We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loro Park

Loro Park
Avenida Loro Parque s/n, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
34 922 37 38 41
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Natural History Museums, Parks, National Parks
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A popular park showcasing hundreds of colorful parrots and other tropical birds.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went on a day trip here with Tenerife Excursion Company. As recommended to us we went for the premium tour which at 18 euros extra per person was actually really worthwhile. It was a guided tour with an English speaking guide and lasted 2 hours, she was knowledgeable and fun at the same time. We had reserved seating for the orcas, sealions and the dolphins, well out of the splash zones but in the middle of the arenas. A visit to the gorilla's bedrooms and a behind the scene tour of the penguins and the orcas, it really made our day more informative! Also included was a 3 course lunch in the restaurant with reserved seating. The history behind the park is interesting. It is very clean and tidy and not foul smelling like many zoos are. There are numerous kiosks around the park selling juice, snacks etc, they know how to charge there! There are over 300 species of parrots but unfortunately due to time constraints we didn't have enough time to view them. Overall a highly enjoyable day out and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,410
    1,011
    204
    51
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Visited Loro Park this week.

The shows are a must see, so don't miss any of them! Try to get to them at least 10-15 minutes early. Dolphins, Orcas and Sea Lions

The food is expensive so do try and bring some sandwiches.

Plenty of photo opportunities around the park.

The animals look happy and well looked after.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wheelchair Users beware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having just returned from a wonderful holiday in Tenerife I wanted to say a bit foe wheelchair users and Loro Park
It is a lovley place very pretty grounds kept really clean and tidy.
The animal shows are brilliant.
If you are a wheelchair user it is not so good.
Things you are not told when making a booking is that it is on a hillside and because of this there are some REALLY STEEP HILLS to go up and down.
Just another point. It is at least a one and a half hour journey or more depending on how many pickups along the way. We paid a few euros more for an "express bus" with only 2 stops. This didn't happen consequently it took us just over 2 hours journey time. This happened also to other people on our bus. We did not arrive until 11 am and then we had to be back on bus ready to leave by 4.30pm. This meant that we didn't have quite enough time to visit all the animal enclosures we wanted to.
There are however some nice picnic spots or you could buy a meal. We got a packed lunch from the hotel and enjoyed sitting in the sunshine with our picnic and a lovley glass of fresh orange juice.
All in all it is a grand day out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuchars, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great day out with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The shows are excellent but if you don't want to get absolutely soaked - avoid the wet area! The dolphins are amazing, as are the Orcas. You can take a picnic to save money as there are picnic tables.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loro Parque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited Loro Parque with my daughter 18th June. We were both very impressed with the shows, care and attention of the animals. We did the Discovery tour (extra 10 euro) , well worth it to go behind scenes and see more of how the operation runs. Huge crowds when we arrived and I thought we would be stuck in large crowds all day but lots of space and so much to see. Really worthwhile tour if in Tenerife.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loro Park also viewed

Adeje, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 

Been to Loro Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loro Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Loro Park to your Saves list