We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are not fussy this hotel is just about ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Semiramis

Save Saved
You added Best Semiramis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Best Semiramis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Leopoldo Cologan Zulueta, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If you are not fussy this hotel is just about ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013. The staff were friendly and our room was clean and comfortable. The sound of the sea crashing on the rocks didn't bother us nor the hundreds of steps which one has to navigate - but this hotel is unsuitable for anyone with poor mobility and as we went with Saga this was not mentioned in their brochure. There was a good selection of food but it was over cooked, most of the fruit was tinned apart from what was on the tables and the wine was of poor quality but if one asked for a better wine it was provided, but the irritating bit was one had to sign for every drink and this created more work for the waiters who were already overworked. The hotel is old and needs refurbishing, it had a musty smell and the carpets had seen better days. We found a tunnel which led across the road which is accessible via a lift and the end of the hotel, this cuts out having to use the steps, one needs the door pass to open the gate. If you like fish then this is the hotel for you, fish was on the menu at every mealtime. The gym was non existent and the Jacuzzi wasn't working. Overall this hotel is cheap and serves the purpose but its very basic, I've been in better but Tenerife itself made it worthwhile.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the sea and the hotel is built into the side of a cliff. Ground floor is at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    141
    80
    41
    12
See reviews for
60
192
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed this hotel for five days with our family, two rooms, one for us and one for our grandkids and their parents. We had adjoining rooms. Because we figured we would be out and about much of the time the cheapest rooms were listed as non ocean views and we picked those. However, when we got there we were given ocean view rooms for the same price, and learned that most of the rooms have ocean views (it's on the side of a hill, so you go down to your rooms). And what great views! We did the half board option. Breakfast is a huge buffet, withcevery kind of breakfast option you can think of. Similarly, dinner has a large number if choices. You can also get cooked to order choices. Wine is good and if you don't finish the bottle they will keep it for you for the next meal. There is also a regular restaurant besides the buffet, but I don't know why you would choose that.
We were with grandkids who are 3and 5. They were ecstatic to see the "warm" pool, which it was, and which also had fountains they could swim through, at least the 5 year old. There is a larger ( 25m?) pool on the level above. It did not seem heated, but if you are a regular swimmer, as I am, it was terrific, as you generally had it to yourself and then could sit in the sun on the large deck. There are also spa treatments, yoga, exercise sessions, etc.
The hotel has free wifi access in the lobby and bar and that was enough for us, as we only needed to check a few things each day. Staff are very helpful. It helps if you speak some Spanish (we do, but had the extra luxury of a son who is fluent), but there are English and German speaking staff too. Many of the guests were from Germany, England, or mainland Spain. The hotel isn't far from town, we took the path across the road into town along the water. Lots to do for both children and adults. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Most are ocean view so be sure to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My Dad and myself went for a break away the first week in March to the Hotel Semiramis. We stayed under bed and breakfast board. I had read reviews previously, but was surprised to find that the hotel is built into a cliff side. Therefore, all of the rooms have spectacular view of the wild sea. Also the Hotel is upside down, with reception on the top floor. There is a sneaky lift at the far side of the hotel that takes you down to a tunnel that pops out by the sea. Semiramis guests can use their room cards to exit the tunnel for a quick journey down to the town centre, avoiding steep walks when leaving by the hotel reception.
Breakfast is stupendous and a good feed will lasted me way past dinner. The rooms are massive and immaculately cleaned on a daily basis. The pools are great, especially the partially indoor one with Jacuzzi and jet streams. The majority of staff and guests are very friendly, but there's always one or two moaning bores anywhere you go.

Room Tip: If you are afraid of heights ask for a 1st, 2nd, 3rd floor room as up on high is awesomely steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Returned again for the fifth stay in 4 years. Asked for a high floor, corner room and got one on the 12th floor. Food was as previously a good standard with plenty of choice and always decent cooked to order fish or meat too. Plenty of choice for breakfast, loads of fresh fruit, meats, cheese etc. Very quaffable wine, pay when you check out, 7 bottles 42 euro!

