We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Rosa

Mamma Rosa
Calle El Lomo, 8, Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
922380451
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: “La auténtica cocina italiana en Puerto de La Cruz”Desde la familia del Mamma Rosa le invitamos a que conozca y deguste el sabor de la auténtica cocina tradicional Italiana. La carta, selectamente cuidada, combina la variedad y la sencillez con la elaboración exquisita de sus platos, cuidando siempre los pequeños detalles. El Restaurante esta situado en la zona peatonal del casco antiguo de la ciudad, con un ambiente agradable y tranquilo que hará de su visita una velada inolvidable.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

What a shame!!! Lovely surroundings, fantastic food, nice wine all ruined by the service. We were essentially hustled through our meal and out of the restaurant; as were all customers. It wasn't busy so there was no pressure on tables. Mains arrived half way through the starters, my main was on the cool side. Starters were literally lifted from before us, moved to the side and mains set down. All 4 dishes on the table at the same time. We had to eat the tepid mains and consider returning to the starters. As all this is going on the waiter cruised past the table literally every 30secs, lifting anything that just might have been finished with, or not, unless asked to leave it.
Send it back to heat? My restaurant rule is that I never eat anything further if I need to return food and I was very hungry.
Mamma Rosa needs to speak to her waiting staff.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    38
    24
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sad to see such a decline.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Visited as four friends in a group. Surroundings still good, but food and service far from acceptable. The waiter told us he was tired and presented us with the bill whilst we were all still eating. A further four young men arrived and were shown a table nearby. The waiter declared, "proprietors" as though these were special guests although it was clear they were not. We left them to it. In my estimation, good food and good service are the essentials for a good restaurant. We had neither, so sadly will not ever visit again.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We didn't want to eat too much, so we ordered a pizza and a pasta dish. The waiter suggested a shared salad to start with, which we (unusually) agreed to. It must have been one of the best salads we'd ever had! So we were glad we'd said yes. Our main courses were fine, then we shared a desert, which again was lovely. The waiter was friendly and chatty and the atmosphere was pleasant. We would happily eat there again if we went back to Puerto de la Cruz.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Anniversary Meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Lovely building, typically Spanish. It was recomended to us and did not disappoint. Great meal - we initially wanted t-bone steak but we were 'told' that fresh fillet had arrived and it was to be cooked in a 3 cheese sauce. No arguing! But it was absolutely wonderful. The whole evening was a revelation as we did not have much clue what the dishes were, what with some fancy coffee (never figured out what was in it) and a free glass of first class Banana liquor. After us both consuming a really lovely bottle of wine, cant remember much more. It was then a white-knuckle taxi ride back to our hotel and I was asleep by 10. (Must have been the long day at Loro Parque)!!!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Fish not Exciting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We went to the restaurant for lunch and chose the fish salmon and a battered fish. The salmon was not salmon but steel head or rainbow trout the battered fish was a chewy.
The waiter had a peculiar behaviour, among the ice cubes in the bottle cooler he had hidden a plastic penis, now had he shown it to me it would me the female I would just have rolled my eyes but he flashed it to one of my male friends; who's elderly and got upset. Don't know where the waiter got the impression that 3 elderly people could think that to be entertaining.

The tiramisu was delicate.

We are not likely to go back.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Rosa also viewed

Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 

Been to Mamma Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.