We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would come again! :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Puerto Playa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Puerto Playa Hotel to your Saves list
Sol Puerto Playa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jose del Campo Llanera 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 83 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Mikkeli, Eastern Finland, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I would come again! :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel was nice and tidy. Cleaning was excellent. Everyday new towels. Food was good also, but little bit changing would be nice. Location good, everything is nearby. And the staff was very friendly and polite. And i did sleep very well even in the first floor.

Room Tip: Good views to the .sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Puerto Playa Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Natalie R,

We really love your opinion title!! Because it means that you have not only enjoyed your holidays here, but also you have gone home satisfied with our services and facilities!! As you know, all the staff at the hotel work hard every day trying always to achieve our guests' expectations and also making them live here unforgettable experiences, and in your case it seems we did it!!

Many thanks in the name of Sol Puerto Playa Team, thanks for your attention and above all for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays in Puerto de la Cruz. We have already passed your positive words to our staff!

We all sincerely hope to see you soon, until then we send you our best regards.

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    61
    66
    46
    33
See reviews for
34
115
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

described as 4 star hotel by local t cook travel agent,with usual 4 star amenities.2 star hotel with 4star views.no entertainment,exept Spanish football on the bar tv,no air conditioning in lounge or dining room.The dining room, cafe style tables,no table cloths,Now the food!!Mixed veg,chicken nuggets,chips,and that was served at breakfast,franks in hot water every morning so the tops were brown the under side pink!!ughHardly cooked bacon on 2 doys out of 7.The chef could win prizes for recycling,todays rejects are tomorrows meals,lots of stew type dishes.Outside ,the hotel is being refurbished,top terrace out of bounds,scaffolding and painters on terrace,sun beds old and dirty,no mattreses for plastic beds.Oh and its 4 euros per hr for wi fi

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolParqueSanAntonio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Puerto Playa Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear George h,

Thank you for having chosen Sol Puerto Playa to spend your holidays in Puerto de la Cruz and also for sharing here your personal opinion about your last stay among us, we are sure it will be very useful not only for other travelers, but also for us because it allows us detect the areas where we must focus our efforts and introduce improvements.

We always try to meet our customers’ expectations and in your case you are not satisfied with some of our services, so we take note of all your comments in order to try to offer a better service in your next stay.

If you will return back, please do not hesitate to contact me in order to welcome you personally a try to make your next stay as pleasant as you deserve.

Yours sincerely,

Ana Pérez - Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the Sol Puerto Playa Hotel a few weeks ago, it was ok and thats all I can say. The air con in the room is very old and was not working the night I was there. Fortunately I love the sound of the sea crashing on to the shore so I slept well with the window open. The breakfast was probably the most basic that I have had in a hotel in many years. It was served a dining room that looked like it used to be a really busy package holiday hotel back in the 1970's when Puerto DeLa Cruz was the resort where the tourists would come to. The staff on the front desk however were extremely friendly and very welcoming.

Room Tip: Road side unless you love the sound of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is good. It is just 5 minutes walking from the bus station and 2 minutes walking from the "playa jardin". It was clean, food was good, staff polite. Waiters in the restaurant are really lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

plus points
stayed half board, breakfast and dinner, end January, 4.5 STARS, my rating.
good room, choose to stay with room mountan side, sea facing rooms are noisy as you are on seafront, trust me the seas loud at night, i had mountain view and it was perfect, i could hear sea from my room, but only pleasant, in bathroom sea facing it was very loud. Breakfast first class, really relaxed, everything u could want, most days we did not have lunch breakfast was so good. i had evening meal twice, it was good, u pay for drinks, average wine price 6 quid, most expensive 12 quid. nothng to fault but eating out on seafront better. balcony nice in afternoon and night.Swiming pool excellent, and service was good. room had a great safe for valuables.
Average age about 50,very friendly atmosphere all round.

things to do, go Loro Park, 10 minutes walk, brilliant day out, 32 Euros, 10 Euros, if u go back and buy another ticket when u leave. the chinese restarant in main square, off harbour excellent ;-] main square has alot of bars, etc,

not mant faults, only had 2 english channels, CNN, and BBC world news, bed a bit hard, but we slept well, no gripes really, ya on holiday, go out !

If u want laid back, relaxed, this is the place,,,,, i habe been in May and Oct as well, best time is early in year before June or after Sept..

Room Tip: choose mountain view, sea facing is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolParqueSanAntonio, Jefa de Calidad at Sol Puerto Playa Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear B L,

Thank you so much for your nice words about your recent stay at Sol Puerto Playa.

It is a big pleasure to read that our hotel met your expectations. We are very glad to hear that you liked the room, breakfast and pool area.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to write to us and we are looking forward to welcome you here once again soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just had a week at this hotel and with only a couple of minor grudges i thought it was very good. The staff were helpful apart from forgetting to give me an alarm call for an early flight home. I had a sea view room which was excellent spacious and clean.. The food was reasonable as far as buffet food goes but think it would be better if they did less dishes and improved the quality a little more. . the dining room was a bit canteen type especially with been in the basement no windows to look out of. My other grudge was that you couldnt get a drink at the poolside while 1pm. On the whole a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolParqueSanAntonio, Jefa de Calidad at Sol Puerto Playa Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Poppycaru,

We really appreciate all your nice comments about the hotel “Sol Puerto Playa”.

We are very glad to know that you have spent a nice stay in our hotel. It is a big pleasure to read that you liked the room, food and the helpfulness of the staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you here once again soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The price was equal to class. No 4 stars if you think of the decoration but the service was nice and place was clean. Spotted one dead roach at the corridor, next morning it was gone. Woren off but clean. Room was cleaned daily and towels were changed or replaced even if they weren't on the floor. Also, if you happened to be on the pool, you got extra towels at the room afterwards. Nice surprice to have dry towels =)

2 computers at the lobby with internet, worked with coins. 2 euros / 15 minutes or 5 euros /1 hour.

Pool was heated and warm in the end of january, rather small but ok, plenty of sunbeds available. I would have wanted the bar open earlier than 1 pm, but then again, slight problem only. Vending machine was at the lobby so could get something cold to drink anyway. Security was also on watch on sunny days. (spent 2 "mornings" out of 7 days at the pool).

Breakfast was good, plenty of food to choose, but for me the yogurt was just too exotic :D Fresh bread, cutlery, cheese, warm dishes, eggs, etc. etc. Also plenty of fruits.

Situation was good, close to the Playa Jardin beach, only it was too windy to really enjoy it. A bit of a walk to the "center" and beach promenade, but you could find nice restaurants close by.

If you get a room with a mountain view, the view is really nice to Teide, and the sun is on your side on mornings. Ocean view gives you nice view to the sea, but there is no sun untill late afternoon. Plus lower floors are noicy due the foot ball field and traffic.

also walking distance to Loro Parque!

Room Tip: morning sun? Try mountain view. Evening sun, definately the ocean view! Also the mountain view is mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolParqueSanAntonio, Jefa de Calidad at Sol Puerto Playa Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Hannax74,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your nice comments about your stay in our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you like the hotel for its cleanliness, situation, food and service.

We hope you will visit us again soon!

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Puerto Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Puerto Playa Hotel

Address: Jose del Campo Llanera 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Puerto Playa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Puerto Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Puerto Playa
Sol Puerto Playa Hotel Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Puerto Playa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.