We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
south shields
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Hotel Botanico. Everything about the hotel was excellent. The rooms are clean and spacious and quiet with beautiful views. We were fortunate enough to have a balcony on the 2nd floor with a sea view and because it was on the corner views of Mount Teide. The breakfast buffet is excellent with enormous choice. We ate in the Italian restaurant and the Oriental restaurant both of which were excellent but a little pricey. All of the staff were very friendly and it is obviously a happy place to work. It was my birthday during our stay and I was surprised with a bottle of Cava and a chocolate cake which was absolutely delicious and a lovely flower decoration of roses. The gardens are really beautiful and the Koi Carp and Black Swans on the lakes are lovely. The hotel is in a good position with plenty of little restaurants and bars close by and the town is only 5 minutes by shuttle bus or taxi or about 20 minute walk but the walk is very steep. We loved this hotel and look forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool will catch the sun all afternoon and will be sheltered from the wind off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your friendly and extensive feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you have been very satisfied with our exclusive services and complementary attentions. Thank you for your advices for future guest, they will be very usefull to other TripAdvisor Community members. We would like to thank you once again for your remarkable words and we hope to see you once again at The Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden.

Best regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    93
    36
    16
    7
See reviews for
123
376
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malaga
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is superb, the staff are a credit to its owners .Beautiful surroundings you find yourself relaxing the momment you are warmly greeted at the hotel entrance . The spa is excellent I recommend the hot stone message . We enjoyed several very good meals and the breakfast buffet was excellent .Rooms are very comfortable and housekeeping are very efficient .Made to feel special we will be back very soon .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden and for sharing your wonderful experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that our services, facilities and our excellent team of staff have been able to achieve your expectations and provided you the highest level of hospitality and customer satisfaction. it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Botanico both on business and for pleasure over many years and a recent short family break showed that very little has changed (thank goodness!)
apart from the provision of a spa. I recall being woken by genuine cock-crow on my first visit and heard it again this time, many chicken generations later

The essence of this excellent 5-star hotel is quiet luxury and competence. The staff are pleasant and efficient to a man/woman and the quality service matches the surroundings.The gardens are beautifully tended; the swimming pool and its surrounds are scrupulously clean, as are the rooms and all the public spaces (best book a clear pool/garden view as this hotel on not beach-side). My wife and daughter were impressed by the spa, access to which is freely available.

The buffet breakfast is very extensive and high-quality, with the necessary ingredients for buck's fizz and a live chef to do the omelets and eggy dishes. (But no Marmite so TYO) The area opposite the hotel contains a variety of good medium-priced bars and restaurants that make a nice change for an evening meal, so it is not vital to take full or half-board.

The rear/lower car park is quite large but crowded and if you don't find a space on the access road the best plan is to hand over your hire car keys to reception and leave them to sort it out, which they always manage to do.

The trip to the shops and restaurants of Puerto de le Cruz is short and cheap by taxi and even cheaper by the free hotel bus, recommended especially for the return trip, which is uphill. The botanic gardens after which the hotel is named are only a short stroll up the main road (turn right) and worth a visit.

