We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel El Tope

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel El Tope to your Saves list
Gran Hotel El Tope
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calzada de Martianez, 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from a great two weeks stay at the El Tope. The accommodation is basically good although there are some areas in need of updating. Our room on the second floor was spacious and comfortable with a lovely view but the carpet was quite grubby and definitely in need of replacing - a tiled floor would be more suitable. We enjoyed the food. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Bearing in mind that it is a buffet, getting really hot food is going to be a bit hit and miss. However the chef did cook fresh food at both dinner and breakfast. We did not eat the 'English' breakfast but made our own fruit salad with the fresh fruits on offer - apples, bananas, oranges, kiwi, grapefruit etc. to have with yogurt. The scrambled egg was freshly prepared and there was a lovely variety of breads. My only criticism of the evening meal was in the limited choice of sweets. We would have preferred some of the lovely pastries on offer at breakfast to be available as sweets for the evening meal. Having said this, there was a good variety of salads, soup and main courses - no one would go hungry. Perhaps a saving could be made by not having champagne on offer on Sunday morning - would anyone object?
The evening entertainment in the Hotel was variable. We very much enjoyed the folk dancing and Flamenco.
The staff were all very pleasant and efficient - particularly the dining room staff who were quick to remove used crockery and reset tables. They were also good at speaking English as well as French and German.
There are over 100 steps or steep slope to get into town from the El Tope so anyone with mobility problems would need to consider this and be prepared to take local taxis - not expensive for short journeys.
We feel this was a great value for money holiday and would be happy to return to the El Tope.

The El Tope is in a great position for getting out and about and exploring the island. My tip is to get a bus 'Bono' card from the bus station which gives a great reduction on bus travel. Once you have your card you do not need to walk to the bus station unless you are going West. There is a bus stop 5 minutes walk uphill to the main road, which you can catch to get to many places - Santa Cruz, La Laguna, Oratava etc. Fares are extremely cheap. You can travel for an hour for around e3. You can get to Mt. Teide (same bus stop) but this is the only bus you can't use your Bono card on. There is only 1 bus up at 9.15 and one bus back at 4pm. To the furthest stop at the Parador and visitor Centre (past the cable car station) costs around e12 return.
There are lots of interesting places to visit in Puerto Cruz - Loro Park, the Lido, the Botanical Gardens, the Orchid Garden, the town and harbour area, Jardin Beach and gardens, Jardin Taoro. Slightly inland, the town of Orotava is a beautiful place to visit with lots of interesting buildings and park areas. Garachico in the west is also worth visiting.

Room Tip: Higher rooms - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a detailed and positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and to forward your kind words to our staff. Hoping to be able to welcoming you again and until then wishing you all the best, we remain with kind regards from Puerto de la Cruz. Your El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    189
    85
    38
    12
See reviews for
57
257
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Excellent service, good food with plenty of choice, tranquil and calm, rooms imaculately clean, generous size. Good views over bay or Mt Teide. This is our third visit and we're booking again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are very pleased to hear that you are willing to come back again. Until then we remain with warm regards. Your El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have recently returned from a two week stay at the Gran Hotel El Tope in Tenerife, its was a fantastic holiday. The hotel was superb, its was extrememly clean and very friendly. The food was excellent and provided a fantastic choice that would suit all preferences. We were very lucky in that the hotel upgraded us free of charge on arrival to a sea view room.

The only negative thing we could say about our stay was the bumpy/hilly landscape that provided access to the hotel, however this is easily dealt with by using local taxis for only 3 euros.(Bear in mind we are both in our late 70's !).

We would return to this hotel and resort in a flash !

