We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AFTER CRUISE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Semiramis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Semiramis to your Saves list
Best Semiramis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leopoldo Cologan Zulueta, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“AFTER CRUISE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed 4 nights after cruise on Braemar. Room on 9th floor with impressive views over sea. Wifi connection achieved in room. Room clean and spacious with 2 large firm comfortable beds.We slept well as surroundings were quiet. A bit of a novelty for me as a light sleeper! On an all inclusive stay and food was quite good with plenty of variety. The red and white wines were ok, but white not so good.Hotel location on cliffs about 30 minutes walk to town, if you use the lift down to tunnel. the area near hotel is pleasant and plenty of restaurants near if need be. The Botanic gardens are near and well worth a visit.We would be happy to stay there again and I do not say that very often.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear peterw707,

Thank you for posting your review about your 4 night stay in Best Semiramis after the cruise.

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed some relaxing days in our hotel and that you found the service and facilities of your liking.

Thank you for recommend us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis if you visit Puerto de la Cruz again.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    164
    92
    40
    15
See reviews for
72
236
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I found two Cockroach in my room. The managment did not seem to be surprised. They offered me to change room but I wanted my money back considering its 5 fake stars, they did not accept it, i guess it might not be strange to find cockroach in t rooms.
It is an old hotel and does not deserve t 5 stars, 3 maximum.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Xav1111,

Thank you for choosing Best Semiramis and posting your review about your stay with us, as this allows us to improve our service.

The Best Semiramis hotel complies with pest control regulation in tourist establishments with a certified company and monthly monitoring.

We regret the incident the night you stayed at the Best Semiramis. As we informed to you, it isn’t something we are used to; but it is possible in a subtropical climate, regardless of the category of the hotel.

As the most important thing for us is the comfort of our guests, we offered right then a room change and our apologies.

Unfortunately that was not the solution you wanted.

We hope that you will accept our apologies.

Best Regards,


Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

In most hotels I have dreadful reactions to food which often contain gluten and additives such as flavour enhancers,the food on the buffet in the Best Semiramis gave me no problem at all.it was ,perfect for me.There was a selection of ribs,pork,hamburgers,sausage and chicken etc cooked to order as well as fish which was always excellent, also fresh salads so I was always able to stick to a healthy diet..A good variety of desserts too for any one who likes them, plus make your own ice cream sundae.
As other posters have mentioned we found the staff at this hotel to be extremely friendly and welcoming,particularly Janet and Melissa on the reception desk,,In the bar and in the dining room all the staff are great and hard working, David,Moses and Lourdes deserve a special mention, they were extremely quick and gave us service with a smile.This hotel is spotlessly clean and our room was very well serviced by Candelaria and Elena but all the housekeeping staff did an excellent job ,probably the cleanest hotel that we have ever stayed in, it, was good to see that the floors were swept and cleaned every day,,that chore in other hotels is often neglected..
There are superb views of the coast from every angle of this hotel and we loved the location which is in La Paz and close to shops and cafeterias,such a pretty area with flowers and tropical trees every where, the hotel is convenient for the Botanical gardens which we loved and not too far from the stunning orchid garden which we also enjoyed visiting.
With its close proximity to Puerto de la Cruz we had the benefit of two resorts although the latter may be more difficult to get to for the folks who are less than fit as there are many steps down to the town,there are however benches and also coffee bars for resting en route.An alternative way down from the hotel is by lift and by way of an iron stairway and through a tunnel which only takes about ten minutes and is a very much easier walk.
For avid sun bathers the Semiramis has many loungers around the pool and on a second level above it,they also have a beautiful patio around the outside bar which we took advantage of every day,a great place for a cocktail and to socialize with fellow guests..
Our month here from March 17th to April 15th was booked through Saga Holidays UK ,the rep's Sue and Bev were fantastic,so many thanks to them and to every one at the hotel for giving us one of the best stays ever.
Barbara and Derek USA.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Barbara and Derek,

Thank you for having chosen Best Semiramis to spend your holidays.

We specially thank you for mentioning the gluten and additives free buffet. We try to satisfy every diet restriction of our guests. It's really helpful for us if we know the diet restrictions of our guests before their arrival. If not, the Head Waiter and the Chef are available in every service to inform and advice you about the best options for your diet.

