We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a winter holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Parque San Antonio

Save Saved
You added Sol Parque San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Parque San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra de Las Arenas, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Berkhamsted
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place for a winter holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Have just returned from a weeks winter sun and stayed at this hotel. There is a pool at the hotel and pretty gardens.
Our room was great spotlessly clean,beds were made and room cleaned and tidied every day. The design was such that although the exit door faced onto the road we could hear very little noise from it.
The recetion staff all spoke excellent english and were very helpful. Pillows we asked for on the first night arrived within minutes and when we had a problem confirming our transfer back to the airport the man on reception called repeatedly on our behalf until he made a connection -there was no charge made to us for doing so.
The food was great! There is a mixture of food- that cooked whilst you wait and that which is replenished as and when needed. If anything ran out it was always replaced within minutes. The range was excellent including fresh salad. You have to pay for drinks in the evening which is fine though for some reason they will not sell you fruit juice which is probably the only fault we had with the hotel as the only other non alcoholic or non fizzy drink was water.
The hotel is about a 15 min walk from the bus station 20 min to the sea although several buses pass the hotel itself. We were walking and it was an excellent location to do this, our room even had a little hallway to put our walking boots poles etc to save having them in the bedroom.
Probably not a good place to go for children,those with a mobility problem or those seeking lots of night life but excellent in every other respect.
There is a very good english speaking evangelical church that has service at 11.30am Sun Morning. Held in the scandanavian church near to the bus station.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    138
    85
    63
    47
See reviews for
88
185
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Booked hotel last minute with Thomas Cook, The hotel itself is very tired and dated although the gardens are lovely and well kept. The rooms were spacious, however in need of a modern makeover. The general atmosphere of the hotel was dull and more life could be found in a cemetery. I would not advise this hotel to anyone under 60.

This hotel is not recommended for families with young children, we were made to feel quite uncomfortable and unable to relax around the pool. This is definitely not a 4 star hotel, the quality of the food was bland and repetitive.

We did find Puerto de La Cruz to be a lovely quiet resort still not the most child friendly of places, however the beaches were lovely and very reasonable prices to eat out and travel around in taxis.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

First impressions of the hotel are that it is very pretty with beautiful gardens. However, be prepared to carry your cases down a large flight of steps just to get to reception and check in. Reception staff are unfriendly and do not speak very good English. Our room overlooked the pool and we had a lovely view but the room itself was terrible! ants crawling up the wall, which was later dealt with, rotting wood on the doors and windows and generally very tired looking with a nasty smell of damp. Rooms were also very very dark. Lots and lots of cats roam the grounds and the noise of cat fights at night was deafening and prolonged. I travelled with my mother and two children aged 8 and 10 and was shocked to find they were practically the only children there. This hotel is full of retired folk and germans. I was even told by many people (including the Thomas Cook rep) that this was not a hotel for children. There is no entertainment in the evenings other than a man dressed in a suit playing the keyboard 3 nights a week. Sunbed rush every morning and the Germans are brilliant at it, we had to get up early to get some space to put a sunbed. Food is a buffet that is generally very bland and repetitive. No childrens menu and drinks are very expensive. On the whole this is a retirement village with lots of rude germans aswell, set in a poor excuse for a resort. Looks more like a residential area. Would never go there again and would strongly advise anyone with children not to go.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Went to Tenerife for some winter sun and got a great last minute offer from Thomas Cook. Chose Puerto de la Cruz and this hotel after checking on Trip Advisor.

Last time we went to Tenerife we stayed in the south in a 5 star hotel which was full of arrogant Russians and outside the resort seemed to be full of drunks in endless British bars.

Given the low cost of the holiday our expectations were not high so we were delighted to find that the resort is very Spanish and only one British pub in evidence, The whole resort is charming and while there are a lot of British and Germans overwintering its still got a stong identity. Good cheap seafood and wine can be found down by the sea and we found a great bar for sundowners near the hotel which is quite high up.

The room we were given was on the side of the road at gropund level and was a family room with a conecting door which was very thin as was the door to the balcony overlooking the road, very dark also. As we live in a very quite village noise is a problem so we immediatly asked to move to a different room. The hotel however due to the problems in Tunisia and Eygpt the hotel was full. The staff while offhand did respond to some promting and offered to move us on Monday which was resonable. You do feel that if we were German or Spanish not on the whole uncomplaining Brits we would not have got the room in the first place. So after two sleepless nights we moved to a room on the third floor overlooking the garden and duck pond which was charming.

The hotel has a pool and the gardens are nice but the rooms are tired as is the hotel, we do not see it as a four star hotel, a good three maybe. What lets it down is the buffet food service, while there is a lot of it and you can get eggs and in the evening fresh fish and meat cooked to order on the whole its bland and the fight to get it and the constant running around and movementof people ruins the whole thing. The wine is overpriced and more expensive than the UK for similar wine which was strange. The waiters who are all mature men are just plate collectors and seem depressed by what they have come too.

All this said its still a case of 'you get what you pay for' and on the whole its good value, the savings made allow you to go out and have a good dinner when you feel like it.

As long as we got a good room we would return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Booked the week before we travelled as we both needed to sun to alleviate the winter blues, we got exactly what we wanted - a little bit of paradise! Loved the hotel, particularly the gardens - including the cats and ducks with their 20 ducklings. The staff were mostly very friendly, the pool was lovely and there was plenty of space by the pool with no pre-booking of loungers evident. The only small criticisms were that the selection of food at the buffet in the evenings was uninspiring and sometimes not piping hot, and the beds were on the thin side. We would 100% stay here again and fully intend to do so, the hacienda style architecture is so much nicer than all the more recently hi-rises in Tenerife IMHO

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed from Boxind Day to New Years day. Although we really enjoyed our hioliday, we thought the Hotel really needs updating and is definately not a 4 star. The rooms were very average and up several filight of steps. The food was O.K and the staff were friendly. It was our first time to Tenerfie and really enjoyed the lovely weather and the places we visited during our stay.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This hotel is set within lovely gardens something I have never seen before and has lovely fruit trees and wildlife (also some friendly cats), It is in a quiet location away from the nightlife and bustle but a regular free hotel bus takes you to and from the main town regularly.

The only thing that lets it down is the buffett style restaurant which is a bit "grab and go" , and the food is very plain. We had our 8 year old daughter with us and she ate Pasta with tomato sauce every night we ate at the hotel because there was nothing else she liked. And in the morning there was a choice of 3 cereals with powdered milk which wasn't chilled. So that didn't go down very well either! So we had a very hungry little girl over Christmas.

Overall though a lovely relaxing holiday and would recommend to anyone who wants to get some peace and quiet, but dont take fussy children!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Parque San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Parque San Antonio

Address: Ctra de Las Arenas, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Parque San Antonio 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sol Parque San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Parque San Antonio Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Sol Parque San Antonio Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Parque San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.