction or there are things that need to be changed.

Naturally we were extremely concerned to read your comments. However, it is only by guests sharing frank and honest feedback such as this that we can address and rectify areas.

We take all feedback seriously and we can assure that your comments and impressions have been transmitted to the Staff in order to take the necessary actions.

On the outset, we sincerely hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel Botanico in the near future. Also I take the opportunity to comment you that I remain at your disposal in the case you want to express to me directly your feedback. It will be very much appreciated.

Yours sincerely,
Gustavo Escobar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Even pretty dull June weather has not detracted from our enjoyment of our month long visit to Botanico.
We spend four separate months here each year, a sure sign of our virtually complete satisfaction.
A new Manager , Gustavo Escobar has been recruited from Hotel Bahia del Duque.
He is extremely impressive , very experienced and well focused and will make necessary improvements in the area of Food & Beverage which has always been the weak area of the hotel's operations.
As always , the Oriental Spa is professionally managed by Anne Marie Chauveau and her amiable team of therapists and receptionists.
Massages and treatments are excellent and extremely relaxing.
Breakfasts offer a huge choice of hot and cold dishes and each visit reveals new additions ...this time white asparagus and a wider range of smoked fish.
Housekeeping is outstanding and the courtesy and care of almost all the Botanico staff is exemplary....we have the highest regard for their obvious desire to offer top class service to their guests.
The hotel administration ticks very smoothly in the background, a clear indication that the Front Office staff and receptionists are on the ball.
In conclusion this is a very special 5 star de luxe hotel which is already good but which is striving to improve even further.
Highly recommended for discriminating guests who like to be certain that they can be assured of a most relaxing break whatever the weather.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel B, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your confidence in our services and for sharing your wonderful experiences and knowledge about Hotel Botanico, on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that our services, facilities and our latest team incorporations, such as or new Manager, Gustavo Escobar, have been able to achieve your expectations and ensure you an even better experience on you next stay. It is great reading a so complete review, thanks to your feedback we will be able to offer a better service to future guest. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in a near future, hoping you enjoy a better weather next time.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

From the moment we checked into the hotel until the moment we left we were in awe of the hotel. The staff are a credit to the hotel and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and we had a perfect view of Mount Teide. We tried both the Oriental restaurant and the Italian and both were fabulous, the breakfast buffet in the morning has everything from cereals, fresh fruit to full english. Whilst there i made full use of the golf driving range and the thermal circuit and i also got a thai massage which was amazing. We got engaged during our stay here and the hotel went out of its way when they heard to decorate our room and help us enjoy the moment and i found our whole stay an unforgettable experience. Hope to return on our next visit to Tenerife.