It's really kind from your part that you mentioned every member of the staff that assisted you during your stay. We will transmit them your nice comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis if you visit Puerto de la Cruz.

Kind Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This Hotel is certainly not 5 star. The staff do their best to give you an excellent time but there are not enough of them at the restaurant and bar. The Hotel corridors were in need of cleaning and maintenance, were cold and dark. Excellent facilities in the good sized room but again the room was cold as the Hotel rooms do not get any sun. Used the outside pool once on a particularly warm day - pity the weather does not allow it to be used more often. Can't understand anyone staying 4 weeks for the price of 3 with Saga at this Hotel as the choice of food is limited and 4 days was enough.

Room Tip: Stayed on 9th floor - could hear the noise of the wind and the sea breaking against the rocks below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear g_parry043,

Thank you for taking your time in posting a review about your recent stay in Best Semiramis.

We are glad to inform you that Best Semiramis will be closed from May to July in order to make some refurbishment in the corridors and other facilities. As you perhaps noticed in your short stay, some corridors were updated last year as most of our guests really appreciate.

As you mention, all the rooms are faced to the north, offering stunning views over the ocean and Lago Marianez. The hotel offers gardens and swimming pool areas and solarium to sunbathe.

We are sorry that you didn't use our heated swimming pool with jets and jacuzzi on the 14th floor. It is available for free for all our guests.

We are proud of the loyalty of many Saga guests that stay in Best Semiramis for several weeks, year after year.

Best Regards.

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

No doubt that this hotel is understaffed but you can count on a good stay at this hotel. We stayed there for 1 week, breakfast and dinners were great specially the breakfasts. The only problem was that many times the bar was busy and for example once only one guy was working hardly and of course nervously to serve the guests. Reception is really helpful reserving a tour for us to Siam Park, giving different information about the places, transportaion and of course the most welcoming face in the reception was Janet. Another good feature was the chance of providing you with a lunch pack that for going to Teide at 5 in the morning we requested it the day before and it really helped us to climb mount Teide, They provided us with a pack of 6 sandwiches, bread, cheese, butter and jam and some fruits for free. The rooms and bath were clean and all the rooms were ocean viewed. Outside pool was somehow cold and do not expect a warm water in the inside pool because that is a normal water. Free WiFi was accessible with good quality but they charged for using the safety box, 2 euros per night. Location is not bad, a lot of bars, restaurants around but 20 minutes of walk from the city which made it a little hard to get back because we should get up the hard steeped roads to get back to the hotel. Generally a quiet and peaceful place.

Room Tip: Tou can get free lunch packs if you are leaving the hotel early in the morning to visit some places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We are glad to know that you describe our hotel as a quiet place where you can have a good stay and the efficiency and the friendliness of our Reception staff, especially Janet who we will transmit your nice comments to.

The staff in Bar varies depending of the hour of the day, being suitable in every moment to the number of guests who make use of it. We are sorry if you felt that it wasn't enough in some moment.

The heated semi-covered pool in 14th floor is 29º-30ºC hot.

We thank you that you mentioned the free package lunch. This service is available for those guests who want to spend the day in one of the beautiful excursions that the north of the island offers and they are not going to come to have lunch in the hotel.


We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis if you visit Puerto de la Cruz.

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 28/02/14 to 14/03/14. Having read previous reviews we were a bit nervous of what the stay would be like. The reason we went for this hotel was that a friend had booked a 4 weeks for 3 with SAGA and suggested we join her and that's what we did. Initial impressions were good in the way we were dealt with at reception, very courteously and efficiently in a friendly manner. The room on the 8th floor of this upside down hotel was very good, spotlessly clean and kept that way every day, view was excellent of the sea and Puerto, so we were very happy with it. The room was fully serviced every day and the bathroom had a full bath with shower over it, twin basins and always hot water. Found the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks quite soothing. The disappointment came when we hoped for sunshine on the balcony, the hotel never had any on the rooms (to be fair it did admit this in the holiday brochure (SAGA)) so it would be hard to make it a serious criticism. We went on an all inclusive package and found the fact that only one bar was open at a time an inconvenience which could have been avoided, the pool bar was open during the day (100 metres from the main building) and the main bar open in the evening, when there was no quiet bar ( all evening entertainment occurring in the main bar, and very uninspiring compared to other hotels). These issues could have been dealt with by having a few more staff, the hotel always seemed to be understaffed.

