We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel, don't get fooled by website photos” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Parque San Antonio

Save Saved
You added Sol Parque San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Parque San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra de Las Arenas, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 81 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel, don't get fooled by website photos”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our Xmas break, and it was awful. So bad that we called our travel agent on Day 2 and got moved to another hotel ( Playa Canaria) which was excellent.
There is nothing good about Sol Parque. The rooms are awful-we were put into basement room, next to a main road with road traffic noise that went on the whole night, despite requesting pool view room. The pool is tiny. The staff are terrible, rude and not helpful. Food was bad. All in all, this hotel is just awful. Website photos make it look nice, but once you get there, the hotel looks nothing like it. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolParqueSanAntonio, Jefa de Calidad at Sol Parque San Antonio, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Karla_34,

I would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time to let us know
your impression about your stay in our hotel.

We regret that you didn’t enjoy your stay, especially because we are always trying our best to satisfy our clients’ wishes and requests.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    138
    85
    64
    47
See reviews for
89
185
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Rooms are spacious and comfortable, but make sure you get a quiet one. Pool and gardens are lovely, though the place is full of cats. Location OK, with a pleasant walk through parks down to the town centre, but a steep climb back up. But the buffet meals are ordinary, and the awful layout means that finding what you want can be a trial, for example the bread and the butter are a long way apart. The staff, mainly middle aged men, can be unhelpful, and could do with some customer service training.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the noisy roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at Sol Parque, San Antonio this January booking through Thomas Cook.
On arrival we were given a map of the hotel site and all the direction we needed, after that we were soon entering our room, this consisted of bathroom and high ceiling spacious bedroom, we had a ground floor room in a three storey block, old type tube TV with just the BBC overseas service and local and other European channels not really worth bothering with.
In the centre of the complex a large deep swimming pool is surrounded by huge palms and banana trees, an outside bar is also nearby.
The hotel was more or less as I expected by reading the reviews, mostly retired couples and over fifties, if your British you will most like be in the minority with be people engaging you in a foreign language then converting to English when you attempt to reply.
Meals times can be slightly stressful, you need to be at restaurant dead on time or leave it or three quarters of an hour so that the first sitters can free up some tables, there is not enough tables and seating for everyone at the same time. Dinner is quite varied with usually a large tray of paella or risotto and trays of meat and fish, I normally had a sort of pick and mix until I knew what was what. Drinks can be brought to you table at shop price, no fancy mark ups.
There is a happy hour from 5.30 to 6.30 two large gin and tonics for about 4.50 Euros not bad for an aperitif with complimentary peanuts.
Getting in to town is a joy just exit via the gate behind the restaurant using your door card to open the gates, then walk through the park past the casino building then down a series of steps stopping to taking in the sights and the waterfall, and before you know what your in town, returning can be a bit of a puff but there are plenty of park benches to take a breather, the hotel also provides a shuttle bus.
So to sum up, you wants some winter sun, in nice surroundings, having a half board option then this is a good value holiday.

Room Tip: most rooms have a good oulook, the block opposite the pool will have all day sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We arrived at hotel after a farcical arrival at airport with Thomas Cook's rubbish team.
The hotel didn't have a booking for us so had to produce tickets to prove it. Great start!
So-called 4-star more like 2+. Eventually got checked in and found room. It was OK-ish. A place to sleep, comfortable beds. Breakfast and evening meals interesting with the Germans elbowing you out of the way, so they could get their favourite seats.
Entertainment was German, singing in german and dancing in german.
The resort was great. We walked to many of the attractions, but as the hotel was above the town, got a taxi back for 5 euro. Tora Parque was nice to walk around and then to Alberto's for a long lunch.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We booked 2 weeks at this hotel and have travelled abroad regularly for over 30 years so we know what to expect from a 4 star hotel on half board basis. This chain of hotels is based on German tour operators requirements but other nationalities make up the minority. The german guests are allocated the best rooms and anybody else has to make do even if you offer or have paid extra. The food is ok as long as you want meat with everything so if you are vegi etc book another hotel. Dont expect to get a table easy at meal times because the restaurant lacks the right amount of tables for the number guests and the waiters priorities tables for German guests if they think they are likely to get tips, we have never seen so much sucking up. If you are in a wheel chair or have difficulty walking dont book this hotel as although an attempt has been made to comply with the law you will not be able to enter the front without assistance.There is NO parking so you will have to find a space in the street.
The gardens are beautiful and alot of the rooms are nice and we would rate this hotel as a 4 star that needs to improve. Our recommendations for survival if you do stay at this hotel is pay cash for your drinks, inspect your room and if you not happy tell your rep immediatly, always speak German and eat before 8am and after 8pm. Take some ear covers as the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbours night time activities and the mattresses are uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I booked this hotel some months in advance. Because of my disabilities I need a shower cubicle as I can't get in/out of a bath.
When we arrived we were told that a shower was not available - despite the booking.
The room we were allocated was very sad and basic. Tiles on the floor were cracked,
only one small pillow each - freebies in the bathroom consisted of two tissues and a shower cap (which I couldn't use!) No comfort whatsoever. Two flights of stairs to a mediocre breakfast (although eggs etc. were avaiable they were all cold, as were the plates.
The gardens were lovely except for a multitude of cats everywhere.
Not sure how many years ago this hotel was awarded 4*

Room Tip: Don't go if you have any special needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet hotel in garden surroundings away from the noise and bustle of the sea front, this could be for you. We asked for a quiet room and we were allocated a large one that was generally quiet, on the ground floor. Considering that Thomas Cook sells this hotel as one of their cheapest in this city, it was excellent value for money. We have booked to go again in February 2012, so you can judge our general view. It is true that most of the clientel is like us (60+), so this is not a good place for ravers, disco addicts and stag parties (great news as far as we are concerned).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Parque San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Parque San Antonio

Address: Ctra de Las Arenas, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Parque San Antonio 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Melia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sol Parque San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Parque San Antonio Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Sol Parque San Antonio Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Parque San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.