This is a true 5-star hotel full of space and relaxation but if you are looking for bustle, buzz and lots of background music it is probably not for you! Our recent short trip only served to reinforce our recommendation of this as a serene and high-quality haven. Not cheap but worth every Euro!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view. Not too much noise anywhere, as the hotel is on a service road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Hotel Botanico team I would like to thank you for staying with us, once again, and for taking the time to write a so wonderful and complete review. We are especially proud to read that you have experience three different ways of enjoying the Hotel Botanico and we have always meet your expectations. Our staff is continuously striving to meet and exceed our guests expectations, and it seems that during your last your family enjoy a great saty. We will take into consideration your comments to improve the services, and offer you a better experience in your next stay. Once again we would like to thank you for your confidence in our services, friendly comment and recommendation, we hope to welcome again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing week in Tenerife. This hotel is fantastic and really made our holiday. We went to lots of places around the island but you really could spend an entire week here just enjoying life. The staff are amazing and really looked after us. Service was second to none. The gardens are glorious. The spa is lovely, the breakfast buffet to die for and the rooms very comfortable. Two good restaurants, golf clubs and tennis rackets available for use on the pitch and put course and tennis courts, two table tennis tables, an outdoor pool, entertainment in the bar every night........... Great luxury and worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for spending your time to write this wonderfull review, about your stay at Hotel Botanico. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and it seems we achieve our objective of making every stay an unforgetable memory in this occasion. It has been a great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the services and facilities of our hotel and we hope to welcome you once again if you visit again Tenerife.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherborne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at the Botanico and it won't be the last.
The hotel is set in stunning well maintained gardens and the spa is world class.
The resturants offer a range of food but we ate out most nights in some of the local eateries.
The free bus into town is excellent and the hotel is next to the Titsa bus stops for lots of exploring.
The staff are what make the hotel for checking in at reception to Jose Luis at the bar welcoming guests like old friends - the gin selection is outstanding as well
Is there a downside - the outside pool was cold but then the weather was not great when we went there and the hotel caters for the more mature client - which was perfect for us
The hotel botanico is outstanding and we can't wait to come back !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your second stay at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden and for sharing your experience with us here on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that Jose Luis has provided you with a great service and we will definitely inform him about your compliments.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests as we strive to offer the best service, but we also tak in consideration your comments to improve our services day by day. For the entire team of Hotel Botanico it will be great to have you as guest for a third time, we hope to heave the pleasure to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Botanico. Having last stayed at the hotel over 5 years ago we were delighted to find the same high standards in all areas of the hotel together with the friendly and efficient staff we remembered from our previous holiday. The gardens are a delight, beautifully maintained and full of colourful planting. We had a room overlooking the garden which was very comfortable with a spacious balcony. During our stay the Oriental and Italian restaurants were open in the evenings and offered a good choice and quality of food. Breakfast always provided an excellent start to the day with lots of variety on offer to suit all tastes. The spa is brilliant and adds to the overall experience of a stay at this fantastic hotel. We will certainly return to the Botanico and will not leave it so long next time.
Outside the hotel we would definitely recommend a visit to Loro Parque which has a huge variety of attractions and is not just for kids! We also went on a whale watching trip which was also memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear David,

In first place we would like to thank you for taking the time and effort in writing your experience on Tripadvisor about your stay at our hotel. We are very glad to read you have spent a fabulous stay at our establishment and that it has been as good as your first one. It is wonderfull to see that you like our restaurants cuisine, as we strive to achieve the highest quality in every single aspect of the hotel, and it is also great that you have pointed out some of the many activities the guest can do during their stay. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Took pot luck for a cheeky week away in mid April 2013 and the Hotel Botanico certainly did not disappoint: high quality spa facilities; friendly and accommodating staff; beautiful gardens; clean / comfortable (although a smallish) room; and an excellent breakfast / bar / pool / restaurant experience.

The location is good: a quiet neighbourhood with a selection of shops and decent quality restaurants; within close proximity to main road networks (circa 50 minutes drive to the southern airport); a nice walk into the main town; a great base for road cycling, especially if you like climbing; and plenty of other places to explore / see both locally and further afield.

We have stayed in a number of hotels with comparable facilities over recent years and would rate the Botanico up with the best of them. Do not be be put off by the Oriental / Asian theme - this hotel is in no way tacky and is certainly not overpriced.

The staff, setting and facilities all served to create a relaxing atmosphere and we found our fellow travellers very friendly, further enhancing a thoroughly enjoyable holiday experience.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will certainly be paying a return visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botanico, Director General at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden and for sharing your wonderful experience here on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that our services, facilities and our excellent team of staff have been able to achieve your expectations and provided you the highest level of hospitality and customer satisfaction.

Thank you wonderfull and complete review, not only about the hotel but also about the wonderfull place where the hotel is located, we are pretty sure your comments will be very usefull for other TripAdvisor users. Once again I would like to thank you for your friendly feedback and for recommending our hotel on Tripadvisor and obiously it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.


Kind regards,
Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden

Address: Avenida Richard J Yeoward 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and spa, located in Puerto de la Cruz in Tenerife, is one of the most prestigious 5 star luxury hotels in the Canary Islands. Being the only official 5 star hotel “Gran Lujo”, we offer an elegant and tranquil atmosphere. In 1998 Hotel Botanico was the first hotel in the Canaries that became a member of the luxury hotel group "The Leading Hotels of The World". Classical in style, there is a timeless grace throughout our hotel, which we carefully maintain through ongoing investment programmes. We offer a variety of luxury accommodation combined with high-class restaurants and leisure facilities, including the award-winning Oriental Spa Garden for total relaxation. Enjoy from your room or suite the extraordinary views of the Atlantic or the Orotava Valley and Mount Teide. Experience the warm culture in this authentic part of Tenerife, combined with one of the most privileged climates in the world. Immerse yourself in the incredible nature, play a round of golf or just relax on the spectacular volcanic beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico And The Oriental Spa Garden
Botanico Hotel
Hotel Botanico Tenerife
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.