Room Tip: Either way you have a view of the mountain or ocean from either side so it depends on your preferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, General Manager at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Botanico and for your friendly review on Tripadvisor. We try to provide our guests the highest level of service and hospitality to be able to offer them a unique and unforgettable stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and we will certainly share this with the rest of the team. It has been a great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the services and facilities of our hotel and we hope to welcome you once again if you visit again Tenerife.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week, and to be honest it wasn't long enough! This is a beautiful hotel with the most wonderful staff that we have ever encountered at a hotel! Nothing is too much for anyone. The staff make this hotel!!
I just don't know where to start! The gardens are stunning, with a lake with black swans (and cygnets when we were there), turtles, moorhens (with young) and the most amazing huge fish. The gardens are very botanical with beautiful plants and trees and the whole area is beautifully manicured and very soothing with quiet seating areas.
After reading other reviews, we opted for half board. Very unusual for us as we love good food and like to eat out for variety. This was the best decision we made!! For dinner there is a choice of three A La Carte restaurants, Italian, Spanish and Oriental. Don't let the themes of these restaurants put you off. They all serve the most amazing fresh and wonderfully presented food including fresh fish and steaks etc. You just wouldn't find this standard of food or service if you ate out in the resort. For your half board supplement you can choose three courses from the A La Carte menu. It's such an amazing deal! The chef has a herb garden which you can visit in the hotel gardens.
The breakfast is buffet style with eggs, omelettes, pancakes etc cooked freshly while you wait. Plenty of choice and excellent quality of food. There was indoor and outdoor seating. Something that we particularly liked was the outdoor seating area was split for smoking and non smoking so you could sit outside without being next to smokers. This was the same at lunchtime. Great consideration for non smokers!
The swimming pool and small children's pool by the bar area is the only pool area for children.
The spa area is beautiful and is an adult only area. There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms and beds to relax on. In the outdoor spa area there is a swimming pool, a large jacuzzi with seated areas and a further jacuzzi in a cave. On occasions there was a shortage of sun beds, but most days there were enough for everyone. Unlike many hotels, use of the spa area is included in your stay.
Treatments are extra of course. We both had massages and facials in the spa which were excellent. You are treated like royalty at this hotel!
We asked for a quiet room, and were put in a room at one end of the building overlooking the swimming pool and Mount Teide with a good sized sunny balcony. The room was plenty big enough and very clean and the en suite facilities were excellent with a bath, top notch shower and luxury toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and there is a choice of pillows. You have a complimentary bottle of water each in the room every day, and chocolates with the turn down service.
Evening entertainment was not the best we've seen or heard, but this was a tiny point in relation to the whole holiday experience.
We walked down to the main resort and back on many occasions, but it is steep and not a suitable walk for anyone who is not reasonably fit. We were told though that it is only a few euros in a taxi, and there are always taxis available outside the hotel.
The Botanical gardens are just opposite the hotel and entry is very reasonable. There are some amazing trees in there but I think the flowers would be better if you visit in the summer months. A nice walk though.
There is a supermarket in the complex next to the hotel for bottled water, drinks etc.
The transfer from the airport is about 90 minutes, but this hotel is worth it! The most relaxing holiday we have ever had, and we do travel a lot. We will be back!!
One final point. This hotel, in my opinion, is not geared up for children and they should make it an Adult Only hotel. That would suit the vast majority of the current hotel guests and attract others who prefer an Adult Only Hotel.

Room Tip: Sea views are distant so I wouldn't pay extra for one. Balconies at the back of the hotel overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, General Manager at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your friendly and extensive feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you have been very satisfied with our exclusive services and complementary attentions. Thank you for your advices for future guest, they will be very usefull to other TripAdvisor Community members and for us because we will consider it. We would like to thank you once again for your remarkable words and we hope to see you once again at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden.

Best regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Hotel Botanico. Everything about the hotel was excellent. The rooms are clean and spacious and quiet with beautiful views. We were fortunate enough to have a balcony on the 2nd floor with a sea view and because it was on the corner views of Mount Teide. The breakfast buffet is excellent with enormous choice. We ate in the Italian restaurant and the Oriental restaurant both of which were excellent but a little pricey. All of the staff were very friendly and it is obviously a happy place to work. It was my birthday during our stay and I was surprised with a bottle of Cava and a chocolate cake which was absolutely delicious and a lovely flower decoration of roses. The gardens are really beautiful and the Koi Carp and Black Swans on the lakes are lovely. The hotel is in a good position with plenty of little restaurants and bars close by and the town is only 5 minutes by shuttle bus or taxi or about 20 minute walk but the walk is very steep. We loved this hotel and look forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool will catch the sun all afternoon and will be sheltered from the wind off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your friendly and extensive feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you have been very satisfied with our exclusive services and complementary attentions. Thank you for your advices for future guest, they will be very usefull to other TripAdvisor Community members. We would like to thank you once again for your remarkable words and we hope to see you once again at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden.

Best regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is superb, the staff are a credit to its owners .Beautiful surroundings you find yourself relaxing the momment you are warmly greeted at the hotel entrance . The spa is excellent I recommend the hot stone message . We enjoyed several very good meals and the breakfast buffet was excellent .Rooms are very comfortable and housekeeping are very efficient .Made to feel special we will be back very soon .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden and for sharing your wonderful experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that our services, facilities and our excellent team of staff have been able to achieve your expectations and provided you the highest level of hospitality and customer satisfaction. it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.