Room Tip: Go for Sea View !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased to forward your kind words to all the staff. Hoping that you will visit us again soon and wishing you all the best by now we remain with warm regards from Puerto de la Cruz. Your El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked this late without reading the reviews - turned out to be a bad idea. As a solo traveller I was put in a small room, no balcony, and very run down and it felt claustrophobic. !st time in years I've booked a package holiday and won't be in a hurry to do it again after this experience. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, thought that would be standard these days. Buffet for breakfast/dinner was monotonous and usually luke warm or cold. On the upside, staff were friendly and the pool area was clean. The majority of the guests are German but still plenty of room on the sunbeds! Spoke to other English guests who had been to the hotel before and they agreed it's standards have slipped. Next holiday I book, I'll make sure I check reviews before I make my choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our single rooms do not have a balcony but this is described in the tour operator brochure. Therefore guests often book double rooms for single use. Thank you for the kind words about our staff! Wishing you all the best we remain with kind regards from Tenerife. Your El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed for a week on a half board basis and was pleasanty surprised that the extensive buffets for both breakfast and dinner meant there was lots of choice - including specials provided directly by the chef in situ. Free cava at breakfast on Sunday was also an unexpected bonus. While the hotel's funrnishings and fittings are a wee bit tired, it was clean. comfortable and in a good location - only about 10 mins walk downhill to the beach, the boardwalk and shopping areas. It was a special birthday celebration with a group of friends and the hotel counldn't have been more helpful in setting up special breakfast, including cava on the house, a bottle of cava in her room later in the day and a drink from the bar in the evening - all complimentary - just a nice wee touch. While may not suit all tastes, this was great for our vacation, not noisy or too busy but nonetheless with a nice buzz and friendly staff - very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your positive feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay and will forward your kind words to our staff.
Hoping to be able to welcoming you again in the near future and wishing you all the best we remain with kind regards from Tenerife. Your El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the El Tope hotel from 19th to 26th April. I had read all of the reviews on Trip Advisor, so I knew what to expect and wasn't disappointed. The El Tope is a lovely hotel offering good value for money. The only disappointment was that I had booked a double balcony room, and we were given a room below the garden, in the lower part of the hotel. But for the fact that my husband was unwell after the journey, and wanted to get to bed, I would have complained. However, I have to say that the room was spacious and airy and we had a good view over the sea, although admittedly we felt a bit 'apart' from the main body of the hotel. We decided to stay put.
The hotel was near all of the attractions in Puerto de la Cruz, and there are many. The breakfasts were excellent, and the dinners were very satisfactory. We always found something to suit us. If I was being VERY picky, I would say that the deserts could do with some improvement. I was disappointed to see tinned fruit salad, when all of the ingredients for fresh fruit salad were freely available. Also the mousses were like 'Angel Delight' - packet mixes, with colours of which could be spotted from Mars !!! Also jelly does not do a lot for my taste buds. Sorry, I AM being picky, but maybe I can make some suggestions. Some kind of apple pie or strudel, larger cakes/gateaux, banoffee pie using local bananas, sticky toffee pudding.
The staff were largely male, with the exception of one lady occasionally on the desk, and the maids. Why ? It would be pleasant to see some of your lovely ladies around the place.
All in all a great place to stay and, as I said before, good value for money. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your detailed review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again. Hoping to be able to welcoming you soon again we remain with kind regards from Puerto de la Cruz. Your El Tope Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

24th April, 2013.

The Hotel itself is built on a hill overlooking Puerto De La Cruz with good views of Teide and the sea. The down side is that to get into town you have to negotiate steps or a steep winding road to get to the level.

We were situated on the 4th floor overlooking the ravine with it's myriad of flowers, the birdsong is terrific apart from the itinerant Cockerels competing before daybreak. This side has the benefit of the setting sun so is cool in a morning, and can be hot in the afternoon, but by six can be very pleasant.

The rooms are clean and pleasant if not a bit dated, but the bathroom has been refurbished to a high standard. The food was good overall with plenty of choice but perhaps a bit samey after a while. The Dining Room could be too hot at times I don't think the air conditioning could cope, we did have hot weather mind, cloudless skies, which I suppose can be unusual for Puerto.

The staff were mostly friendly, with efficient Reception staff but just had passable English. I had a bulb go in the bathroom which was replaced very quickly so full marks for that.

If you get a garden room these are below Reception level of the hotel and have no open balcony.

The pool area was kept clean and tidy, with no problem to get a bed and be provided with a towel and mattress by staff on duty. The pool itself was very clean and it even had a thermometer in the water so you could check the temperature.

I rate this hotel as good even though some of the carpets are a bit threadbare, at least it is peaceful with no loud music.

At night time they do provide some live music, good, bad and indifferent.

I would come back providing I could have a balcony room.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms facing the mountain, but remember the cockeralls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your suggestions for improvement. Hoping to be able to welcoming you again in the near future we remain with kind regards from Tenerife, your El Tope Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel El Tope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel El Tope

Address: Calzada de Martianez, 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel El Tope 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gran Hotel El Tope where you will be made to feel at home during your stay with us.Our philosophy is to create a warm and enjoyable atmosphere where all our guests are considered to be our friends.Enjoy the calmness and the facilities provided in a warm and cosy family-like atmosphere where our kind staff members will be on hand to assist you at all times.Our hotel reflects the hospitality typical of the area as acknowledged by our guests.Our guests will enjoy free Wireless DSL Internet access throughout the hotel.The Gran Hotel El Tope is magnificently located with a panoramic view of Puerto de La Cruz and the fabulous Valle de la Orotava. In addition, it is also adjacent to the Martíanez Shopping Centre, which is less than five minutes walk from the Atlantic Ocean beach and next to the fabulous swimming pool complex, Lago Martíanez. The hotel is only 25 and 90 kilometres from the airports Tenerife North and Tenerife South, respectively. Each room is spacious and bright with a unique and elegant character, where every detail makes a difference. Our en suite facilities included fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryer, T.V., telephone, wall-to-wall carpet and air-conditioning, as well as an optional safe and a mini bar.Their balconies are overlooking the sea or offer a view to the mountains.The swimmingpool is located in a unique setting surrounded by green vegetation and magnificent gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel El Tope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel El Tope Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel El Tope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.