We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Semiramis review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Semiramis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Semiramis to your Saves list
Best Semiramis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leopoldo Cologan Zulueta, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Elblag, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Semiramis review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed with my wife at this hotel during our honeymoon (5 days). In our opinion hotel deserves max for 4 stars rating (20 years ago might have been 5 stars), is a bit old and needs renovation. We were outside the tourist season (November). Room very nice, clean with a large balcony overlooking the ocean. Everyday was new accessories and towels in bathroom. A nice surprise was the free drinks at the welcome (in a refrigerator). Hotel includes 3 outdoor swimming pool. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have an indoor pool (read inside, covered). Meals was very delicious, plenty of choice. Great location of the property (in the rocks), close to the beautiful promenade. Overall, rate the hotel for 4/5.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestHotels2014, Gerente at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay in Best Semiramis last November.

From then, the hotel was closed during two months in order to do some works of maintenance and improvement of its facilities. We are happy to know that you appreciated the welcome pack of drinks in the minibar upon arrival, the choice of our Buffet Restaurant and the Housekeeping Department's job. Best Semiramis offers a heated swimming pool with jets and jacuzzi on 14th floor. It's partially covered and most of our guests enjoy this wellness area of relax with sunbeds in the winter season.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis in your next visit to Puerto de la Cruz.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    164
    92
    40
    15
See reviews for
72
236
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I think the best siramises hotel is fine is good for family trip. I take this opportunity to send my regards to Miss VANNESA in reception desk. She is really helpful, very kind and expert in her job. We stay here for 9night and we enjoy

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestHotels2014, Gerente at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for recommending Best Semiramis for family trips.

We are really glad that our team helped you to enjoy your holidays and we will pass forward your nice comments to Mrs. Vanessa González who will definitelly be thrilled to have been mentioned!

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Puerto de la Cruz.

Kind Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were looking for an hotel based holiday with not a lot of travelling. Chose half board. From our point of view the food was good. Tended to chose from the show cooking menu. Nice to be able to sit outside to eat with adequate sea views and shelter. Had to be careful were you sat if trying to avoid smokers. Staff we encountered where friendly with some seeking to be a little bit more personal with you. The facilities were good. I chose to sit on nice shady verandas while family sort out the pool. Hotel not over busy so always enough seating. Drinks and refreshments only available by the pool. Might just have been nice on the cooler evenings to have the indoor bar area open. Spotlessly clean has far as I could see. It's over a kilometer to the Town Centre. Nice walk down through the La Paz area but cruel walk back up to this cliff top based hotel. You can get there a lot quicker through the gate on ground floor but limited to 9.00 to 9.00. Free wifi and usually could pick up around the hotel. Never tried from the pool. Maybe to far away. Porto del Cruz has its own climate. Always mild but we had 3 cloudy days when the sun never broke through. Would go again but very rarely do this in practise. Very few english in hotel and seemed in July to be used by Spaniards themselves. Didn't experience any noise in the rooms. I believe the corridors have recently been upgraded and are carpeted to cut down noise. You can hear the sea in the night. Take your ear plugs. We coped though.
Nice heated mostly covered pool as well with gym and spar facilities which we didn't use.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors. We were on 12th. Good views. Near to facilities. No evidence that floor has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestHotels2014, Gerente at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for having chosen Best Semiramis to spend your holidays in Puerto de la Cruz, and for your detailed review about our hotel. I’m sure that your comments will be of help to many TripAdvisor Users. We are happy to know that our facilities and services have met your expectations and that you recommend us. If you visit Puerto de la Cruz again, do not hesitate to contact us, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best Regards, Jaione Bilbao Henry, Directora Hotel Best Semiramis *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Visited February 2014 and stayed for 7 days. Mixed feelings regarding the location and hotel facilties. On the plus side the room was located on the 14 floor and was clean and.tidy with adequate facilities for two people with the pools being.only a short walk. Complimentary fruit.and chocolates on arrival and the communal areas such as the reception and bar areas were clean and new looking. On the down side whilst the buffet was generally good with plenty of choice it did become a little repetitive and the service seemed a little rushed non personal given that the hotel is rated 5* which of course does not reflect the UK 5* equivalent. One major frustrating matter related to the ironing.of clothing. We had to pay the hotel to iron our clothes when all we wanted to do was have an iron and ironing board bought to our room so we could do it ourselves - a simple request but this was not possible which disappointed us tremendously!! Hotel was full if saga groups so really only good for the elderly and not the young. We are 52 & 58 but felt very young!!
The location is really only good for the fit and healthy as the hotel is located in the hillside directly opposite the bashing sea waves which did keep me awake at nights :(

To many hills to overcome and not really close enough to the flat areas or close to the activities on the front near the main shops and bars and beaches.

