We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair Users beware” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loro Parque

Loro Parque
Avenida Loro Parque s/n, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
34 922 37 38 41
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Natural History Museums, Parks, National Parks
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A popular park showcasing hundreds of colorful parrots and other tropical birds.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Preston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wheelchair Users beware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having just returned from a wonderful holiday in Tenerife I wanted to say a bit foe wheelchair users and Loro Park
It is a lovley place very pretty grounds kept really clean and tidy.
The animal shows are brilliant.
If you are a wheelchair user it is not so good.
Things you are not told when making a booking is that it is on a hillside and because of this there are some REALLY STEEP HILLS to go up and down.
Just another point. It is at least a one and a half hour journey or more depending on how many pickups along the way. We paid a few euros more for an "express bus" with only 2 stops. This didn't happen consequently it took us just over 2 hours journey time. This happened also to other people on our bus. We did not arrive until 11 am and then we had to be back on bus ready to leave by 4.30pm. This meant that we didn't have quite enough time to visit all the animal enclosures we wanted to.
There are however some nice picnic spots or you could buy a meal. We got a packed lunch from the hotel and enjoyed sitting in the sunshine with our picnic and a lovley glass of fresh orange juice.
All in all it is a grand day out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,094
    1,229
    261
    66
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuchars, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great day out with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The shows are excellent but if you don't want to get absolutely soaked - avoid the wet area! The dolphins are amazing, as are the Orcas. You can take a picnic to save money as there are picnic tables.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loro Parque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited Loro Parque with my daughter 18th June. We were both very impressed with the shows, care and attention of the animals. We did the Discovery tour (extra 10 euro) , well worth it to go behind scenes and see more of how the operation runs. Huge crowds when we arrived and I thought we would be stuck in large crowds all day but lots of space and so much to see. Really worthwhile tour if in Tenerife.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ranked 1st for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

like most places there are pros and cons however I feel this park is the difference maker. This park is nothing but pros. This is usually a full day out if you do it as an excursion and if you do it alone i'd recommend making it a day out.
The layout of the park is easy to make your way around and there are pictures detailing what direction to go in.
The shows are fantastic definately a must at this attraction. The shows are very well planned out that they dont clash.
There are animals here you will never see anywhere else a once in a lifetime opportunity.
Don't miss out fun day for everyone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Great Day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great animal attractions, loved the dolphin and whale shows. The penguin house was a nice break from the sun too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loro Parque also viewed

Adeje, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Tenerife, Canary Islands
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Loro Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loro Parque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.