In the restaurant during all meal times the staff worked tremendously hard to clear and lay tables, at lunchtimes there may have been upwards of 150 guest and 4 to 6 staff leading to long waits for drinks. We have great respect for the efforts most of the staff made during our stay in what for them appeared to be challenging circumstances, whilst in the main remaining cheerful and friendly. The buffet service was at time a bit of a scrum and by the comments of some guests the food was wonderful, by our assessment it is best described as edible. The al la carte restaurant seemed to serve better but not inspiring food from a very limited menu. The best meal was had during our stay was on the last night when we went to an italian in La Paz. We must mention that during our stay it was my wifes birthday and at the SAGA Gala dinner a huge birthday cake had been made to help mark her birthday ( I suspect the excellent SAGA Reps Sue & Bev organised it).
The animation team (Karen) worked really hard and we enjoyed her Stretching and Tai Chi each morning. My wife had a free massage of 15 minutes , which was excellent.

In the main we would rate the hotel 3 star (European rating) for 5 star you have to pay considerably more or go to Asia. The big question for us on assessing a hotel asks the question "Would you stay there again" and unfortunately the answer for the Best Hotel Semiramis is a NO, mainly because of the location and food.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better because of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear RicardoWestbury,

We really thank you for your detailed review about your stay in Best Semiramis.

We are happy you highlight the efficiency and courteously of our Reception staff, as well as the good standard of our rooms and the good job of our Housekeeping Department.

As you mention, the Pool Bar is open from 10,00 a.m. until 5,00 p.m. (depending on the weather conditions) and the Panorama Bar (or Lobby Bar) from 5,00 p.m. until 00,30. I regret to know that you didn’t find it suitable. Saga is provided of a Saga Lounge for all their guests with its own terrace and the quietness you missed in the main Bar.

We are sorry to know that you didn’t find the choice in Buffet Restaurant of your taste, although you recognise that most of the guests find it really wonderful. On regards of À la Carte Restaurant, we only would like to clarify is that the Waiter Service Special Dinner you enjoyed during your stay is not all the choice of our À la Carte Restaurant, but a fixed menu for Saga guests.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis if you change your mind about the location.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Six persons, two rooms, six nights. Both rooms in 2nd level. Views are amazing even from that low, never mind that the sea has it's noises. :) Another room had a broken fridge. Pillows were quite strange and beds not as comfortable as usually in "5star-hotels"
FOOD IS AMAZING. We had half board and little bit afraid do we get something to eat at all. My sister and mother eat only glutenfree and nearly fatfree, but they had their plates full everyday so there is really REALLY something for all. Choices for extremely healthy diet to any kind :) We were just pleased about the food, there is almost too much to choose everyday.
One thing I have to say: My family is aged: 10, 19, 21, 25, 47, and 48. But all the other guest were 60+ or even 70+. This is not really designed for young people. We enjoyed still very much because it was quiet!
Other guests haven't found the heated pool next to the spa. Even there was +17 degrees and raining outside the pool was amazingly warm and relazing. there is also a jacuzzi which is even hotter. We were there just with eachother, usually we did not even see anyother guests there. I highly recommed you to enjoy that poolarea! Big pool outside is not heated and it is almost colder than the sea water.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Semiramis, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Magellan1510,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Best Semiramis with the rest of TripAdvisor’s users.

We are delighted to know that you spent a great family stay in our hotel and that every member of your family found our Buffet Restaurant choice of their taste. We recommend those guest with diet restrictions (gluten free, lactose free or vegan) to contact our Head Waiter or the Chef to better assist them in their choice.

We are happy you mention the free Wellness area. It’s a peaceful place to relax.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Best Semiramis if you visit Puerto de la Cruz again.

Best Regards,

Jaione Bilbao Henry
Directora
Hotel Best Semiramis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Semiramis

Address: Leopoldo Cologan Zulueta, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Best Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Semiramis is a confortable establishment of five stars located in the quiet residential area of “La Paz”, 1.5 km away from Puerto de la Cruz and leisure complex “Lago Martianez”. It offers wonderful views of the sea and the north Coast of Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Semiramis Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Best Semiramis Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Semiramis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.