Attitude of staff was mixed. Reception were hit and miss with regards to helpfulness and they did not appear to understand English at all well which was strange given that the majority of guests were English speaking.

A shuttle service was available for the early morning to take us back to the airport but the hotel reception were not able to advise or organise any such shuttle so ask at the tourist bureau in town.

So on balance 3 stars awarded.

Comments and ratings given Ray and Andrew.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear wessex16,

Thank you for having chosen Best Semiramis to spend your winter holidays last February.

We are glad to know that you found our facilities and product (rooms, reception area, buffet restaurant's offer) of your liking.

We are really sorry that the safety measure of not allowing ironing in the rooms dissapointed you so much.

We take good notice of your comments in order to improve our service and information provided by Reception about the shuttle service to the airport. Indeed, the hotel doesn't offer this service. We provide the information about every touroperator's service.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Having read other reviews what do people expect for their money. If they want 5 star then let them pay 5 star price. My wife & myself stayed 4 nights last month at a cost of £65 a night half board & I can honestly say it was good value for money. We are just 60 but not part of the Saga Club & yes the hotel does cater more for senior clientele. We found the service of employees first class whether reception or waiting. Ok you may have to wait a bit at times but you are on holiday & not going anywhere!. Our room was on the 9th floor, the 2 huge single beds were a bit hard but I have slept in far worse, plenty of hot water, towels & a mini bar, for my supplies, what more do you want. People in other reviews complain about the noise of the sea, this has been featured in reviews for years. If it upsets them then why did they book to stay there?. The corridors are a bit dingy & need some TLC.

As for the food, there was something for everybody for breakfast ( Bucks fizz , sets you up.for the day ) and or dinner. In the case of the latter plenty of fish ( cooked for you ) , prawns & seafood. The wine very good value for the money & the sangria smacks a punch ( more alcohol than lemonade, but am I complaining ). I do however, reccommend the Roast Beef ( Carved for you, rare, slightly salty & about 1-1.5cm thick ), size of a saucer ( great if you have your own teeth )

Plenty of space around the pool, but admit the pool water made your eyes water and numbs other parts of your body, yes it was bl...dy cold!!

Walking to town takes about 30 mins, a gentle walk along the front & then down hill and a return back along the sea front & entrance on the road opposite ( Don't forget your key ).

Do not know what it would be like in the height of the season but have no hesitation in going back.

Room Tip: If not having a superior room then 9th floor ideal. all rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear minesabeer,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Best Semiramis with the rest of TripAdvisor's users.

We are really happy you highlighted the good value for money and the good offer in our Buffet Restaurant with show-cooking.

As you are perhaps aware, we are working in the refurbishment of the corridors, so we hope that you can see this improvement in your next visit.

Apart from the main swimming pool, we offer a heated one with jets and jacuzzi on the 14th floor.

We look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to Puerto de la Cruz.

Kind Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed 4 nights after cruise on Braemar. Room on 9th floor with impressive views over sea. Wifi connection achieved in room. Room clean and spacious with 2 large firm comfortable beds.We slept well as surroundings were quiet. A bit of a novelty for me as a light sleeper! On an all inclusive stay and food was quite good with plenty of variety. The red and white wines were ok, but white not so good.Hotel location on cliffs about 30 minutes walk to town, if you use the lift down to tunnel. the area near hotel is pleasant and plenty of restaurants near if need be. The Botanic gardens are near and well worth a visit.We would be happy to stay there again and I do not say that very often.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear peterw707,

Thank you for posting your review about your 4 night stay in Best Semiramis after the cruise.

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed some relaxing days in our hotel and that you found the service and facilities of your liking.

Thank you for recommend us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis if you visit Puerto de la Cruz again.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I found two Cockroach in my room. The managment did not seem to be surprised. They offered me to change room but I wanted my money back considering its 5 fake stars, they did not accept it, i guess it might not be strange to find cockroach in t rooms.
It is an old hotel and does not deserve t 5 stars, 3 maximum.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Xav1111,

Thank you for choosing Best Semiramis and posting your review about your stay with us, as this allows us to improve our service.

The Best Semiramis hotel complies with pest control regulation in tourist establishments with a certified company and monthly monitoring.

We regret the incident the night you stayed at the Best Semiramis. As we informed to you, it isn’t something we are used to; but it is possible in a subtropical climate, regardless of the category of the hotel.

As the most important thing for us is the comfort of our guests, we offered right then a room change and our apologies.

Unfortunately that was not the solution you wanted.

We hope that you will accept our apologies.

Best Regards,


Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Semiramis

Address: Leopoldo Cologan Zulueta, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Best Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Semiramis is a confortable establishment of five stars located in the quiet residential area of “La Paz”, 1.5 km away from Puerto de la Cruz and leisure complex “Lago Martianez”. It offers wonderful views of the sea and the north Coast of Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Semiramis Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Best Semiramis Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Semiramis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.