The permanent sound of the Sea on the rocks is a real plus, sadly some folks moan about it, which begs the question, why stay in a hotel directly overlooking the Atlantic ocean. Rooms are big, nice firm large double beds a bit faded but hey the room rates on each of our five visits have been 3 star prices. Apart from the sea it is very quiet. The motorway mentioned by some is a road and after midnight is pretty quiet. With the doors and blackout curtains closed any street noise is cut out.

All in all another great stay. A quiet hotel, a quiet resort for early nights and a relaxing break. Not 5 star but a deserved 4 star holiday hotel and inexpensive. If you want late nights, discos, and lots to do, this is not for you. Will return for a sixth stay soon.

Room Tip: stay above floor 8 and if you book a "promo" room expect to hear the traffic as these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked at this hotel because a friend had booked and I agreed to go out and meet her. I was very sceptical after reading the various reviews.
You cannot judge by any one persons review because we are all looking for something different from a 'holiday hotel'. However, I do think it is worth taking advice from reviews that regularly point out the negative aspects of hotels.
This is my personal evaluation:
Good Points -
1. Very hard working staff.
2. Hotel generally clean
3. Good selection of food especially freshly cooked fish, poultry and meats at dinner
4. Spacious bedrooms
Bad Points -
1. North facing rooms dark.
2. Couldn't sit out on balcony - crashing waves very, very noisy.
3. I didn't sleep very well because of the noise of the sea.
(These points might not bother some people but if you want a quiet room with sunny balcony don't stay here!!!!!!)
4. Very hard and uncomfortable bed.
5. Corridor carpets incredibly shabby and smelly.
5. Dining room definitely like a canteen with tables very close together.
6. Understaffed, felt sorry for the waiters trying to keep up with demand.
7. All Inclusive drinks very limited at dinner and poor quality.
8. Staff struggled to keep breakfast buffet stocked with regular shortages and
absence of melon for a week.
9. Personal room problems including:
a. First room damp and foisty smelling
b. Moved to second room and was contacted by reception to say there was problem with the air conditioning and I would have to move again.
c. Third room okay, I thought. Came back to my room at 10.00 p.m. to a fridge that was hot inside and giving off noxious fumes!!!!! A maintenance man did come at 11.45 but I had already unplugged the fridge and put it out into the hallway. The smell in my room was terrible!!!
(The management were concerned about the situation but it still spoilt my holiday and caused stress and exhaustion when I had hoped for a relaxed and peaceful holiday)
10. Swimming pool too cold to swim in.
11. Terrible smell from drains around swimming pool area
12. Shabby public areas

As I say, everyone has their own ideas of a good or bad hotel.

It wasn't for me. I shall pay a lot more attention to reviews in future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

staff very helpful, large rooms, very clean with wonderful sea views. Breakfast had everything you could want. The hotel was in a good spot near the main town but in a quiet area. The walk into the main shopping area was very pleasant and a taxi back was only 4 euros. we would stay here again.

Room Tip: our room had a seaview which we requested when booking, higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were a family with two kids, 12 and 13 and this hotel is probably not ideal for families. Cant fault the accommodation, the room was great and the view from the balcony was stunning, but don’t expect any sunshine on the balcony as it faces due North. We though the food was good with enough variety every day. We got a good half board deal in what we would consider a quality 4 star hotel. Puerto de la Cruz is really a waiting room for Heaven, all the action is in the South of the island as we now know from previous visits to Tenerife. We don't regret seeing the North of the island as we met some really friendly and eccentric characters at this hotel. The North is definitely photogenic than the South. The main outdoor pool wasn't heated which was a little disappointing but there is a semi outdoor heated pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Semiramis

Also Known As:
Best Semiramis Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Best Semiramis Hotel
Best Semiramis Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz
Address: Leopoldo Cologan Zulueta, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Semiramis 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Semiramis is a confortable establishment of five stars located in the quiet residential area of “La Paz”, 1.5 km away from Puerto de la Cruz and leisure complex “Lago Martianez”. It offers wonderful views of the sea and the north Coast of Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Best Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Semiramis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.